Cat in a Quicksilver Caper (Midnight Louie Series #18)

Cat in a Quicksilver Caper (Midnight Louie Series #18)

by Carole Nelson Douglas

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cat in a Quicksilver Caper (Midnight Louie Series #18) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Darla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the 18th book in the Midnight Louie series. I'm not sure how I got behind on it--I absolutely love these books. But the good news is, now I'm not having to wait so long between books--I read the previous book just a couple of months ago.The mystery in this one really raises the emotional stakes. Magician Max, in his undercover work to infiltrate the Synth, has to steal a jeweled scepter on display in an exhibition for which Temple has been hired to do PR. Also, a dead body is found hanging at the site, and Max is the prime suspect, leading police Lt. Molina to renege on her promise to Temple to stop investigating Max.Ex-priest Matt, meanwhile, sensing the rift between Max and Temple, gets serious about pursuing her, and just to keep things from being too easy, Temple's romance novelist aunt Kit moves in with her for a while... and, boggling Temple's mind, begins dating the oldest Fontana brother.This series is one very long story, one I'm pretty sure will be wrapped up tidily by the time we get to Z, unlike some other series I won't mention.The emotions in Cat in a Quicksilver Caper are even more intense than usual--or maybe they're just more of a focus here. Max is being torn horribly between his duty and his love for Temple. He feels very strongly the importance of his work, and fears, not unreasonably, that he may lose her before it's finished. Matt's dilemma is different, but no less intense. Since he left the priesthood but not the church, it's an important issue with him to do what's right. He has some insightful conversations on the subject; as does Temple, who also consults a religious professional for advice on dealing with him.The mystery also tugs at the emotions, particularly the second death, which Max tries, but is unable to prevent. So add some extra guilt in there as well.And of course, there's Midnight Louie, working with his daughter Midnight Louise, the Cloaked Conjuror's big cats, and Shangri-La's sinister Siamese Hyacinth, who has a friendly body double.And oh, yeah. Molina has a stalker, and she thinks it's Max.I wish I'd brought the entire series with me--I'm really feeling the urge to re-read it all. I can't decide whether to read Cat in a Red Hot Rage right away, or to wait until closer to Cat in a Sapphire Slipper's release date. In the meanwhile, I also have another couple of Douglas's Irene Adler books to read, as well as the first book of her new series. One thing that's had Carole Nelson Douglas on my must-buy list for almost 10 years is that she writes in such different styles, but they're all wonderful.
ardiejoy More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Te
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome but as always I cannot wait for the next one! Midnight Louie, Las Vegas glitz and mysterious happenings make for great entertainment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Midnight Louie is usualy looking out for his roommate and Little Doll, Temple Barr. But, this time he is taking care of Temple's new love, Matt Devine. Matt has gotten into a sticky mess by no fault of his own, at Aldo's bachelor's party. Pick it up today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Midnight Louie is the best!
HappyFamily More than 1 year ago
An exciting cliffhanger...I can't wait to read the next book. Louie is always good for a laugh. Great for a fun summer read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a cat lover, I found this book to be very cute with cat characters and with a touch of suspense and mystery. Light reading. Well done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the latest chapter in the author's ambitious Midnight Louie uber-novel, which began with 'Catnap'. Public-relations specialist and amateur detective Temple Barr continues to navigate the minefield of her emotional life (and occasionally stepping on a mine!) while investigating mysteries that threaten her loved ones or her PR clients. In this edition Temple tangles with members of the Russian mob while absent beau Max pursues a mysterious cabal of possibly-deadly magicians. The series continues to absorb my attention with the characters' various entanglements and their all-too human emotional crack-ups enriching the story.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Midnight Louie wants his human pet Vegas public relations specialist Temple Barr¿s two lovers, former magician turned something Max Kinsella and former priest turned radio host Matt Devine, to limit their stay in his home especially his bed. It is bad enough she has two duds and one stud in her life, Louie wonders how a flaming fireball redhead became a bleached blonde though he appreciate that Temple has stayed out of trouble enabling Louie to investigate female felines. --- However, Louie should have known better as trouble is defined as Temple. She prepares the publicity for the White Russian Czarist art exhibition at the New Millennium Hotel however, nothing goes smooth as the pre-show publicity is not about the art, but instead a puzzling death. The publicity fails to improve when a deadly accident occurs during the opening. Besides the deaths that look suspicious to Louie, someone steals the prime exhibit item, the priceless Czar Alexander¿s scepter. Louie searches for the scepter and a killer as he believes the accident was a homicide while Matt proposes to Temple and LVPD Detective Carmen Molina claims Max is stalking her. All is normal even with evil Synth magicians plotting a nefarious sleight of the paw ¿ it is Louie¿s memoirs. --- Though he has gone through his second set of nine lives, Midnight Louie¿s latest cat-escapades are brisk fun as his companion lands them in several capers including bedroom visitors. The story line is fast-paced as Temple learns that blondes have more fun might be misleading with murder, theft, and the Synth to deal with. Fans of the series will appreciate Louie¿s usual on target asides re the foibles of humans and his efforts to keep Temple safe. CAT IN A QUICKSILVER CAPER is a purrfect Midnight Louie feline sleuth extraordinaire. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Test.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rp five!)) Hi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My kits! *she found her strength and tackled him out of the way. She grabbed the kits and ran to the last result.