Dawn

Dawn

by Elie Wiesel

Hardcover(Library Binding)

$10.50 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dawn 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read a historical fiction novel for AP world history, this was one of the books on the list. Having read his first novel, Night a few months ago, I had high expectations for the book when I decided to read it. This book outdoes it's amazing predecessor. It follows the experience of Elisha, a Jewish teenager who survived the holocaust and now has joined the revolution against the English for the Holy Land in Palestine. He has been chosen to perform the execution of a British officer, which is to take place at the same time as a friend of his from their side. The story follows the hours and minutes leading up to the execution, covering topics such as what brands a person as a killer, past regrets, the cost of war, and the loss of one's self. Dawn is a short, but intensely written read with excellent pacing that takes a look into the mind of a person whom is forced to commit the ultimate crime, and how it ties in with the protagonist's dark past. This book was the highlight of my many summer assignments and was a breath of fresh air in the world of required reading which normally is filled with dry, overly descriptive novels which one can find hard to relate to. Dawn was a page turner that kept me highly intriuged from the first page to the final word. The story's deep plot line and haunting ending will have you thinking and questioning your own morale even after you've finished reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dawn is an amazing book. It is the sequel to Night. To understand this book you have to read Night. Wiesel references events from Night quite a bit. Dawn also answers some unanswered questions from Night. The book starts off with Wiesel being in Palestine. He also mentions that he has to kill an English man the next day and he didn’t know why. He says that he will never go back to his home town and officially confirms that he never found his mother. Also in chapter one he brings up the beggar. The man wears black clothes. Wiesel met the man when he was 12 years old. This man taught Wiesel how to distinguish night from day. The rest of the book is when Wiesel was 18 years old. Chapter 2 goes back to right after the war. He went to Paris and that is where he met Gad. He was offered asylum in France. He wanted to learn the language and go to school. Wiesel compares Gad to a god. In chapter 5 we discover Catherine, a possible love interest, who is a 26 year old that spoke little German. She was a person who would talk to him in the summer of the war. The book continues to go through his life after the war. I would recommend this book to young adults. I am planning on reading Day the last book in his series. -J. Leavey
davidc0469 More than 1 year ago
Dawn is a short story by Wiesel standards but is a story you cannot put down. Elisha is a young rebel in Palestine fighting the British at the time and is torn in that at (Dawn) he must execute a British officer in reprisal for the British hanging a Jewish rebel. Elisha establishes an almost friendship with this officer and the story also talks of Elisha with his rebel friends especially Gad who is almost like a fatherfigure to him. Action packed and a great-short story by Weisel I strongly suggest this read.Can`t wait to finish this triology with Day. DNC
AshRyan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very well written...almost Dostoevskian, with a similar sort of religious existentialism. Wiesel makes the best argument I've ever heard for the so-called "cycle of violence"---but unfortunately, it's equivocal. The plot involves a distinction between cold-blooded acts of violence and those committed in the heat of the moment, but the theme depends on ignoring not only this distinction but any distinctions among any uses of force whatsoever (most significantly between an aggressor's initiation of force and the victim's retaliatory use of force in self-defense).
SandSing7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Having been moved to tears by Night, I was expecting something different, and could not wrap my mind around the text that was presented. Extremely philosophical and political, Dawn failed to resonate with me. Perhaps, I was plagued by listening to the audiobook, which although beautifully read, did not allow ample time to ponder the deeper levels but instead provided opportunity for distractions.
wikiro on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book I felt would be something I wrote when I had no idea on how to approach a theme. I think Weisel missed the mark on this one. I would hate to be in the head of main character trying to make an ordinary sandwich. There were to many repeated comments leaving nothing to the imagination. No surprises and at the same time no feeling of realism. I really became sick when I finished the book because it really made me remember my writing style in 5th grade.
MsNikki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After reading Night, I dived into Dawn. Then I waded, and barely floated until the end.I did not like this book. After Night this was a contrived piece of fiction. Too much like soap opera, I thought for such a talented author.But I made sure I finished it.
pokarekareana on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A graceful and emotionally profound extension of Night. In postwar Palestine, Wiesel leads us through one long night, painful and harrowing to read, to the dawn - a watershed in Wiesel's life, with a sense of irreversible change, and that this represents his final shift from adolescence to adulthood. His prose is beautiful, and suffused with a sense of drama. This is a short read, but don't be fooled into thinking this is a quick one to read on the bus to work.
wenzowsa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Night", being a memoir, and "Dawn", being a novel, are profoundly different books; although, tied together by the Holocaust (a catastrophe that the young Eliezer lives through in "Night", and that haunts Elisha in "Day"). This point being made, I will admit that I still enjoy "Night" (and also "Day") more than "Dawn"; however, I do feel that if one is going to read "Dawn" that they should begin the book with the understanding that it is going to be different from "Night", and to approach this work as such.I admire "Dawn" for its writing style, and the philosophical issues that Wiesel examines through Elisha. The aesthetics of style reminded me of a those books that have been written in the post-Kafka tradition (Judaic overtones, the nature of the absurd, and a nightmare-like quality). The issues of evil, death, and aftermath are poignant and haunting. Through the implied death of David ben Moshe and actual execution of the British Colonel we see the spiritual demise of Elisha - and the absurd nature of differences (are we so very different or are we the same?).
john257hopper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I mooched this for a friend and thought I would read it before sending it to her. This is a story of a moral dilemma. Elisha is a young Jewish man whose family all died in the concentration camps and who has joined the resistance against the British in Palestine. One of his comrades is to be executed by the British and he is charged with killing a captured British officer in reprisal. The story deals with his conscience and attempts to rationalise taking the life of this British officer with whom he might be friendly in other circumstances. A short, quite stark but gripping read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
BenHrn More than 1 year ago
Dawn was a good book. It sheds some light on the Zionist movement, which I really did not know about before I read It. The plot of the story was interesting and keeps your attention. It is interesting to see the point of view from someone who is about to assassinate someone, and how he felt beforehand.
SHooper More than 1 year ago
Dawn the second book in the Night Trilogy. However, one does not need to read the book Night in order to understand Dawn. Dawn allows the reader to be immersed into a different culture. Multiple times religion is mentioned within the book. The fact the audience is able to be inside Elisha's head, the protagonists, gives way to the emotional impact the story has. Also the way the author, Elie Wiesel, justifies the how and why the Jews are going to war is well thought out and clever. He uses facts from history and his own personal experience. All in all, the book was phenomenal and offered a different perspective on life.
elmerjacob More than 1 year ago
The second book of Elie Wiesel's trilogy, Dawn, goes through the life of a teenage Holocaust survivor who now is a part of the movement. This historical fiction book goes through the thoughts of eighteen year old Elisha who is appointed to kill an Englishman. Wiesel does a great job going into great depth of Elisha's past experiences that haunt him and all of the thoughts racing in his mind up to the minute he has to kill the Englishman. Wiesel's writing is very intriguing and pulls the reader in as if they were there and leaves the reader wanting more. I am not into historical fiction, but this is a fantastic story.
travisoli98 More than 1 year ago
Elie Wiesel's follow up novel, Dawn, is a wonderful piece of literature that leaves the reader with an understanding of Jews and their lives after World War 2. Before reading the book with my English class, i looked up Dawn and saw it was classified as historical-fiction. My first thought was that this story would be a far off from from nonfiction but I think actually gives the reader a clear understanding of the time period. It gives the reader the sense that they are in the story because of the detailed thoughts the main character Elisha gives. Wiesel gives a detailed picture of the internet fight and struggle Jews going against society. I personally liked this book but wish it could have been made into a longer story. I think more background info would have outback this book over-the-top novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recomed this book to someone who has been alot through in life, and already knows what to expect from life. I honestly think that this book may get boring, but not just any 18 year old boy like Elie can make this tough decisions of killing or waiting to be killed. Without his family who died, Elie has to go through all this in order to become a man.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago