Burned (Fever Series #7)

Burned (Fever Series #7)

by Karen Marie Moning

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.43 $7.99 Save 7% Current price is $7.43, Original price is $7.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Burned (Fever Series #7) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 248 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't believe I waited 2 years for this book to come out and waited with such anticipation to be royally let down. The plot in this book is almost non-existent and the tiny bit that is there moves slower than molasses! If you want to hear Mac whine and moan about how hard her life is well then this is the book for you! For those of you who wanted an older Dani well you kinda get your wish with a dark twist. You get to learn a little more about the Nine, but the knowledge you get only spurns more questions. For those of you that want to read about Christian well then this is NOT the book for you- Christian is only in about 1% of this book. Like I stated earlier this book is comprised of Mac whining and then complaining and then moaning about how hard her life is. If you wanted some steamy scenes between Barrons and Mac well there pretty much is none with the exception of one tiny scene. I have noooo idea why this book is called Burned..because its main objective was to burn its readers? Or because the author was Burned out when she wrote it? There is no fire in this book. The book should have been titled Fizzle or Filler. KMM should have taken 3 years to write this book maybe then it would have been worth reading.
Sieblonde More than 1 year ago
Disappointing. There is no definable plot.   Mac's story-line is dull.  Barrons' is even more so.  Dani's story line is interesting, but as this happens outside the pages of the book, the transformation is sad and lacking.  Dani's continuing story will probably be the 2nd "Dani" book that will come out, before the next book in this series.   In "Burned", there are no new mysteries to eagerly unfold by turning the pages.   No new adventures or explorations.  No new and exciting talents acquired by Mac or Barrons that make us wonder who they really are or who they will become.       Basically the story plods along with Mac full of self analysis, rehashing recaps of past experiences.  Second tier characters have more to say and do but nothing of great importance.  A handful of small events progress the story, only to lead up to a dull ending, with an even duller cliffhanger. The time between the books is so long, I can't even remember why I should even care about Christian, so to have his rescue as the book's finale fell flat.   And having a secondary (or even less) character's death as a "cliff hanger" was yawn inspiring.   KMM is an amazing writer, capable of weaving magic onto the pages and taking readers into an amazing world we hate to leave.  But sadly enough, this time we were burned.   
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointed :( The first section of the book was pure filler.  I can't believe that I waited two years for this book.  It was great to have Mac and Barrons back agin but Dani's character was so flat and there was really no story line. I thought I remember reading an interview where KMM stated that Dani would have a relationship in this book, didn't happen.  There just seemed to be a lot of parts that were not needed, when the focus could have been on the building Dani and Mac's stories. The writing itself was great, just so disappointed with Dani's character.  Her story felt disjointed, flat and at times boring.  Compared to Iced, Burned  just fizzled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sick of whiney, depressed Mac. She and Barrons didn't even have that good spark. The one hot scene was from the past. Little action and none of the fireworks that I've come to expect. Glad Dani grew up, but I mourn the loss of her character. Guess we'll have to wait 2 more years to get her back. Awesome. Hate to say it, but I'm disappointed. I loved the Fever series and ICED. Depressing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finished the book in one sitting simply because I had hope that something, anything would redeem the story on the next page. Now I'm left feeling dissapointed and wishing I hadn't wasted most of the day. I will of course continue the series and hope I will find the excitment all the previous books had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A whole book about Mac complaining?  Dani is barely in the book,waste of time and money. Mac had her books bring Dani back!
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Annie and posted at Under The Covers Book Blog Two years and two months later, Karen Marie Moning releases the seventh book in the highly anticipated Fever series with BURNED. After the countless delays and near-tear devastation readers experienced since the last release, the Moning Maniacs are in a frenzy waiting for this bomb to drop. True to her signature style, KMM approaches this book with the same intensity of all her previous books –  combine that and you get BURNED. The questions that arise in the previous book get answered, but that’s not to say that there aren’t more twists and more questions along the way. Every time I read a KMM book, I try to speculate what is going to happen. Weeks after reading it, I come up with my own theories about who this person really is and what KMM plans to do next. I’m constantly trying to outmaneuver the creator. I should know better because every time, I am still blown away by her choices. To those of you who had a problem with Dani being too young, you have no reason to worry. As promised, KMM does age her, but it is HOW she does it that really changes the pace of the story. The strange tension between Dani and Ryo isn’t so taboo any longer. The question now is, does Ryodan prefer the sleek, calculated new Dani or prefer the old, fiery one? I’m still coming to grips with this myself because what KMM reveals about Dani was not something I expected. It completely blindsided me and yet….IT WORKS. Readers didn’t like Dani’s fire, her tenacity and her innocence? Well, she fixed that. And I’m dying to know how the audience will react to it. Personally, I think it’s genius. Not only does it give readers what they wanted, but she will also make them wonder if that’s what they really wanted. You have to be careful what you wish for because KMM delivers. But with a twist! Mac is back and better than ever! God, I missed this chick. It’s so easy to get back into her head. But whereas the previous Mac was parading around the city, killing things and creating havoc, this Mac is different. She’s slightly more passive but that’s because there’s more on her shoulders. Within her, she carries the Book and it speaks to her constantly, tempting her to give in and unleash it. Mac knows what’s at stake and if she loses her control, it’s death and destruction for all. Surprisingly Barrons and Mac are going steady. Or as steady as a man like Barrons can be. He isn’t exactly the easiest man to handle. Mac has discovered something that he did to her. Given what happened to her before, it’s a breech of trust and whatever little happy little bubble they are in gets popped. Barrons isn’t a man to apologize and Mac is furious out of her mind. It kills me, but no doubt makes for an amazing story. The rest of the gang are all present as well. Christian, Dancer, Kat, Jo and even the MacKelter twins all play key parts to make this story run smoothly. Most interesting is what transpires with Ryodan, Jo and Lor. KMM really enjoys toying with her characters and boy, she really messes with them here. I LOVE IT! She takes what she sets up between Jo and Ryodan in ICED and has a field day on their emotions. If you’re like me, by the end of it all, you’re dying to get more.utc-top-pick What I enjoy most about KMM’s writing is that she’s a fearless writer. There’s this innate confidence in her writing and I truly believe she can pull off anything. You just have to have faith in her. When the twists and turns hit you and the bombs drop left and right, it’s easy to just let your emotions control you. But if you’re patient enough to see how the events come together in the end, you get a visceral experience unlike anything before. I say this all the time but I’ll say it once again. If you haven’t read the Fever series, you simply must. There aren’t many authors out there who can still blow your mind like Karen Marie Moning can.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This review will be short, sweet and spoiler free.  I'm not going to get into the multiple POV's, Dani's age etc that everyone else is concerned with those issues are being discussed to death already here. What I will say is this: make up your own mind, don't let anyone's disappointment or agenda  prevent you from picking up a copy of Burned.      KMM has wrapped up the past and brought the reader up to date so well  you can actually jump into the Fever Series here if you want. Of course you're going to want to  go back and read the first book in the series Darkfever, and from there you won't be able to stop until you've read them all.  This series is pretty much like crack, one hit and you're hooked. Burned is a fantastic read and has no less than 5 plot twists that come at you like a freight train w/o warning. If you're a long time KMM fan leave whatever theories you have at the door b/c I am telling you now nothing that you and your friends came up with can compare  to what goes on in this book.  The gang's back and I promise what you  learn  about them this time around  will make your jaw drop.   There's plenty of action  to make it impossible for you to put down Burned.  PS: Make sure you check out the glossary,  you never know what you're going to learn back there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Completely disappointing. Almost no plot development at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an absolutely amazing series. You will not regret reading any of Monings books.
Chelsea_Rafferty More than 1 year ago
One of Karen's most brilliant storylines yet. The way Karen flawlessly blends worlds and words is like a fine sculpture would chisel and smooth out his clay figure....its amazing the way her mind works. A few days later and I'm still sitting here processing everything I read, to the point I'm going to need to re-read...(probably with a dictionary LOL) :) I didn't know a lot of the words and I was reading a hardcover so I couldn't use the kindle dictionary to cheat while reading ;) Still brilliant and it could have been just me being in a rush to get to the end. If you are new to Karen's books I'd recommend you start with the correct reading order for this series. Fever Series 1. Darkfever 2. Bloodfever 3. Faefever 4. Dreamfever 5. Shadowfever 6. Iced 7. Burned Personally I'd read the Highlander books in order before picking up the Fever series...only because you DO see some of the characters from the Highlander series show up later in a cross over with the Fever world and its really cool to be like Ohhh I know that character, I know his story already...it just adds depth to the Fever world for me personally. The difference is the Highlander books are more HEA (Happily Ever After) with a different couple every book, kind of a Highlander/Historical/Paranormal feel (time-traveling druids etc) whereas with the Fever series its more nitty, gritty, Urban Fantasy, action packed...Not all pretty happily ever afters...That's not to say there are not Happily Ever moments here and there but its definitely more raw, razor blades ;) I'm a fan of both series personally and love them both for different reasons. For Burned we have several different POV's throughout the story, though a majority of the timeline belongs to Mac's POV. We do get some insight to Dani, Lor, the Unseelie King, Kat, and an unfamiliar to us character named Jada. We also get some more in personal insight to the Nine, which is a nice twist because I don't know about the rest of you but I've been DYING to know about them a little bit more and I really appreciated being able to take a glimpse into parts of them that I've never gotten to see before. Mac isn't as large as life as she normally is in Burned, however from what Karen shows in the book, I understand WHY she's not....great power comes with great responsibility. She's still got those weird things following her (from the end of Iced) and though we find out some things about those things following her, we don't get "all" the details yet of what they are and why they are following Mac....little glimpses and enough to make you wonder about certain things that some of the other characters have to say about them...but not enough for me to make a definite conclusion in my mind about them. Overall its a Karen book...it kept my attention, made me think, and definitely made me ponder what might come out of the next Fever book. I do feel like this book was kind of like a build up book...where things are laid out that we didn't know about before....kind of like laying the foundation before diving into building the walls.... I feel we are going to learn a LOT in the next few books and I know Karen will get us there....I have faith in her crazy, amazing writing ability....Remember...words are just words...actions speak. I'm definitely going to be re-reading this book and re-reading my other Fever books before I do a 3rd re-read because its amazing how much you can miss the 1st time round in a book that you've been anxiously waiting for.... I do still LOVE all of Karen's books and Burned is no exception... I still have suspicions on who I think Mac might be, as well as Dani...which neither got proved or disproved in Burned but I'm still holding onto them and we'll see if I'm right when the series is over LOL! ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After the amazing dynamics of Iced, this book was such a huge letdown. It's basically chapter upon chapter of Mac's (BORING!!!) inner dialogue. Her relationship with Barrons is flat to non-existant in this book. Dani (at least the Dani we all know, love, and have been eagerly awaiting more of) has been literally shoved out of the picture. Ryodan has been relegated to being Barrons's mouthpiece--that beautifully messed up man I fell for is back to being a secondary player. Christian (poor guy) is left hanging until the end of the book and is only featured as background. There's rehashing of the Unseelie King/concubine story, which didn't even seem to really play into this book. The only redeeming characters for me were Kat, because I'm curious to see how her storyline is going to further develope, and Lor. Lor's straight up comic relief in this book, and man does this book need it with all the wah-wahing that we get from Mac. I wouldn't recommend this book to new readers, let alone followers of the series. In fact, I'll probably be returning my copy for a refund.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please KMM can the next book be at least a 1000pages• I am hanging here screaming NO that's it! So much great stuff packed into 400 but I want my #8 NOW • I'm rereading just to get all the deliciousness again • Woman you can write a story! Hell yes it's worth the money!! Give me#8 asap•I sure hope KMM's fingers are flying as we read!!! Please!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was the best in the series. I don't understand why people are so sad. The hero from her other series is not dead per the last page of the book. There are at least 2 more books to get everything resolved. Be patient.
Kiki3151 More than 1 year ago
I cannot believe I waited over two years for this book. This was such a disappointment - so bad. We already know Dani had a problem and there was not much of her in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
too many unanswered questions. it jumped from different stories on different characters with no closure. I'm really disappointed with this book with the way it ended. The previous books were great! i hope she does better with the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readers can skip this one.  Numerous muddled plots, but no real movement in story line. Even Mac and Barron's seem to have dialed this one in.  KMM gave us Dani at 19, but took all her since of fun and effervescence. 
Rosemary_Pennington More than 1 year ago
The reward of a 2 year wait has never been sweeter! With Burned, I felt that KMM has a ton to deliver with promises made on her FB page.  I was upset that "Mac was back" and Dani would be M.I.A for any portion of the story. Being told she would age and all this would somehow happen directly after Iced.   IMPOSSIBLE is what I thought. God, I was wrong. And lets not forget the headline: "And then there were ten." I thought I had it all figured out, and I was gonna hate it all. As many loyal reader, I know the rules of the world KMM created. After finishing Burned, I sat in stunned silence for about an hour. The amount of information KMM has given in this book is staggering.  You will get a truck-load of answers that you never saw coming and an insight not only of the characters but the author herself.   I have seen many posts on various sites bemoaning some issues with this book. (Many I felt as well.) 1) The time it took this get this story was a little over 2 years - for good reason- KMM father was dealing with cancer. FAMILY comes first. - You will see evidence of that in this book. 2) Mac is back in a BIG way- Dani is... well, not so much - Again: for a good reason.- There would not be a story if we had more of Dani's POV. The only way that we could know the secrets revealed in Burned is by being a fly on the wall. KMM pulls this off flawlessly. It is HOW she does it that suprising. 3) Dani is older now, and,  Burned picks up right where Iced left off. - Remember it is Post Wall Dublin, there are no rules. We have been told time and time again by KMM's previous books that: Nothing is what it seems or works the way it is supposed to. - KMM again surprised me on how she was able to accomplish this. I think any reader will know that Silvers was the obvious way. When you find out where Dani went, I encourage you to re-read the time that Mac spent in that particular world..... You will understand why Dani is who she is today. Pure fecking genius, if you ask me! 4) And then there were ten:- OMG- the best part of it all!!! I found myself digging through older books saying all along: "It was so obvious." I do not know if it was KMM's intention to do this years ago, but, when it happened it seemed to me that she had been carefully sowing these seeds from the very beginning. -The VERY beginning. 5) Jo and Ryodan- I will admit that this was my biggest grievance from Iced that I had a hard time coming to grips with. I mean, Ryodan belongs to Dani.... right? I have believed that "Some things were worth waiting for." - so what was KMM thinking? - This is all sewn very nicely for a HUGE future feature that I cannot wait to see explored further.  6) As Dani said: "I could like Lor."-  Get yourself inside of Lor's head.... it is a fantastic trip every time.  With his POV, I found myself laughing out loud and finding out that he is probably the NICEST of all the Nine. But, I don't merely like him, I am loving him after Burned. In turn KMM fashion- cliff-hangers are a must, and you will be more questions that you get answers. That is both the beauty and the anguish of the Fever series. That is what keeps loyal readers coming back for more.  We may never find out what the Nine (now Ten) are. (And I have attempted research to try) This book will make you question that all over again, EVEN after coming to terms with it in Shadow Fever.  I can hear Barrons saying "None of you f'ing business."- every time. Like Mac, I can live with that.
Red67 More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Karen Marie Moning forever. I read her Highlander books when they were new. I liked Burned but didn't love it. I think I am still pissed it took so long for it to come out. It moves the story along which is great. Interesting things happen, but it ends on a cliff hanger so its going to be another wait... Heard the next one will be released this year but not holding my breath. Will I continue to read the series, absolutely, but the time between books has just sucked the love for it out of me. Karen stop stringing us along...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To say this book is incredible is an understatement. To say that this is one of Karen Marie Moning's best works ever is not. Technically, I've been waiting for this book for nearly three years. But really, it feels like I've been waiting for it my whole life. It is heart-wrenching, emotional, poetic, intriguing, and hilarious -- I mean, I laughed out loud at last twenty times. Mac is beyond freakin FUNNY -- especially when sniping with Ryodan, or Barrons, or random men in bars. [ Oh, and you know. Throwing rocks at see-you-in-faery chicks while invisible. ;) ] I'll admit, my expectations were high (even after reading the threads with spoilers of people saying it wasn't good because Dani wasn't in it a lot), but it still completely exceeded them. Mac may narrate most of the book -- but she's the most coherent and self-aware she's ever been. With that, there's a lot of freedom for her to just BE. She isn't wasting time denying who she is, or what she feels for Barrons, or how fecked-up the world has become. It's refreshing and incredibly, incredibly funny. [ SPOILER: Yes, she's still battling the Sinsar Dubh, but it only lasts for the first half of the book and every encounter is hilarious and interesting. ] I loved Ryodan in this book. A lot. I loved Barrons. I loved Barrons and Mac together. I loved Lor. (I mean seriously, how cute can this guy get? Easily the sweetest of the Nine - yup, I said it). I even liked Jo. This book was definitely one that caught us up on many of the different story lines going on, save for a few. [ SPOILER: We do miss a good chunk of Dani's, but wow, I know finding out what has gone down with her will be worth the wait. (hide spoiler)] I loved Ryodan's character development, and Lor's, and even Kat's. Dani's was surprising, but intriguing. I can't wait to see where that goes. All in all, this is one of the best books I've ever read. The only complaint I have is that there wasn't enough of Kat's POV. [ SPOILER: because I can't help but wonder [ what's going down in the underground level. ;) ] I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this book (as well of any of KMM's works). It may be very different than Iced, but it's JUST as good. (If not better). Don't let the cover fool you. This series isn't just romantic and sexy, but complex, well-written, mysterious, and addicting. ;) 5/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the Fever series originally, so I was thrilled to have Mac and Barrons back, especially since Iced felt like such a children's book.  That said, I waited forever after Shadowfever for Iced, then I waited forever for Burned, so when Burned ended with such a CLIFFHANGER, I was not happy!  Publishing a half book seems to be a favorite marketing plan for writers lately, and is irritating even when the conclusion comes out quickly, but waiting years for an ending is ridiculous!  Come on already KMM!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars I wanted to love this one. I really did.  I didn’t care if it was from Mac’s POV or Dani’s because they both have a way of beating a dead horse, or I guess I should say fae?,  that drives me just a tinsy bit batsh%tcrazy.  I just wanted the next installment.  I wanted more of Barrons.  Mac and Barrons.  Dani and Dancer.  Dani and Ryodan.  Find out what was going on with Christian.  I could go on and on, but you get the picture.  And in general I got all of that, but heaven help  me did it take for fecking ever to get things going.  It took until about 60% in for me to feel like I was finally getting to the meat of the story.  Yes, there were some great moments in the first 60% of the book.  Moments that had me thinking “Fck yeah now we’re getting somewhere and that things would pick up” but more often than not it would slow back down and had me feeling like it was filler.  Believe me I understand that there is a sh%tton going on in the world and it is KMM’s right to acknowledge as much, or as little, of it as she wants, but damn!   To be fair: There are questions answered, even questions you didn’t know you had, but as is the norm with this series there are still more things unresolved and new questions that need to be answered. But despite the fact that I didn’t fall deeply in love with this book, I still enjoyed it and will continue with the series, I am a serious glutton for punishment, Why you ask? Here’s the list 1) I do like Mac.  When she gets her sh*t together she’s fcking amazing 2) Lor. 3) When the characters actually get to interact with each other whether it's someone laying out an ultimate truth or a one liner that has you snickering, something amazing will come of it. 4) Barrons ~ No explanation needed 5) Ryodan ~ Still no explanation needed. 6) Lor 7) There are still questions that I NEED answered and am too invested to not continue 8) Dani ~ see #5 for the reason 9) Lor ~ Do we see a trend. I fecking love Lor. I can’t say that he has surpassed Barrons, but he’s edging Ryodan out of spot number 2 because if it weren't for him I would have tossed the ereader into a corner. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For the first time in this series I feel like a book was just a filler. Disappointed but can't wait for next.
brinnyboo More than 1 year ago
I really love the writing style. The story always pulls you in every direction with its well thought out drama. I love the series :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was ok for what it eas. A little disappointed i waited two years for a filler book. It wasnt bad just wished there was more to the story than Mac trying to figure herself out. Im still a fan and pray the next book is a thousand times better. Also i really wish there was more on Dani. I felt cheated but maybe the next book will make up for. Heres hoping we dont have to wait another two year :/