Clause & Effect

Clause & Effect

by Kaitlyn Dunnett

Hardcover

$23.40 $26.00 Save 10% Current price is $23.4, Original price is $26. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Clause & Effect 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Kept me guessing until the end. I thought I'd figured out who did it, but then she'd throw in a curve ball. Can't wait for the next book in the series to be published - I've already preordered!
KrisAnderson_TAR 9 months ago
Clause & Effect is the second installment in A Deadly Edits Mystery series. It can be read as a standalone if you have not had time to read Crime & Punctuation. I like that Mikki Lincoln is a mature main character (70 years old). She is a retired English teacher who now lives in the home where she grew up with her cat, Calpurnia. I think the name of her proofreading and editing business is clever (The Write Right Wright). We learn a little more about her friend, Darlene Uberman and her frenemy, Ronnie North. Personally, I could do without Ronnie. She is an abrasive character (the traditional mean girl) who quickly got on my nerves. The endless sniping reminded me of high school girls instead of mature women. Mikki’s cousin, Luke shows up and we learn more about Mikki’s family tree. I enjoyed Mikki’s reminiscing about her childhood as it lets us get to know Mikki better. The two mysteries tied together nicely which provided multiple suspects and a red herring or two. There are clues to help the reader identify the evil doer before Mikki. Mikki’s questioning technique leaves a lot to be desired (blunt). She comes across as a busybody instead of amateur sleuth. Detective John Hazlett tells her multiple times to stop investigating, but he does appreciate the intel Mikki shares with him. Readers also learn more about the village and how it has changed over the last twenty-five years. I admit it is confusing that there is a town and a village with the same name. I did feel that the story lacked humor and the pacing was lethargic (action was sorely needed). The literary and grammar references that were sprinkled throughout Crime & Punctuation were missing in Clause & Effect. There are some language and grammar tips from Mikki at the end. Clause & Effect has a town celebration, two dead bodies, a crumbled fireplace, feuding sisters, a cat named Calpurnia, and one prying proofreader.
MCM917 10 months ago
This is the 2nd book in the Deadly Edits mystery series. Mikki Lincoln is a free-lance editor and the village of Lenape Hollow where she lives. Mikki recently moved back to the town where she grew up in. She is working on editing the script of the village founding from the bicentennial, unfortunately the historical society building is being updated as well and a body is found in the fireplace walls. Now the editor is working on solving a cold case. Mikki was not in town when this murder happened but as she begins asking questions and stirring up trouble another murder occurs. This is a good solid cozy with an older sleuth (in her 60's) and was paced well. Recommend this series.
neptune75 11 months ago
Mikki Lincoln gets dragged into helping with a pageant play with the historical society. Turns out that she has to do a lot of work on the play to get it ready. While at the historical society, there is a body found in the wall. Mikki is intrigued enough to get involved in figuring out who the body is and what happened to them. She becomes involved in tracking down events that happened 25 years ago and wading through old memories in her small hometown in upstate New York. I like how the heroine is an older lady which lets us remember that people are still smart and capable even when they get older. I thought the ancestry tidbits were interesting and amazing to think of having family in the same place for so many years. It made me a bit nostalgic.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Mikki Lincoln finds herself reluctantly tasked with editing and basically rewriting the script for the play the was performed 25 years ago at the town’s bicentennial celebration so it can be performed for the Quasquicentennial this year. The problem is the old script is kept at the historical society and can’t be checked out. Mikki is forced to work in the archives room while construction on the building continues so it can be completed before the celebration. While the contractor is working on the renovation one of the walls crumbles on top of him revealing an old fireplace. He has minor injuries but another body is found in the rubble. One that was murdered and closed up in the wall presumably during the last renovation before the bicentennial. Mikki can’t get the body out of her mind and finds herself spending more time trying to solve the cold case that her regular editing work or the Lenape Hollow founder’s day script. When a new murder is added to the mix, Mikki finds herself editing her time to do it all. She may be asking her last question, writing her last paragraph, final sentence, period, end of story, if she finds herself in the killer’s sights. I love that Mikki Lincoln is an older lead character, retired teacher, set in her ways, working so that she can live in the house she grew up in. She wears hearing aids that come in handy for some stealth eavesdropping. Mikki is smart, a great multitasker, with keen insight. All qualities that make her a great amateur sleuth. We also continue to meet the residents of Lenape Hollow. Ms. Dunnett does a wonderful job fleshing out her characters and connecting them to Mikki is a believable way. I enjoyed that a cold case connects to a new one. It allows readers to not only follow the clues but get to know about the village’s past. Much has changed in 25 years but many things remain the same. The mystery unfolds in a very intriguing and interesting way. There were plenty of twists and a wonderful moment when the last clue falls into place. I was so surprised when I realized where the story was leading. It is so much fun when that happens. The subplots tangled within the mystery were great too. I was really drawn by the character researching their family history. They have a big secret and they learn something they wouldn’t have found out if they hadn’t made the trip to Lenape Hollow. Another strong story for this series. Well-written, relatable characters, set in a place with a long history. An entertaining read! I hope to visit Mikki and her friends again soon.
Mary_Russell More than 1 year ago
I will admit, I definitely read this book based on the cover. I did not read the first book in this series but this one does work as a stand -alone. It's a traditional cozy mystery, rather slower paced up until the last few chapters. Mikki, having been suckered into doing some volunteer editing of the script for the town's historical pageant is at the historical society building when a body is uncovered during renovations. Mikki while digging through the town's past for the script also starts to dig through the victim's past causing some old wounds of towns people to be reopened.
chefdt More than 1 year ago
Clause And Effects is the second book in the Deadly Edits Mystery series. I’m really enjoying visiting with residents of Lenape Hollow and especially Mikki Lincoln. Most all seem to be salt of the earth folks who watch out for each other. Mikki Lincoln, a 60-something retired English teacher has returned to her hometown and has bought the home she grew up in. The house needs updating and she decided to start a freelance book editing business to supplement her retirement income. The community wants to celebrate the 225th anniversary of its founding. Her best friend Darlene Uberman her high school nemesis, Ronnie North are able to convince her to rewrite the play that was used for the 200th celebration. The historical society won’t let her take the original play from the building and is provided some space on the second floor of the building as there are renovations going on the first floor. As Mikki is reading the original script, she hears a loud crash goes to see what has happened and finds that a wall that was built 25 years ago has come down. Once the dust settles, Charlie Katz the contractor working on the project discovers a body wrapped in plastic in the fireplace. Mikki doesn’t really have the time to learn who the body might be, but she can’t try and learn whose body was found. Hopefully, the identity of the body will soon be learned and the killer will be determined if the killer is still around. The story is well told and plotted proceeds at a good pace. This book has a cast of interesting and believable characters. Many of the characters from the first book are back once again. A new character is introduced in this book. The new character is Luke and he is a cousin of Mikki who she didn’t know anything about and is able to share some family history that Mikki was aware of. Hopefully, he will be back in future books so that we can learn more about him. I will be definitely watching for the next book in this series.
TheCozyReview More than 1 year ago
Series: Deadly Edits - Book 2 Author: Kaitlyn Dunnett Publisher: Kensington Books Clause & Effect by Kaitlyn Dunnett is the second book in the cozy book series “Deadly Edits, published by Kensington Books. This is fast becoming a favorite series. Only two books into this cozy book series and fans are already making it a must read. This book is articulate, edited well, and plot driven with great characters and beautiful settings. Mikki is what women of a certain age aspire to become. She is independent, hardworking, and enjoys spending time with her friends. She gets involved with community situations that aren’t always to her plan, but she does them never-the-less and does them better than anyone else could. She is smart, funny, and energetic. Other characters are equal to Mikki is strength and determination, even when they don’t like what is going on, they give it their all. They are loving and supportive of each other, while still retaining some of their high school rivalries and grudges. All-in-all they are wonderfully exciting and fun. Finding a body is not Mikki’s idea of fun, but she seems to attract them out of the woodwork, literally. A body that has been walled up for twenty-five years isn’t a pretty sight. It doesn’t take Mikki long to find out who the victim was but figuring out who the killer is tests her investigative abilities. When she finally figures it out, she almost becomes the next victim and has to play keep away with the killer. Thankfully, Mikki wins the game, banged up and bruised but intact. I genuinely love this cozy book series and Mikki. In Clause & Effect, just like in the last book keeps you guessing, has lots of action, and ends up making the reader happy with the outcome. Questions are posed, and answered, victims are abundant, and the killer comes off as a nice person, but in the end, is ruthless and single-minded. I am thrilled to have read this book and look forward to the next. A cozy book series that will entertain and make readers smile is always welcome on my bookshelves.
BobbieLCLA More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of CLAUSE & EFFECT (Deadly Edits Book 2) by Kaitlyn Dunnett in exchange for an honest review. Since the events of CRIME AND PUNCTUATION, Mikki Lincoln has continued to work as a freelance book editor to fund both her retirement and the repairs her childhood home. When the ladies of the historical society guilt Mikki into revising a play describing the town’s history in anticipation of Lenape Hollow’s 225th anniversary, Mikki finds herself in more trouble than just correcting factual inaccuracies, outdated style, and bad grammar. Mikki becomes embroiled in solving a historic murder where the victim disappeared without notice or comment by the community and where the killer still roams free. As Mikki zeroes in on the murderer, other townsfolk fall victim to the murderer. Can Mikki identify the killer before she becomes history, too? I enjoyed this story. I have been looking forward to this sequel since I read the first of the Deadly Edits book. I recommend this book and this series to fans of Kaitlyn Dunnett, senior citizen sleuths, and smalltown cozy mysteries involving writing, editing, plays, and history. #ClauseEffect #NetGalley
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
Mikki Lincoln bought her childhood home to spend her golden years where she started out. Little did she know she would be coerced into rewriting the town’s bicentennial play to accommodate their 225th anniversary. As Mikki is working at the local historical society during some construction, she is witness to a body being found as some repairs are being made. While the murder occurred while Mikki was gone from Lenape Hollow, she knows many of the main suspects and helps to identify the victim. Unfortunately, Mikki is curious and begins asking lots of questions and has quite a few potential suspects in her list. Eventually she gets too close and risks her own life when the killer strikes again 25 years later and Mikki is still asking questions. The second book in the series, though the first I have read, works well as a standalone, though you will definitely want to read the first book too. An enjoyable cozy with a sexagenarian main character that you can totally relate to, especially if you’re a grammarphile like Mikki and me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your looking for a good cozy mystery you have found one. I love that Mikki the main character is in her late 60’s building a new life in the town she grew up in. When it’s time to celebrate the 225th anniversary and brush of the bicentennial pageant script Mikki finds more then she bargained for. A great mystery and I only figured out who-done-it just before Mikki did. I definitely recommend this book! I was provided with an advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest review.
AMGiacomasso More than 1 year ago
I liked the first book in this series and I liked this one. I appreciated the well written and likable cast of characters, the plot and the setting. The mystery was good and it kept me guessing. I look forward to reading the next installment in this series. Recommended! Many thanks to Kensington Books and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.