Dark Voyage

Dark Voyage

by Alan Furst

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.85 $17.00 Save 7% Current price is $15.85, Original price is $17. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 25
MARKETPLACE
40 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Voyage 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Pandababy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Does thinking of a book weeks after reading bring forth strong images, an atmosphere so dense you feel as if you are inside it, a cast of characters you can see in your mind as if they are old friends you know and like? Surely such a novel is worth at least four stars, which is how I rated Dark Voyage by Alan Furst. I will be reading more of his work, because war stories interest me, and because I like the way he writes. (This review refers to the digital edition.)
maykram on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well reasearched and methodically written. However i found the pace too slow and the characters didn't interest me. Doubtful that iw ill read from this author again
madcatnip72 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dark Voyage is not Furst's best work, but my caveat is that Furst's best work is amazing, so understand that this book is pretty darn good. Furst is a master at evoking the pathos and heroism of individual during the darkest period of WWII for the Allies - the 1940-41 years. Furst's stories are valuable because they remind us that the tides of war are often turned not though the efforts of great men or climatic battles but through the decisions and sacrifices made by unknown but corageous individuals in events long bypassed and forgotten in the primary historical narrative.As with his other works, Furst weaves in characters from his other novels - some as bit players, some more sharply in focus. Dark Voyage is more brooding mood then sturm and drang, but its a welcome addition to his canon nonetheless.
coyle220 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The adventure spy novels by Alan Furst are generally set in a stylish and romantic time period (WWI or WWII) and his writing reflects that. I enjoy the fact that there is a little romance, a little violence, and a little history.
donaldgallinger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Alan Furst's books are all set between 1935-1945. Although technically "spy" novels, Furst's novels might just as easily be considered historical fiction. Meticulous research combined with strong character development make each one of Furst's novels a great joy.
picardyrose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Captain of a tramp steamer gets pressed into service by British Intelligence. Viggo Mortensen, what a role this would be for you.
etv13 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is a little different from Furst's other books, in that it focuses more on war operations than espionage. It did an excellent job of conveying a sense of the danger the war posed, not just to the characters, but to the people of that era generally.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Furst's usual thorough knowledge of the intelligence situation in Europe is shown to be just as good on the Atlantic and Medierranean Sea as well. The increasing use of Radar and of how the Allies started investigating it was great with a personal and very human story to show how people were co-oped into service on the Allied side.It wasn't only Russians doing this in Eastern Europe as other books have shown. The story is absorbing and the end is a little tricky.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A compelling read, but I'm a sucker for the sea.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dark Voyage contains a handful of loosely connected adventures, with exotic locales, an intellectual hero swept up by historical events, mysterious women and, of course, Nazis. Furst is a sophisticated writer, but this novel seems a little tired compared to his 'Blood of Victory.'