But Enough about Me

But Enough about Me

Hardcover

$6.98 $27.95 Save 75% Current price is $6.98, Original price is $27.95. You Save 75%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

But Enough About Me 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wish it was longer and more indepth
Tutielynn More than 1 year ago
BORING!!! Every chapter was his relationship with a hollywood actor. Except the chapters all dronned on and on about the other actors lives and how they started in HW, or how they gave him advice about HW. The name dropping is beyond ridiculous. I could not get past all the BS. After awhile you come away thinking that Burt was a spectator in his own life. I would not recommed this book unless you have insomnia and need to get some zzzz's.
Anonymous 8 months ago
This is a well-written and vry entertaining memoir, with juicy gossip and surprisingly touching moments. Burt was really quite a good actor, who somehow mixed macho bravado with laid back good ol' boy humor. And he had a plain spoken, often barbed wit. If you dig into his filmography, you'll find it surprisingly deep. His personal life, on the other hand, tended toward the chaotic. He identifies Sally Field as the love of his life. (Field's account of their romance in her own memoir differs quite a bit from Burt's, and she doesn't appear to have felt likewise about him; her memoir came out after his death, and she said that it was probably for the better that he never got the chance to read it.) I don't doubt he loved her, and it's hard not to like his determination to cast her as the love interest in "Smokey and the Bandit" -- when told she wasn't sexy, he replied, "Talent is sexy." He fell for her hard during the filming, and she fell...less hard for him. But in any case, I think that Dinah Shore was his greatest love, the woman he was most compatible with, who knew how to nurture him when he needed it, but was too sensible to let him get away with his spoiled-brat tantrums. They clearly adored each other, but he broke it off with her, because she, being considerably older than he, would not have been able to bear a child, something he deeply wanted. Interestingly, though, his only child was adopted, with Loni Anderson. So maybe he could have stayed with Dinah and adopted a child with her? Oh well, it doesn't matter now. But back to Loni. Burt is pretty harsh toward her in this book. Acording to him, she was a shallow, narcissistic spendthrift, even a leech. But, as he himself admits, he stayed with her, and even married her -- this despite the fact that he didn't even like her, much less love her. He kept giving her access to his money. So even if what he says about her is true, well, he didn't exactly try to stop her from burning through his cash. And regardless of the veracity of his account, or what the reader personally thinks of Loni (I don't like her that much myself, although I did like her turn as smart cheesecake Jennifer Marlowe in "WKRP in Cincinnati"), his snipes at her seem petty. I mean, he'd already dogged her out and slung mud at her before and during their divorce (one of the ugliest in showbiz history, and that's saying sonething). Why reopen old wounds? Especially since their adopted son Quinton is grown now and will likely read or at least hear about his dad (who he was at least semi-estranged from for years) speaking very unkindly about his mom?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A SUPERB READ***** THE LEGEND STILL HAS A FULL HEAD OF STEAM***** BURT REYNOLDS STILL CARRYING ON THE SAME TRADITION OF SAYING THINGS*****THE REST OF US WISH WE HAD SAID FIRST!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read!! Always loved Burt!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anniemom More than 1 year ago
I read the book and found it charming---he was wonderful in his stories of people and stars he has met. It felt good to read a book that wasn't nasty about people. Even his ex-wife was written without malice. Found it a very enjoyable read--one of the best auto I have read in the last few years'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Congratulations!!