The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire Series #1)

The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire Series #1)

by Craig Johnson

Hardcover(Large Print)

$30.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
MARKETPLACE
11 New & Used Starting at $16.64

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Cold Dish 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 206 reviews.
Mr52pickup More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and often look for authors I have never read to see if I like how they write. Craig Johnson's The Cold Dish was a very good read. I enjoyed the bookd characters and really liked the main character Walt Longmire. The plot had a few twists and turns which I liked and the stories otther characters were all very interesting. This book is the first in a series and I went and bought the next three series books because I enjoyed this one so much. I also gave the book as a gift to my brother who told me he really liked the story. I know a lot of my friends who enjoy reading would like this book. If you like a good mystery with engaging characters and a good plot you will like this story by Craig Johnson.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book that I have read in the past 12 months. James Patterson and the other famous authors should be reading it, to remind them as to what a really great book can be, with three dimensional characters, incredible atmosphere, great intimacy with the location and the characters, and the importance of character development and interaction over contrived action in every chapter.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Here is a novel I think you will enjoy. It had been recommended to me, and I am happy I read it as I found his style of writing very likeable. I look forward to his next book which is to be released March 2006. Try it, you'll like it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and great author. Creative story. Reflects Wyoming well and any one from that state knows just what he is talking about when he writes. Keeps you engaged in the story. Has great sense of humor. Entertaining from start to finish.
TheReadingWriter More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this colorful and amusing cast of characters introduced by western mystery writer Craig Johnson. Set in Absaroka County, Montana the story centers on Sheriff Longmire, his foul-mouthed deputy Vic Moretti from Philadelphia, and Cheyenne friend Henry Standing Bear, among others. Very strong characterizations, with hints at depths that a long series can tease out. Listened to the Access Utah (public radio) interview with Johnson as he promoted his fourth book in the series and was fascinated to learn his background in playwriting helped him to craft dialogue that relies on action or 'voice' alone to distinguish speakers. Works particularly well here. Very auspicious beginning.
jaxthedog More than 1 year ago
The Cold Dish is the first in Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire series. Great read(s)! Set in contemporary Wyoming, the land is as important to the story as the characters, relationships, police procedures... ...and the murders. Plan on laughing, sighing, pulling for characters and crying as you read through this well-crafted series.
J_Scaggs More than 1 year ago
Craig Johnson's The Cold Dish is the first novel in his series set in Absaroka County, Wyoming, featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire. It's billed as a mystery, but crime fans would probably be happier to put it in the hard-boiled category. This is not to say that the novel does not feature a mystery - in fact, Johnson's plotting is sure-footed, the clues are cleverly and subtly included, and the final resolution is well handled. The even better news is that the novels in the series which follow this one (Death Without Company, Kindness Goes Unpunished, and Another Man's Moccasins) display an even surer handling of the mystery plot. However, the mystery elements almost take a back seat to Johnson's deft handling of his characters - Walt Longmire, a Cheyenne called Henry Standing Bear, and the rest of the Absaroka Sheriff's department. Walt, in particular, is the character who will keep you coming back to this series. He is a character cast in the hard-boiled mode, tough and vulnerable at the same time, but it is his voice, in dialogue as well in narration, that is the real heart of the novel. At turns humorous, insightful, and poignant, Walt's narrative voice never lets the pace of the novel falter, and his dialogue with his friend Henry Standing Bear is full of perfectly weighted humor.
If you're a fan of crime fiction, there's a lot to recommend this novel, and the series. Johnson builds on the connection between mystery fiction and the western established by writers like Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett, and gives it a twenty-first century twist. However, while the novels are set in the contemporary moment, there is a wonderful sense of history - both public and private - throughout the series. In The Cold Dish, it is this sense of history that lies behind the novel's revenge plot, as well as being revealed in bits and pieces in the backstories of the novel's central characters. This sense of history is crucial to mystery novels, as the past comes back to haunt the present, and Johnson develops it in order to add depth and feeling to his characters, whom he clearly loves.
The Cold Dish is well worth reading, both by itself and as part of a growing series. The characters, the Western motifs, the Wyoming setting, the careful plotting, and Johnson's fine prose all combine to create the sort of book that will keep you awake until the small hours, and will keep you coming back to the series as new titles are published.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought Cold Dish to read because the A&E TV series Longmire was being promoted. I like to read the books before seeing the movie or in this case the TV series. This is not normally the type of book I read but I got into it with ease and loved the characters and the setting. So much I also bought book 2 in the series Death Without Company and read that too.. I plan on reading the whole series. I like the books better than the TV show which deviates a lot from the plot line which is to be expected given they only have an hour a week. But I am hoping the TV series will introduce Dog and Sancho soon...
t-ryan More than 1 year ago
I have just finished the first series in the set, and it is a great story line, full of twists and turns, Longmire is a laid back sheriff in a wyoming town, We are from wyoming and we can relate with every part of the story, you can't put it downand you just have to find out whats around the next corner. Craig keep writing about Walt Longmire And I have already started on the next series #2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After watching the Longmire episodes on Netflix I thought I might like to try one of the books, so I started with the first. Here are a couple of observations: 1. I was three quarters of the way through the book before I started feeling compelled to keep reading it -- before that I was just basically using it to put myself to sleep at night. 2. The character Vic really has a potty mouth in the book, which was a surprise to me because in the TV episodes they manage to portray her as being tough and edgy without any bad language. Other than that, the book was reasonably clean. I probably will not buy any more of the books, but will continue to watch as episodes are added to Netflix.
pjpick More than 1 year ago
The first book of the Walt Longmire series (currently 5 books). My book club read this and we all gave it a thumbs up. It constantly kept me guessing to who the murderer was. What I really enjoyed most was the writer's dry sense of humor. I look forward to reading his other books as well and have bought this one as a gift for my dad. Other members in the group compared Johnson to Hillerman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the TV series but the book is so much better. Characters have more depth and the writing is intelligent and humorous and suspenseful.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
There’s a new sheriff in town, and his name is Longmire. Walt Longmire. Walt has a cast of characters that both complement and challenge him, with Henry Standing Bear and Victoria Moretti receiving prominent attention. Small town life never sounded so good or so mystical. The scenes are painted to perfection by a man who certainly knows and appreciates his craft, the scenery of Wyoming, and the complicated relationships between two people that slowly develop over time. And that’s the way this book reads. If you’re looking for a mad race to the finish, with red herrings, carefully placed clues, and subplots galore, you’ll probably want to skip over this read. But if you’re looking for a mystery that ages like a fine wine, and only gets better as you move at a slow, steady pace toward the end, with characters so real that you can feel their breath whispering against your ear, you’ll want to race to the bookstore and grab this mystery, if you haven’t already done so. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you start reading this series, you won't want to stop. Craig Johnson has created a group of characters that you will grow to care about more and more with each subsequent novel. A very well written mystery.
nana-et-al More than 1 year ago
This was my first Craig Johnson novel. It will not be my last. His writing grabs hold of you and doesn't let go until the last word is read. His characters are great. They're very human and each have their own set of quirks. I love quirky characters. I wasn't sure until right at the end who the guilty party was. I cant't wait to begin Death Without Company, the second book in the series. By the way the new TV series on A&E based on these novels and called Longmire is very good. Although I wouldn't have picked Lou Diamond Phillips to play Henry Standing Bear. But I'm sure I'll get used to him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story and the characters he created. I live in Colorado and I think he captures the feeling of the "west" very well. The characters are rich, but sometimes a little hard to accept. I have read the second book in the series and liked it too. I will definitely keep reading this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Author knows the territory he writes about. Makes the story easy to read. Characters are like old friends. Definitely recommend.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Held my attention throughout.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+love+reading+about+Sherriff+Longmire+and+Henry+Standing+Bear.+
cathyskye on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Protagonist: Sheriff Walt LongmireSetting: present-day Absaroka County, WyomingSeries: #1First Line: "Bob Barnes says they got a dead body out on BLM land."Walt Longmire, the veteran sheriff of Absaroka County, Wyoming, usually has little to do on his patrols. When Cody Pritchard is found shot to death near the Cheyenne reservation, everyone, including Deputy Victoria Moretti, a transplanted Philadelphian, believes he died in an accident. But two years earlier, Cody was one of four high schoolers convicted of raping a young Native American girl. All were given suspended sentences, and when another of the four turns up dead, it appears that someone is out for revenge.Thank you to all those friends who recommended this book--I loved it! It was the perfect blend of setting, humor, seriousness, and characterization. I only have two small bones to pick with it. One, I think the writing could've used a bit of tightening to up the suspense, and two--I twigged to the Bad Guy too early due to a strong reaction that person had to something. It's going to be very difficult to keep myself from buying the rest of the books in this series--it's a winner!
LiteraryFeline on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love a good mystery. I remember the first time I read a Sue Grafton novel; I knew there was no going back. Kinsey Milhone had an edge about her and there was a grittiness and realism to the novels that instantly pulled me in. They were funny in on offbeat sort of way, just the kind of humor I like. Michael Connelly¿s novels also come to mind. I had the same experience reading Craig Johnson¿s The Cold Dish. That isn¿t to say the series are alike¿if you don¿t like one, don¿t count out the others until you have given one or the other a try. Walt Longmire is the sheriff of Absaroka County in Wyoming, a relatively quiet and mostly rural community with only an occasional disturbance. Not many people mourn when the body of Cody Pritchard is discovered. He, along with three of his friends, had been convicted of brutally assaulting a young Native American girl, Melissa Little Bird years before. The boys were let off with suspended sentences at the time, something that did not sit well with quite a few people. Could Cody¿s death have been a hunting accident or was it murder, perhaps an act of revenge or something else altogether?Walt is joined by a cast of supporting characters that stand out on their own. Among them is Walt¿s best friend, Henry Standing Bear, who is determined to get Walt back in shape and moving on with his life, realizing his friend has fallen into a rut. Walt¿s foul-mouthed but extremely competent deputy, Victoria Moratti is a good match for the sheriff. The former sheriff, Lucian, despite his penchant for throwing political correctness out the window, was among my favorites as was the mother-like Ruby, the dispatcher/secretary at the sheriff¿s office. She said what was on her mind and let Walt have it when he deserved it most. As for Sheriff Walt Longmire himself, he has seen a lot in his lifetime, having served in the military during the Vietnam War and more recently losing his wife to cancer. There¿s a strength about him as well as a generosity of spirit. He seems like the kind of man I would want to have as sheriff in my own town as well as a friend.Craig Johnson paints a breathtaking picture of Wyoming with the harsh wintry weather, the beautiful mountains and lakes as well as the ranch and reservation lands that are stretched out over the county where the novel is set. He shows the diversity of the land as well as of the people. He also touches upon the past and current tensions between the Native Americans and the white folk, weaving it throughout the book. It is a rare treat when I can read straight through a mystery and not figure out the end before the protagonist does. Craig Johnson succeeds in doing just that though. The Cold Dish had me both chuckling now and then and, near the end, shedding a tear or two. I am looking forward to spending more time with Sheriff Longmire in the near future.
mysterymax on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First book in the series and Craig Johnson has moved right up next to Lee Child in my 'favorites' list. Excellent prose, good strong characters, humour. I hope all the rest are just as good.
SandyLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Walt Longmire is the sheriff in Wyoming¿s Absaroka County, an area that appears to have more horses and pigs than people. When a body is found in the mountains, Walt realizes the deceased was one of the young men who had assaulted a Cheyenne girl two years earlier. It is possible someone is seeking retribution for the crime. Walt relies on his friend, Henry Standing Bear, in addition to a couple deputies, the retired sheriff, and Ruby his dispatcher. Deputy Victoria Moretti is over-qualified for the job and Walt is waiting for the FBI or some big city to lure her away. Vic has the ballistics training and investigative skill Absaroka County sorely needs and Walt would like to groom her to take his job. He is recovering from the loss of his wife several years ago and still lives in their house, a cabin in desperate need of completion. More bodies pile up and by the looks of the antique weapon used, Walt starts to look at even more suspects, one of which could be his friend, Henry. Vic is one of the more interesting characters, possessing the skill and ¿take no prisoners¿ attitude of Carol O¿Connell¿s Kathy Mallory yet with the foul mouth of Dexter¿s sister, Debra Morgan. Humor and mystery abound making for a refreshing change from mysteries set in big city precincts. This is one series I will continue to follow.
thehistorychic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Read for BookclubOverall Rating: 4.25Story Rating: 4.50Character Rating: 4.00Audio Rating (not part of overall rating): 3.50First thought when finished: What a great beginning to this series. I am so glad that I picked it up!What I Loved: Walt and Harry (his best friend) were two characters that I absolutely fell in love with while reading The Cold Dish. Vic was a close third in my favorite character category. It isn't often in a mystery that I love and connect to the characters as much as the case. I did love the case and I didn't guess who the perp was until almost 3/4 of the way through. Even then it was just a guess but it was fun figuring it out right along with Walt!What I Liked: I liked how the main case was woven with a past case. I really liked the visiting of the Res and all of characters based there. Final thought: The Cold Dish served up both a great case and a wonderful cast of characters. I will be continuing this series.Audio specific review: George Guidall is a fantastic narrator but it took awhile for me to warm up to him being Walt Longmire. After I got used to him doing the voice it was fantastic. The pacing of the reading was perfect and added to the enjoyment of the story.
Stevejm51 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"The Cold Dish" is a character-driven novel with a wonderful sense of place -- the lonely plains and mountains of Wyoming. The mystery takes a back seat to a laconic sheriff and his Indian buddy. Who cares about the mystery. All I wanted to do was sit back listen to these guys talk to each other. Great stuff.