Chosen to Die (Montana 'To Die' Series #2)

Chosen to Die (Montana 'To Die' Series #2)

by Lisa Jackson

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chosen to Die 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 221 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First of all....I LOVED the book and it will, as have all Lisa Jackson's books, be kept on my book shelf. I DO have a question, however. In "Left to Die" at the end of the book, Jillian's attacker, who was originally thought to be the Star Crossed killer, was killed in a fight with Jillian in the hotel room but in the sequel she is mentioned a number of times as "being in custody" or "being questioned". I thought maybe I misread the first book so I went back and read it again and there is no question Falda was dead as on page 492 the author says "From the glassy stare of Falda's eyes, she knew it was over" and on page 494 Falda's husband says "I'm dying. Falda's gone. She won't hurt you ever again". Am I losing my mind? Did anyone else notice this? Also, Elyssa's car is found, and the police talk to her parents, but several chapters later the neither of the cars of the two missing women has been found and the police postpone talking to their parents. And again, Regan's kid is on the ridge watching the tow truck pull his mother's car out of the ravine. Several paragraphs later he spots a tow truck. Minor details, especially considering what a riveting book it was, but things like this bug me. I also felt Padgett's story was left hanging but perhaps she will reappear in a future book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters of Regan and Santana are sexy without being overly romantic and smarmy. The plot will keep you guessing until the author is ready to reveal the truth. The serial killer plot has never been done like this. The cover imagery will haunt you even after you've finished. This book is a great choice for escaping to the sofa on a cold rainy winter day. Alvarez loneliness was touching and simple without becoming a distraction from the focus of the story. The author enhances the plot by allowing the reader into the head of the killer to hear his diabolical thoughts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This the second book in the series. After reading the first book, I found you don't know who the killer is until you read the second book. Her books are a little like John Grishams. Good read.
var More than 1 year ago
Smooth continuation. Good development of characters. Hope the Montana series continues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read @ 100 pages from the end was non stop fighting for her life couldnt put it doen up until 3 am to finish..... You wong regret anything grom this auther
Lucidreader More than 1 year ago
This was the continuation of Lisa Jackson's LEFT TO DIE. Read that first to get the whole picture of this entertaining thriller. In this novel, the heroin and lead detective gets caught up with the serial killer. It's a fast read to find out how it all works out. Very exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story really heald my interest trying to figure out who the killer was I plan to read more books
junebug56 More than 1 year ago
Awesome book, quick read, couldnt put down, cant wait to read the 3rd book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book hard to put down
Sooner1 More than 1 year ago
I got the entire To Die series and Lisa Jackson sure does know how to write a very good book. I would highly recommend these books.
debfor More than 1 year ago
keeped me on the "edge" loved it
Binker More than 1 year ago
This book takes up where Left to Die leaves off. Real page turners. Enjoy!
scarl More than 1 year ago
This is a sequel to the nail-biting thriller, Left to Die. I found it every bit as exciting as its' predecessor. I think Lisa Jackson is an amazing author who always delivers a fascinating read. It was well-constructed, with realistic characters who drew you into the story. I sometimes forgot I wasn't living in the wilderness with them. I would definitely recommend it.
DBGEMS More than 1 year ago
These were the first two of Lisa Jackson's novels I have read but I will be buying more based on Left to Die and Chosen To Die.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Great writing, kept the reader in the midst of the action. Wonderful detail of characters. Realistic expectations of the outcomes. Sad but realistic. Ready for number three. SGS Bowie, MD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh+my+gosh%2C++what+a+plot.++Will+keep+you+on+the+edge+of+your++seat+the+whole+way+thru.++Heart+stopping+in+places%2C+suspenseful++all+the+way+through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it
DarlenesBookNook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the sequel to Left to Die, which I read in November. That was the first book in a series that features a pair of female detectives named Det. Selena Alvarez and Det. Regan Pescoli.The story takes place in Montana¿s Bitterroot Mountains, where a serial killer stages car accidents for his victims who are driving down secluded mountain roads. He then ¿rescues¿ them, nurses them back to health, only to then tie them to trees in the wilderness leaving them to die, hence the name of the first book, Left to Die.The sequel, Chosen to Die, picks up right where the first book leaves off. Det. Pescoli has been captured by the psychopath, and she must find a way to escape before she meets the same fate as the other victims.The narrator, Alan Nebelthau, is terribly boring to listen to but the plot of the story hooked me.The third book in the series is due to be released in August 2011, and I am looking forward to reading it!MY RATING: 4 stars!
caroren on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just OK - a serial killer captures Det. Regan Pescoli, the smart, strong-willed star of 2008's Left to Die. The Star-Crossed Killer, plague of Montana's Bitterroot Mountains, kidnaps injured women, tends them until they are healthy again, then photographs them and leaves them to die of exposure. With time, it becomes clear that he is spelling out an obscure message with the women's initials. After a slow first third, the book settles down somewhat and focuses on Pescoli's efforts to escape her captor's maze-like lair and survive the deadly cold outside, with glimpses of her partner, Det. Selena Alvarez, attempting to track her down. Jackson spends too much time outlining the complicated plot and too little exploring the mind of the generic B-movie antagonist or the smarts and strengths of her heroines. (Aug.)
lizamichelle1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found this book very entertaining. I read 1/2 the book in one night! Lots of characters yet I didn't feel that any were insignificant. I actually love the character of her "boyfriend", Nate Santana. I would love for him to have his own story. (I do not believe I have read book 1). I did lose track of the timing within the book, so I am not sure how long the detective was held captive, but it seems as the tables turned quickly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was really good. I didn't realize it was a series but now I'm looking into reading the other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book left to die was better. It was longer chapters but shorter pages. You had to read left to die and chosen to die to find out who the killer was. But it was worth the wait.only thing is it didn't tell u who Padgett son was. That was a bummer. Maybe in another book. There are 4 more books to this series and I'm gonna read them all. Left to die was the first book that I had read of Lisa jackson and I must say I like her as an author. Her books are fast reads and page turners. They keep you on the edge of your seat. On to her next book born to die.... way to go lisa. Keep them coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was such a great read! I kept trying to guess who the bad guy was and never did! I could not read this book fast enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great page turner