The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway

The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway

Paperback(Finca Vigia Edition)

$19.80 $22.00 Save 10% Current price is $19.8, Original price is $22. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Curiosity led me to read this book. I wanted to know what Mr. Hemingway had written that would earn him both the Nobel prize in literature and the Pulitzer Prize. My conclusion was that the author was able to touch the inner feelings of the hardest hearts. His descriptions of scenes as well as experiences were expressed to the extent I had never read before. Sometimes it was almost uncomfortable with the sharing of human suffering and emotions. His vast knowledge of historical events, the world in general and other languages was amazing!
BM_Hargrove More than 1 year ago
Ernest Hemingway is one of my favorite authors and this has a great selection of his amazing stories. I would definitely recommend buying this if you are a fan or if you just want to find a new author. I love reading these stories over and over again!
Don Congjuico More than 1 year ago
i have the hardcopy for this and this is indeed one of my timeless treasures that i love to read over and over again
Guest More than 1 year ago
How nice to have all these stories in one book. There were many that I had forgotten about. My favorite is still 'Hills Like White Elephants', but I also love 'Homage to Switzerland' and 'Old Man at the Bridge.' I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Hemingway and/or a lover of tight, snappy prose. These short stories are easy to read. Hemingway was known for writing short, declarative sentences which makes reading these stories a quick,convenient escape anytime you need it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every time I reread this collection of short stories I find that I love it that much more. Hemingway's stories covered all range of topics, but mostly he deals with the human heart, in its relation to nature and with others. There is no need to talk about his style of writing because his 'tough, terse' style is legendary. I do wish that 'The Old Man and the Sea' were included here instead of by itself. I tried to pick my favorite Hemingway stories and I couldn't narrow it down to any less than 21. ¿An African Story¿, ¿The Battler¿, ¿The Butterfly and the Tank¿, ¿Cat in the Rain¿, ¿A Clean, Well-Lighted Place¿, ¿Fathers and Sons¿, ¿Fifty Grand¿, ¿God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen¿, ¿Hills Like White Elephants¿, ¿Indian Camp¿, ¿The Killers¿, ¿The Last Good Country¿, ¿The Light of the World¿, ¿My Old Man¿, ¿One Trip Across¿, ¿The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber¿, ¿The Snows of Kilamajaro¿, ¿Soldier¿s Home¿, ¿The Three-Day Blow¿, ¿A Train Trip¿, and ¿Up in Michigan¿. There are few writers that I've found that can handle the short story as well as Hemingway. If you are interested check out the short fiction of Franz Kafka, John Cheever, Shirley Jackson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Mark Twain.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the only complete collection of hemingway's short stories. and he was the master of the short story. this is a collection that should be on everyone's shelf. there is nothing i can say, you have to read it.
Merns More than 1 year ago
Talk about "undefeated"! This is the reigning champ.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hemingway was best as a short story writer. And there are many small masterpieces within this volume. Who wants to read the short story at its finest should read this work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Forced to write a report on an Author I never read before, I boughtthis book and was AMAZED! I had to reasd 'Big Two-Hearted River'. Many of whom Ih ave talked too hated it! I absolutely LOVED it. A wonderful book to include in yoru home Library. -Danielle* -16
bzedan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a tome. It's difficult to summarise or review short story collections, especially one so extensive as this.So lemme just say, there is a reason that Heminway is canon. He reminds me of Chekhov, of Vonnegut¿the sadness implicit in humanity's existence and the true, yet sometimes hollow joy that is found despite it.
chrisv on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this about 6 years ago, until then I had read most of Hemingway's novels which I enjoyed immensely, on a flight from Havana I got talking to my neighbour who taught Hemingway she told me her favourites were the short stories. Some of these stories are very short indeed and the quality does vary but the very best and there are a huge number of very well written stories are very very good. I love Hemingway although I don't usually read short stories these are amongst his best works. They have a haunting quality and a still remember scenes from them, a boy with his canoe hiding amongst lakes and rivers or an man skiing, tales of love obviously written by a young man with the arrogance and cockiness of youth.
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Having read several of Hemingway's longer novels (The Sun Also Rises, A Farewell to Arms and For Whom the Bell Tolls) I looked forward to this collection with great anticipation. My appetite was only whetted with the first story in the collection, "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber", which I found to be magnificent. Alas, it proved to be the star of the collection. While several of the remaining stories were certainly outstanding (in particular "Fifty Grand", A Way You'll never Be", "Under the Ridge", "An African Story" and "I Guess Everything Reminds You of Something"), a number of the stories were less than spectacular. Particularly disappointing were the numerous efforts of under 750 words. Now, you may be a brilliant writer, and even a master of the art of story telling, but in my opinion, you cannot tell a story in two pages. You can set a scene; you can paint a picture, but you cannot tell a story. I counted ten such SHORT SHORT short stories and another fifteen only slightly longer. Those stories which ran beyond 6-8 pages were, by and large quite enjoyable. Having read several of Hemingway's longer works and found them to be, in some cases, in need of editing, and now having read a number of his works which can only be described as overly brief, I'm left with the opinion that he is best enjoyed in those works of 10-200 pages, not coincidentally the length of his Pulitzer Prize winning novella, "The Old Man and the Sea". I'm struck by a passage in "For Whom the Bell Tolls" in which the Communist partisan Pilar recounts the revolution within her village in which the Fascists (a/k/a the successful citizens) were rounded up and murdered. Those twenty pages, lifted out, would have qualified as one of the greatest short stories ever written, yet it becomes somewhat lost in a story that wanders at times. Certainly, this book will be enjoyed by anyone who has developed a taste for Hemingway and to a lesser extent, those who enjoy the art of the short story. I only gave high marks to roughly a third of the offerings, however those 23 stories account for almost 75% of the pages in the book. The other efforts are simply too short for my taste, and they account for a majority of the stories in the collection.
Salmondaze on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is certainly a collection that outstrips The First Forty-Nine, but some of the "bonus stories" are fileted from other books instead of being short stories in their own true rights, making this collection a step away from "perfect" or "complete" as the title would indicate. I would get the Everyman Library Collected Stories instead of this for people who really want to dig into Hemingway's short story prowess.
The_Law_Rence More than 1 year ago
This book covers a vast array of subjects, people, experiences, events, and aspects of the human condition. I loved it.
JBreedlove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
All of Hemingways' stories in one collection. Including The Big Two-Hearted River and A Clean, Well Lighted Place.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book contains all of Hemingway's short stories. It convenient to have all of the masters short stories in one volume.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the Finca Vigia collection. I'm a huge Hemingway fan to begin with and was always looking for a complete set of his short stories to read. This book covers it. From his classic character Nick Adams stories to the Spanish civil war. Hemingway as well always has as part of his stories drinking/women or in a lot of his stories women always portrayed as evil/food/restaurants etc invloved and I like that. He has a way of drawing you into a story and this began for me from the For whom the bell Tolls and the Sun also rises. Bottom line- you will not be disapointed in this book/great stories from a legend in American writing. A side note- Finca Vigia was Hemingway's home in Cuba for some years and thus the title to the book. DNC.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this selection of short stories by the greatest of all writers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago