Dark of Night (Troubleshooters Series #14)

Dark of Night (Troubleshooters Series #14)

by Suzanne Brockmann

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.35 $8.99 Save 7% Current price is $8.35, Original price is $8.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark of Night (Troubleshooters Series #14) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 129 reviews.
Gentry More than 1 year ago
Suzanne Brockmann is back with the 14th installment of her popular SEAL/Troubleshooter series. Dark of Night puts closure to the threads and questions that began several books ago with the release of Flashpoint.

For the series reader, there are familiar characters to follow. For the new reader, while Dark of Night is not overly saturated with introspection or description, there is enough that the book can function as a stand-alone read.

The plot in Dark of Night is tightly woven and very fast paced. It follows events and revelations in the relationships of three distinctly different couples (Nash and Tess, Dave and Sophia, Decker and Tracy) who are in different levels of their relationships and facing vastly different issues while confronting the one issue that they all have in common.

All the characters (main and secondary) are deeply involved in the pursuit of the person(s) who have kept fellow Troubleshooter Nash ensnared in very dark ops for The Agency. Here the reader will find echoes of a theme visited often by Suzanne Brockmann; that of the shadowy, out of control intelligence agencies now functioning in the United States and the need to stamp them out.

Balancing out the dark tone of the suspense are well placed, believable lighthearted moments, as well as some sizzling romantic moments, between the couples as they scramble to find the danger before it destroys not only the people they love, but everyone involved in the mission.

The dialog between the characters is well written and believable, as is the involvement and interaction of each character brought into the story. While there are quite a few 'cameo' appearances of past characters, each one has a specific reason and purpose for being brought into the action.

The discovery of the person(s) who were threatening Nash and the Troubleshooters, and the dispatching of said person(s) felt a little rushed, although not enough to lessen the suspense.

This is a book that I found to be a page turning adventure that left me feeling as though each character had found the happily ever after they were due.
Beki More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to get to read an ARC of Dark of Night and I LOVED it! This book totally worked for me. I urge all fans of Suz Brockmann to rush out and read this book before drawing any conclusions about it. I truly think it is among the best of the books in the Troubleshooters Series. The action and suspense kept me on the edge of my seat and the romance lover in me was totally satisfied. Dark of Night left me feeling very happy and contented with the way everything worked out.
aly9 More than 1 year ago
Not at all what I was hoping for. Felt the characters completely changed on me and very disappointed with the pairings. This is not why I read romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The new couples in Dark of Night may have worked had the characters not all changed their personalities.

Dave is now mini-Decker, Tracy is the smartest person at Troubleshooters, Sophia has lost her spunk, and Decker¿well Decker is the most different of all. Sophia and Decker finally talk to each other, but do not explain why it took them so many years to do so. That aspect was very disappointing. As was the big secret about Decker which was poorly executed and seemed to be in the book simply to shock readers.

On the good side, Jules appears. And one long-standing couple finally gets their act together.

I found it odd Decker and Nash did not have more scenes together.

The action plot is so-so. But the real mystery I found myself asking is ¿who are these people?¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the end for me. I cant be locked into anymore series that yank my emotions and dont deliver. Dave/Sophia? - whatever. I really hope Dave takes that mechanic job. Decker/Tracy - smokin but....that's it? I felt really gipped by the time spent on them. I put aside the fact that Tracy became a genius, but I cant let go that I know barely anything about Decker...still. After 5 years. Nash/Tess - sweet but not high on my radar. Jules/Sam/many many others - funny moments but too many filler convos. Decker/Sophia - After 400 plus pages in thier concluding book I still cant figure these two out. Nothing was ever resolved except that they found other people. The past was discussed between them for about a page. If you can put on blinders to the previous books or if you didnt care about them, I'm sure you'll love this book. The plot was pretty good for a romance.
Tracy58 More than 1 year ago
Ms. Brockmann has finally jumped the shark. Poor Kenny got shot. I think just about everyone in her books have now been shot. lol. Too bad Ms. Brockmann didn't put Dave and Decker out of their misery before writing this book. They are the most boring characters. Although probably better than reading about one of her last characters who turned out to be a pedophile. Yeah Izzy!

And the plot line was so convoluted, and ridiculous, it was laughable.

The whole series now seems like a money grab by Ms. Brockmann, with the unending story lines, and far fetched plots. Do yourself a favor.........don't buy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved all of Suzanne's books, but this was the most disappointing. I have put several books into wanting some couples together and am angry they did not end up together. I skipped through a lot of the plot, because I did not care about most of it. I loved seeing Jules, Sam, Alyssa and Ash. They were the best part of the book. I also loved Nash and Tess, but the rest was very disappointing.
lindsaydiffee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this. Good job all the way around.
EvilynJ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After almost being killed in the last book, Troubleshooters James Nash and his wife Tess go into hiding. But Black Ops agents go after partners Dave and Sophia to bring Nash and Tess back out into the open. Will this be the end of Troubleshooters, Inc.? Troubleshooters #14 finishes up the series. You'll either love it or hate it--readers are so passionate about Brockmann's characters. Start with the beginning of the series, or you'll be totally lost.
Archieve on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think that Mrs. Brockmann has done a great job with this book. I have to say that I was so touched, when Nash told Decker that Dave was the only other friend he had besides Decker. That was touching, because in Flashpoint, Nash didn't care for Dave. He didn't want to work with him. To him, Dave was a freak. And, I am sure prior to their friendship, Nash looked at Dave as being a weakling. Nash was worried how Dave would feel, if he found out that he wasn't dead. Throughout the book, he keep worrying about Dave. That's deep!I was happy to see my favorite couple. Sam and Alyssa and their baby. I just knew that they would have a boy. I was thinking that the baby probably have been named Sam, since Roger didn't change his name to Sam. He's just called Sam. But Ashton (Ash) is a good name. Ash loves his parents. He had gotten all happy, when he heard his mother's voice over the intercome. How cute! Speaking of cute, Sam time with Ash was cute too. Him teaching Nash how to change a diaper was sweet. I know that babies can swim, but after read where Sam said that he was taking Ash for a swim, I was like. I wouldn't let my six month old baby be in a pool. But, I know that Alyssa trusts Sam dearly. (I love Sam!)Okay, moving down to my second favorite couple.Dave and Sophia. I knew that they would get a HEA. I know that a lot of people don't feel that Dave was the right man for Sophia; that Decker was. But, Decker was never in love with Sophia. I didn't see where Decker was in love with Sophia in Flashpoint, Into The Storm, Into The Fire or even Dark of Night. Suzanne has given me clues that Sophia was going to wind up with Dave. I will not list all of them, but the main clue came from Flashpoint, when Sophia tells Tess that Dave is cute and that he would be her second husband, no make that her third husband. The love between Sophia and Dave in this story was real and pure. Yes, Dave had doubts. Should Dave have question Sophia's feelings for him? Yes. He wasn't sure if she truly cared for him. He knew that at one point, Sophia was in love with Decker, but in reality, she wasn't in love with Decker. She was in love with "the hero" - even in this book, Suzanne lets it be known that Sophia was in love with "the hero" and not Decker, the man. No, she doesn't say it word for word, but it's there. Hint: Pg 392 Decker talking to Sophia, about Tracy: "She sees me for who I am," Decker interrupted. "And she treats me like a man. Like an equal. Not some hero or... I don't know what. She's not afraid of me. She says what she sthinks, she never pulls her punches... I like the way she needs me. I really do. It's clean...honest."Sophia wasn't in love with Decker. She was infatuated with Decker. But, Sophia was in love - she was in love with Dave. That's the reason why Sophia hung up the phone on Dave in Into The Fire, when he told her that he was in love with him. She told him in the bar on the line of, "I couldn't...." In Into The Fire. Sophia has gotten jealous over Paulette. No woman would compare herself to another woman, if a man is just a friend to her and she didn't have feelings for him. Sophia is the one that kissed Dave first. She wanted him to make love to her. Was she trying to block out her feelings for Decker? No, because there was no feelings. She was trying to admit to herself that Dave was the man she was in love with. In the book towards the end, we see that she realized that Dave was the man she was in love with all this time.They truly make a cute couple. Next time, we read about them. They will be married and living with Dave. He's house is bigger. I hope they have a little boy. DJ short for Dave Junior would be cute. But, Dave was thinking about a girl, so maybe they would have a girl. Daddy's little girl. How cute. And the name Marianne. I know someone with that name and her name is not pronounced Mary Ann, although, so peeople cal her that.Dave and Sophia's part will surely be a reread.Oh, and I have to say that I'm glad th
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I cannot get enough of Brockmann's writing. Her books (especially after she graduated out of Harlequins) are fast-paced, complex, tough, exciting, sexy and downright romantic. I'm glad I married *before* reading her, 'cause she really could have ruined me for all reall men. Her characters are the sexiest, sensitive Manly Men *ever*. This one is fascinating because practically all of the characters she's intorduced in past books make an appearance, as one of the Troubleshooters' own is being targeted. As they all race to discover who the shady Agents behind the escalating murders are, two couples, Dan and Sophia and Decker and Tracy, are also caught up and realize who they're meant for. But that's an incredibly cheesy and simple description for the gripping plot that unfolds on the page. Run, do NOT walk, to the library to check out this series!!!
lynnm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very fast paced, although the action takes place over a short four-day period. Ties up some loose ends, answering once and for all the various pairings begun in "Flashpoint".At first I found it somewhat difficult to follow the various plot threads, as most of the characters were paired or teamed off and separated, with everyone going here and there. But as the story continued, the plot drew together with the final resolution being surprisingly simplistic. While I liked the Tracy/Decker pairing well enough, the fact that it developed over such a short period of time makes it hard for me to buy the intensity. Decker begins the book a damaged soul, and it's hard to accept that he might be healed so quickly simply because of the love of a good woman. However, I have none of the complaints of those who believed in the Decker/Sophie soul-mates scenario. Really - REALLY - missed Izzy in this book and look forward to more of him in the future.Overall, not my most favorite Brockmann (that would be "Over the Edge" and "Out of Control") but a solid entry into the series.
stephenskel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Awsome! Awsome! Awsome! If you're a fan of this series, I don't see how you can't love this book. This book finally gives Decker a voice and you begin to understand so much more about why he is the way he is. And it resolves the issues between he and Sophia. And I love who he ends up with. I think she's perfect for him.
amf0001 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've not read Suzanne Brockmann for the past few years (more years than I thought) and this is not the book to return to her. Dark of Night is the culmination of a few long threads (which I ordinarily love) but not having read the more recent ones, I don't know these characters and there is too much backstory/history for me to catch up easily. This is not Ms Brockmann's fault. I wouldn't expect to be able to pick up midway through a complex fantasy series and understand what is going on, so I shouldn't expect to here. I know that this is the end of quite a few cross book threads, so I'll wait for the next one which should be easier to pick up.
lrobe190 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Badly shaken after the loss of one of their own, the men and women of Troubleshooters Inc. go up against their most deadly opponents yet--the clandestine organization called The Agency. But when their leader, former Navy SEAL Lawrence Decker, barely escapes with his life, it soon becomes clear that the hunters have become the hunted --and the Troubleshooters are no longer just solving a crime--they're fighting for survival.I really enjoy the Troubleshooters series, but it's been a little harder to get into the last couple of titles. After I finally remember who all the characters are, the pace picks up and the story races to an exciting conclusion. I've really had a problem with "Dave" and "Decker" because their names are so similar.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lanalucy More than 1 year ago
I will confess to being out of reach of a library for a little over a year, so haven't read any of the last few Troubleshooters books. Thus, I have none of the complaints that many of the one-star reviewers have. Other than the already established couples growing relationship-wise, I'm not attached to "super-couples." Watching soaps in the 80s and 90s cured me of that. lol I was a little confused at the beginning. When I started reading chapter one, it took me a minute to realize that the entire prologue was a dream/escape for Dave. I've been there - had a need to have some elaborate world to go to in order to keep from giving up, so I understood it once I realized that's what it was. However, the segue there was not as smooth as I would have expected. There were several times while reading that I had to click back to the previous chapter or scene with certain characters to refresh my memory on what was happening when I "turned the page." I like the alternating scenes and multiple locations, I just thought some of the transitions were so long that I couldn't keep straight what was happening where. Maybe I'm getting old. I felt the Robin-into-rehab story was a little too pat. Those Troubleshooters are smart enough to have come up with a better story than that to explain Robin's sudden disappearance from a movie shoot. Him needing to withdraw from the public eye happens often enough. Homicidal stalker, perhaps? Severe food poisoning? There was more tell in this book than I thought was necessary, and I inferred that it was there for newcomers to the Troubleshooters series, but some of it could easily have been edited out. Several times, characters explained things to each other for the audience's benefit. I guess if this is the first book you're reading with SEALs or government operatives, you need it, but I thought much of that was also unnecessarily telly rather than showy. On the other hand, I laughed out loud (in a good way) more than a few times while reading Dark of Night. There were at least half a dozen occasions where I wanted to highlight and share something from the book with friends, though I only ended up sharing one. What I found in Dark of Night were characters who took some good, hard looks at themselves and came to some difficult realizations about their personal quirks and their interactions with others. In that respect, this book was a joy to read. Characters I've grown to love begin to behave in ways that are not in keeping with the mask they've presented to others, even to others very close to them, even the mask they presented to themselves. Sometimes one learns things about oneself that are extremely uncomfortable and hard to integrate. I empathized with Decker's struggle. I did feel his acceptance of it, after all that, was a bit rushed, but I guess there's only so much room in a book. I loved that nearly everybody had a chance to step up to the plate and show some wisdom or strength of character. Oddball things from the past would create opportunities to showcase smarts that aren't necessarily visible on the surface. Tracy and Sophia, in particular, have obviously been heavily underestimated by both their teammates and by long-time Troubleshooters readers. Neither is as fragile as others have made her out to be. Near as I can tell, everybody has a Happily Ever After now, though I personally would quite gladly read more about these characters ongoing struggles and growth, even without the main romantic couple thing that has been Brockmann's stock in trade. I'm planning to reread the entire series in one go at some point, and this one will most definitely be included.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago