Dead Like You (Roy Grace Series #6)

Dead Like You (Roy Grace Series #6)

by Peter James

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dead Like You (Roy Grace Series #6) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Lynie More than 1 year ago
Following the brutal rape of a woman on New Year's Eve in Brighton, England, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is caught up in the investigation. Everything about the crime is similar to unsolved crimes committed in the '90s by someone the police dubbed "The Shoe Man" because in each crime the victim's high-heeled shoes were taken. Grace is happily involved in a new relationship and expecting a child with his girlfriend, Cleo. As the investigation continues and there are more brutal rapes, Grace is convinced that the perpetrator is the same man. Reopening the cold case file from the past forces Grace to confront a terrible time in his own past; his wife, Sandy, disappeared ten years ago and has never been found. The most frightening aspect of the book is how easy it was for the rapist to learn the most intimate details about his victims by accessing their online accounts. In this age of Facebook and Twitter, James points out how much of our lives are on the internet and available to almost anyone. DEAD LIKE YOU is a good, intricate mystery and I'll definitely be reading others of this series written by Peter James. Lynn Kimmerle
writerpsl More than 1 year ago
I have read 4 of Peter James' detective series and enjoyed all of them. This one is excellent.He knows his setting in Brighton, England, and you could find your way with his book. His detective,Roy Grace is not the brightest penny in the purse, but he gets there in the end. Pat
readerbill1 More than 1 year ago
Love the Roy Grace series, but where are 3 through 5? We need those!!!!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Brighton, England Detective Superintendent Roy Grace and his major crimes unit investigate two brutal rapes in which the predator used the woman's shoes to penetrate. The cases are horrific but more so to Roy as the shoes are the same M.O. as the unsolved 1997 serial rapes of five known victims by the "Shoe Man." As he is engaged to his pregnant girlfriend, this case sends Roy also back to a time of his most haunting personal tragedy; the disappearance of his wife during that same period. Roy is disturbed by his memory of who he assumes was the sixth female victim twentyish Rachael Ryan but her body was never found; the DS believes she was the only one the rapist murdered. This is a great British police procedural due to the various viewpoints from obviously Grace, but also other cops, victims and potential rapists. The story line is fast-paced throughout and most harrowing when a rape victim explains her feelings of violation; yet Peter James keeps these revelations flowing within the strong investigative plot. Readers will relish the latest "dead" Grace thriller while seeking his previous works published on this side of the pond (see Dead Tomorrow and Dead Man's Footsteps). Harriet Klausner
dannN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Peter James as an author. I find that his stories normally hold my attention and this one was no exception. I found his two time periods disconcerting at first until I realised how he was building up his story.A good Roy Grace detective story.
dools46 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love the Roy Grace series, and this is another fab book
Golding on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed all of Peter James" Detective Roy Grace series and this one continues the quality trend. Having visited Brighton (a long time ago) his descriptions are great and Grace's character delves between his past (with the missing wife) and today's love interest and police politics.
maneekuhi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the sixth Roy Grace novel and my first, and I thought it was excellent. A killer-rapist who apparently went into hibernation 12 years ago has resurfaced, selecting his victims once again as a result of a particular fetish he has. I liked the characters, good plot, the pacing was excellent. I had some difficulty initially with the flip-flopping back and forth from 12 years ago, but became comfortable with it eventually and even felt it was critical to the success of the story. Tip to other readers: Consider searching for Brighton on both Flickr and Google Earth and you will be rewarded with views of a very different city/beach town, scenes that were not shared in the descriptive detail of the book. I do intend to go to book 1 in the series and read the first five books.
SandyLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Women are being assaulted and their shoes stolen. The cases remind Detective Superintendent Roy Grace of unsolved cases from the late 90s. The author skillfully reveals the mindset of three different characters who could be the culprit. Camera footage shows a man dressed as a woman following his victims into high-end shoe stores. The "Shoe Man," as he is dubbed, is clever, and although one forensics experts believes all of the attacks are perpetrated by one person, Grace isn't so sure. The author also delves back into Grace's life with his wife, Sandy, who has been missing for ten years. In the previous book he had taken steps to have her declared dead so he can marry his pregnant girlfriend. But in the last book we also discovered that Sandy isn't dead. She did not make a very good cop's wife, constantly harping about the hours he spent away from home. She had appeared needy and self-centered so why she left and what she has been doing is still a mystery. Another great installment in the Roy Grace series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JP1 More than 1 year ago
Peter James is a fantastic mystery writer. I did not know until near the end of the book who did it? Equally important, his characters seem very real. And they are characters. The story is set around Brighton, England. As a result of reading this book, as well as several of his other books, I have put Brighton on my list of places to visit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have totally enjoyed the books available in this series. Unfortunately, #2-5 are not available in the US as ebooks. Come on B&N can you do something about this. Peter James gives his readers character's with depth, and story's that draw you in. Roy Grace is an excellent character. Looking forward to beginning #7 that has just been released. You will love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago