Chains (Seeds of America Trilogy Series #1)

Chains (Seeds of America Trilogy Series #1)

by Laurie Halse Anderson

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.76 $8.99 Save 14% Current price is $7.76, Original price is $8.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chains 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 350 reviews.
Syd_heart More than 1 year ago
This book is phenominal. I love historical fiction, especially about the Revolutionary War, slaves, and colonial times. This book is recommended for EVERYONE. Even if you hate to read, you'll love this book. And that is saying something. I don't care if you don't like it; the majority of people do. Buy this book. It's worth EVERY penny. Read it 1 billion times. You'll never put it down. Share it with friends. They won't get enough. This is 1 of the BEST books I've ever read, no doubt. <3~ Syd_heart<3 :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story starts when the revolutionary war begins. It is a story about two slave girls, Isabel and Ruth, and their fight for freedom. The main character of the story is the oldest of the two girls, Isabel, and the story is seen through her eyes. It depicts all the struggles and hardships they go through and yet they still remain optimistic and hopeful that one day they will be free. This is a book that I could hardly put down. I became engrossed in her story and I learned some History from it. There is a sequal to the book that the author is working on called "Forge" that I anticipate will be just as good and it will continue Isabel and Ruth's quests for freedom.
Balina More than 1 year ago
That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As you read you will care deeply about isabel this is a really great book if u liked this you will like the next book forge!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! I am very picky about books, but this surpasses all of my expectations. This book is not as slow as many other historical fiction titles and is very entertaining. I had to read and annotate this novel for my Honors English class, but is OK for a fourth grader to read. This book is overflowing with rich literary devices and the history is quite accurate. This story follows a slave girl and shows how she grows due to tragic experiences such as war, losing parents, and being beaten by a wicked owner. All in all, this book deserves five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super interesting! Didn't think I'd like it... but i can't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I give this book and over all 10/10 100/100 5/5 if i have to this is a good book and its really sad in the beginning so yea it should even be a movie for b.e.t. thats how good it is
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book almost two years ago and still love it! It came to my mind quite recently when I was reading a similair book. I've read the sequel, Forge, which is also quite good and am excited for the third to come out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an empowering story is about a slave girl and her struggles. Isabel and her sister are sold to a very mean master nd mistress to work for them. This story tells about Isabel and her struggles with her friend Curzon and their escape to freedom. Make sure to read the sequel to Chains, Forge. I rate this book four out of five stars for the excellent story line and the empowering message of to always follow your dreams. Enjoy it!!! ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I have ever read. I just couldn't stop reading it. I was sad when it ended but I can't wait to get Forge the next book in the series. I would recommend it to anyone 10 or up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We are reading this in my class AMAZING GET IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IM STILL SO EXCITED FOR THE THIRD BOOK TO COME OUT! XDDD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book about a year ago and loved it! I couldnt wait till the next one came out but then i got really busy. Iam glad I found it on here, cant wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! This book could sure make u cry.
Dixie401 More than 1 year ago
If you love reading, but find it hard to fathom historical figures and events, then this book is a wise alternative. Through Isabel Finch&rsquo;s point of view, you will go back in time and experience a young lady&rsquo;s fight for freedom. Take this journey with Isabel, as she courageously battles belittling owners, cravenly militia, and decides who she can trust along the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story did not just teach American History, it gave deep insight into what could have been the psyche of people during the early melding of America. The juxtaposition of human cruelty and compassion between the fight of freedom and bondage gave way to the triumph of good over evil and to the liberty desired for the human experience to govern ones own existence. The weaving of history into fiction novels is the way to go in teaching history to young students, it takes the bore out of required history text books, adding the human dimension of fictional and historical characters. This book and others like it should be required reading for all middle schoolers. Americans in general and young students in particular are woefully ignorant of the full snap shot of the early American experience and the people that were held bondage, that contributed to the building of the nation we have today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is prety interesting. It is about a little girl who was a person who talked to ghosts. Her and her sister Ruth,went to Madams house because her mom died and her master slod her so he can get money cause he is vain and shelfes. So she went al the way there for being simple slave with her sister Ruth. So Madam gave them chors and things to do and every time they do it she yells at them for anthor chor. Son Madam made Ruth her personal slave right by her side. Then she snuk out of the house at night t this little boys house and he said if you go and grib tje secret metting papers than Coronal Ragoin well help her and take her home. Also she is like a mother to Ruth. She taks care of her like a mom. Than Madam almost got arrested but instead, she sent her husband instead of her. So the next night she goes to Cornal Ragan but he wouldnt do anything. So she cried home. Then he went to say im sorry but she just yeled at her. So madam sold Ruth because of that. Right after tht she made them burn an I on her face cause she ran away. And so that everyone knew that she had vad behavior. And that is all that i read about chains,i hope you read it. It is a good book.
MJSFX More than 1 year ago
this book has an awful story line it is so boring and I don't like it. goodnight everybody im out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome! Thid has anazing historicsl context and perfect characters! Its a must read!! : )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing awesome and intresting book!!!! Luv it!!! :)
DramaQueen1218 More than 1 year ago
It was very interesting and it makes you want to read more. Parts in this book almost made me cry but it was  Inspirational and I loved it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book. I love how this book is incorperated to the revolutinary war, and the time period of the slaves. This book also descibes a lucky slave, because not alot of slaves have owners who care for them, and will give them their freedom once they passed away. So overall it incorperates all of the aspects of a good slave owner and a bad slave owner, and during all of this, the revolutinary was being fought.
ValeFreshmen More than 1 year ago
I thought this book taught me many lessons that I couldn't believe how poorly the slaves were treated way back then. I am very picky about my novels but this one is a must read for sure I think that this book has many aspects about it that make it an overall goo book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazingly heart warming story that will pull you into it from th second you pick it up i hope you love it as much as i do:)a must buy for all:) this should be at the top of your must have list