Dark Horse

Dark Horse

by Tami Hoag

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Horse 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 81 reviews.
LynnMI More than 1 year ago
I usually don't read mysteries. Ever. I picked this up because of the tie-in to the horse world. It was captivating and held my interest page after page. I usually "speed read" and skip the unimportant trivial words in some novels but I loved Tami Hoag's style of writing so much, I read every single word. I found myself sneaking in time to read more of the book when I should have been doing other things! Just couldn't put it down! I highly recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i spent one day flipping through this gripping page turner.the unmentionable romance, the twists in the plot, they keep you wondering till the very last page. 569645 thumbs up
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a Tami Hoag fan, I was thrilled by this book. It follows the equestrian life closely and gives wonderful insight into that world. The plot was good and the characters even better. The main character is someone that I would like to read more about. Don't miss this book.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Elena Estes is an ex-cop with suicidal tendencies and a smart mouth. When she's approached by a precocious 12-year-old who wants Elena to find her missing older sister, a groom for a high class show barn, her first impulse is to say, "No!" Guilt, compassion, and what's left of her conscience won't let her, however. As Elena begins her investigation into the young woman's disappearance, little does she know that the truth will leave her battered, bruised, and disillusioned, but stronger. Don't look for much romance of the hearts & flowers type here. Hoag paints a grim picture of the elite world of show jumping populated by wealthy owners, vicious, back-stabbing trainers, conniving horse dealers, and victims, both four and two-legged. Even her heroes are more than a bit tarnished. In spite of that, the overall effect is neither bleak nor depressing. Dark Horse is more tightly written than it's successor, The Alibi Man, and Elena is a refreshingly blunt, caustic heroine. I hope to see more of her.
chrissywest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tami Hoag's latest book is Prior Bad Acts. I have not read it yet. I have read Kill The Messenger and now, having read Dark Horse, I am really noticing a change in Tami Hoag's writing style. I enjoyed the basic plot of Dark Horse and I really got into the characters - especially Elena Estes. I think her character would make a good character for a series. The book seemed too long and drawn out to me. I found it also to be very slow paced in places. There was no real plot twist and no romance - which is an aspect of Tami Hoag's books I have enjoyed in the past. There was also some loose ends in the climax/conclusion inregards to what happened to Van Zandt. The characters never found out what really happened to him. Not one of Tami Hoag's best.
gogglemiss on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Disappointing. I could not connect to Elena Estes very well, even though the story was fairly gripping, it did prevent me from continuing with the story., which was a pity.
fink17 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ex-police woman investigates missing horse groom per the lil sister's request;
Camethyste on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book, talented author. Lots of twists and turns in the story.
les121 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not the best mystery I've ever read, but it was entertaining and fast-paced. I'm interested to read more of Hoag.
BackyardHorse on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After almost loosing her life in a bust gone bad this ex-cop works her way back to recovery on the back or a friend's dressage horse. She becomes involved in a search for a missing girl, and tries to track down a killer. Lots of twist and turns,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I so enjoyed the twists & turns of this book. Loved the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very well written book. Too bad the "heroine" is the single most loathsome character to have ever been foisted on unsuspecting readers. I only finished it in the hopes that someone would tear the vicious, self-jusufying, self-pitying tongue right out of her head. Alas. I hate her so much, I may write some anti-fan fiction detailing an appropriate and hideous end for her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sue5 More than 1 year ago
A new twist on a mystery. This one keeps you involved,as  always can't wait to get to the last page on Tami's books.  This is a good book for the airplane.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hope the book is as good as the song!!!!!!!!
acorley84 More than 1 year ago
Dark Horse - Won't Be My Last Hoag Read This review first appeared at Chorley Chronicals!! This was my first read by Tami Hoag, and I must say that I wasn't disappointed, so I certainly will pick up more by her in the future.  This was book 1 in the Elena Estes series, and I absolutely will (at some time) seek out book 2 to read!  The narrator does an excellent job of not only bringing the characters to life, but also distinguishing the characters throughout the book.  There were quite a few characters to keep up with, but I thought that Beth McDonald did a great job of helping me distinguish which character was which while she was reading.  I wouldn't hesitate to listen to another audio book narrated by Beth McDonald! My favorite type of character is a strong, independent female, and I found just that in Elena Estes. That was probably one of my favorite things about this book, Elena's character and her ruthlessness and brutal honesty!  I also couldn't help but fall in love with Molly Seabright, and have nothing but utter dismay and disgust at her mother and step-father!  Dark Horse did a great job of making me feel the emotions of the story that I was reading, although it felt like the story did drag on a bit at times, which is why I only gave this book 3 of 5 bookworms!  The plot was suspenseful and was initially difficult to figure out the kidnapper was!  I did enjoy the extra "drama" included throughout the story!  I heard many people complain that they didn't care for all of the horse talk and reference throughout the book, but that didn't bother me a bit, but then again, I love horses!  I just thought it was fitting, giving the kidnapping took place at a pretty prominent stable!  Overall, other than the story seeming to move a little slower than I would have liked, I don't have any complaints about Dark Horse and will absolutely eventually get around to reading The Alibi Man, Book 2 in the Elena Estes series, mainly because I loved Elena so much!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the movie after you think things are going to go right they go wrong again. I dunno. Mabey the book is diffrrent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You love my owner..his names Hunter..you will never feel alone again..he will fix you up..hes nice..please come with me to stable res 1..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This ebook looks like a poor quality scan. DO Not BUY the ebook format. I'm requesting a credit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago