Carry On (Simon Snow Series #1)

Carry On (Simon Snow Series #1)

by Rainbow Rowell

Paperback

$6.71 $10.99 Save 39% Current price is $6.71, Original price is $10.99. You Save 39%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Carry On 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having read Rowell's 'Fangirl' I expect this to be an amazing read. Rowell never ceases to amaze me and I cannot wait to dive into her latest adventure. I highly recommend reading 'Fangirl' before 'Carry On' to kind of get a sense of who Simon and Baz are, if not to just enjoy the read. Another of Rowell's I recommend is 'Eleanor and Park'.
unfulfilled More than 1 year ago
I read Fangirl, but I don't recommend reading it before Carry On. Just my personal opinion; maybe it's because I value spontaneity. You can sense a lot of intentional allusions to preexisting novels in this story, but weirdly, it's what makes it so good. I would have appreciated a little more context on the Magickal world in general...I thought, really, that it would all unfurl in the last few chapters at the very least. And although I do get the gist of the backstory behind the conflicts in this novel, I feel as if there could be more. A sequel, perhaps? I mean, there has to be a reason for Harry Potter being spaced out in seven novels. A story like this cannot be appreciated in its entirety in a single novel. And I just really, really want to see Simon and Baz again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im so glad she wrote this book. I loved hearing about Baz and simon in fan girl. I dreaded when It got to the end, I didn't want it to stop! I Felt like the ending came too quickly though and sometimes I got confused about the bit about the Humdrum. But overall I recommend this to everyone. I'm sure you will fall in love with Simon and Baz just like I did. (And ps there are a lot of point of views. Didn't really like that either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always remember chapter 61, AKA the chapter that killed all the SnowBaz shippers. Overall an awesome book, it's like a fanfiction in itself and I love the gay. Love. It.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it so much. I wish it was an actual series
buttermybooks More than 1 year ago
OH MY GOD. I am absolutely totally and completely in love with this book. I normally love everything that Rainbow writes but THIS ONE MIGHT HAVE TOPPED THEM ALL. I received this book on release day but wasn’t in the right head space to start it then because I had too much going on to give it my full attention. After coming home from YALLfest, I knew I would finally be able to dedicate some time to it. I started the book and within 4 hours I had read 350 pages. I absolutely FLEW through this book. The world that rainbow built was super cutesy for a magickal world. The way that spells derive from nursery rhymes or pop culture songs was so unique but so completely obvious that I was shocked that I had never thought this up myself! I would like to admit that I mostly skimmed over the SnowBaz parts of Fangirl because I mostly felt like they were distracting me from LEVI AND CATH. That means I went into this book pretty blind to the relationship between Simon and Basil. It is a different book than what was originally printed in Fangirl so I dont see that it hindered my enjoyment in anyway. This is by far the longest Rainbow Rowell book but that doesn’t mean that I was happy when it ended. I swear I would have read 2,000 pages of Simon and Baz and Penny living in a flat and adapting to life after Watford. Can someone start writing fic for this? PLEASE? I mean seriously, this is a standalone? RAINBOW, COME ON. WE NEED MORE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
I don't read a lot of fantasy, other than Harry Potter. Maybe because I love Harry Potter so much. It's kind of hard to top J.K. Rowling. And other books that are too similar seem to be trying to hard. But the great thing about Carry On is that it's kind of supposed to be Harry Potter fan fiction in a way because of it's origins in Fangirl. And that made the similarities OK. And there are a lot of similarities. Simon Snow is prophesied as The Chosen One, he goes to a boarding school to learn magic, he has a brainiac best girl friend, he has a sworn enemy, there is an evil character he must fight in the end, and he even has an adult friend who loves animals. But there are also a lot of differences. The World of the Mages is not set apart from the Normal world as much as the Magical world of Harry Potter is separated from the Muggle world. The adults in this story all have real jobs, but also happen to do magic. Everyone has cell phones and talks about pop culture. And the spells are spoken in everyday English. British English. But still English. I loved how Rainbow Rowell was able to create this fantasy world within our real world. And as always in her books, the characters were amazing. The story is told in first person in chapters with alternating narrators: Simon, Baz, Penelope, Agatha, The Mage, etc. I loved getting inside their heads. It added so much more depth to the story of The Chosen One. Even the minor characters have complex motivations and back story. I'll be honest. I was a little worried about the gay romance. But I loved it! Reading Baz's thoughts about Simon. And about Simon questioning his sexuality and giving into his desires. It was all so good. I love a good unrequited love story, and Rainbow Rowell does love so well. There is so much more I could say, but I don't want to give anything away. I know this is a book I'll read over and over again. http://www.momsradius.com/2015/10/book-review-carry-on-ya.html
Anonymous 4 months ago
Hi, everyone!! This book is so awesome! I seriously love this book. By the way, I don't care if the Snow/Baz ship has a name. It is now officially Snaz. Pass it on. Smiles, Almondsquid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having read fangirl, I was extremely excited for this novel and I have been a fan of Rainbow Rowell for some time. I had Very high dictations and every single one was made met
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found myself constantly reading without any breaks! Although the chemistry between the characters seems uneasy at first, the development in their relationship is outstanding! Through the many ups and down, the laughs and frustrations, you find that they make a great duo, and great partners!
Kristina_L More than 1 year ago
This was an exciting read that kept me on my toes throughout the entire story. Once I thought I knew some of the secrets the story would take an unexpected turn. I loved every minute of this read and this is definitely a story I would return to for years to come. The story of this books builds off of the fictional world Rainbow Rowell created in FanGirl. While this book can be a stand-alone, I highly recommend reading FanGirl first to build your love for these characters. This read was fast-paced from the get-go and I am not sure if it is because I was already in love with Simon and Baz and needed more of there world or because of the great world Rainbow has created. The love story… Oh, the love story clenched at my heartstrings every time I opened the book. Having read FanGirl, it was clear where the book was headed and I loved everything about it. Rainbow makes the reader work for this one though. There are several love interests for Simon that leaves the reader doubting themselves. Carry On proved that everyone deserves love and that you should stop before judging some as unloveable. There was just enough magic in the story to quench my fantasy thirst and using the power of words as spells is genius. I have seen many reviews state that this is a Harry Potter rip off. This is NOT TRUE. Yes, there is the whole chosen child, loss of parents, and learning about magic after living in the mundane world thing. However, Rainbow does her own take on this. Look, there have been orphans in stories since forever (Cinderella, Peter Pan, Mowgli, etc.) and Rainbow brings in a new style and gives us the story from several points of view. I promise once you get over your HP hangup this story is really worth reading. Rainbow Rowell is an amazing writer, with the ability to capture the essence of authentic characters in her writing. I highly recommend this book to anyone. Even if you not into romance or contemporary fiction, give this read a try!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun read with unexpected depth. Read it in a day because I couldn't put it down. Buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Immortal Bookshelf Blog More than 1 year ago
First, let us just pause and take a moment to appreciate how great of a character Baz was! Throughout the entire book, I was always fangirling over Baz. I mean I couldn't wait to read what he was going to do next. He kind of put you in mind of Malfoy. Many would disagree, but in my opinion, Baz was the most perfectly flawed badass character one could only hope to read about. This book caused various emotions. When I first picked up this book to start reading I realized how similar it was to Harry Potter. Almost as if Rainbow Rowell had this obsession with Harry Potter and decided to write fanfiction. I love fanfiction, but when I pick up a book I don't want to be thinking about another book all the time no matter how great said book was. However, even though this book was basically legal fanfiction, it was still a nice read. I must warn you that there are some very unexpected things that happen in this book. I, however, loved them or at least some of them. She took us on an adventure that may not have been entirely her own, but she started to own it and she made it hers in the end. Even though this book reminded me a lot of Harry Potter there were moments where you could see Rainbow Rowell's originality peeking out and how she led the audience one way only to suddenly push them into another direction. Overall this book was a nice read. It was nice to take a break and just read something that was fun and full of quirky and sarcastic characters. The characters were overall my favorite part of the storyline. She developed them well. Even though they might remind you of a few Harry Potter characters, you can tell that the author tried to make them her own and add a bit more modern flavor to them. Unfortunately, how similar the book was to the Harry Potter series was a bit offputting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have all the love in the world for not only Rainbow Rowell, but for Baz and Simin as well. This book has everything i've ever wanted in a fictional pairing. I think the most genuis touch was the fact that Baz is a vampire. It gives the whole thing a sense of both spooky urgency and wonder. Imagine watching yoyr significant other eat and being able to have an earnest conversation about the person you love's fangs and where they come from. Wouldn't that be intriguing? I've also seen people hate on the present tense/first person/changing point of view, but it works so masterfully for the story! Also, i think present tense makes everything very real; it just sort of puts you there, you know? All in all, I could rant about this book forever, but i'm really just here to say that it's an 11 out of 10 for me, and I look forward to reading anything Rainbow Rowell writes in the future. She's at the top of my list of authors I reccomend!
Bee_H More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sheltisebastian More than 1 year ago
Actually a 4.5 rating. I really enjoyed/loved this cute book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The different POVs of the characters give so much variety to the story. The book is very entertaining, and it gives you so many laughs along the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
READ THIS NOW.
KendraJ_lillianopal More than 1 year ago
This was my first Rainbow Rowell book, and I must say, it was very entertaining. Since I haven't read Fangirl (which I understand is the book in which Simon the character was introduced), Carry On was quite confusing in the first few chapters. Sadly, the first section (labeled as "Book 1") was also not very interesting. I kept waiting for the well-known Baz to show up, but he never did until "Book 2". But I still appreciate the world building at the beginning; I probably wouldn't have understood much if it went too fast. Something else that I really admired is the spells. At first it may have seemed rather silly and "unbelievable": what kind of magician uses nursery rhymes and idioms to convey magic? But later on, I realized the significance. The mages used these clever sayings and conveyed magic through the power of words. I've always been a firm believer in the power of words, so I greatly applaud this quirk. I loved the ending too--it was deep and emotional, balanced out with reality and fluff. Something about Rowell's writing style portrayed this mixture really well. It wasn't all about everyone living happily ever after while Simon and Baz run off into the sunset together. No, there was Agatha's internal crisis that was kind of solved (but not ideally), and Simon didn't forget Penelope. But, most importantly, there was hope for a happy future, and that was what essentially made the ending so admirable. There's so much more I could say about this book (Simon + Baz, the Humdrum, the Mage), but they all lead to the fact that I highly recommend this book. Even if you haven't read Fangirl like me, give it a try! You might be surprised...I was. It's certainly not as light and childish as it may seem at first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is truly a work of art. Every character, every detail works together to create a whole magical world in one book. Loved every minute of reading this work of fiction within fiction!