Buffalo Girls

Buffalo Girls

by Larry McMurtry

Paperback

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
MARKETPLACE
23 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Buffalo Girls 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
McMurtry pens a fictional account of Calamity Jane reviewing the events of her long and interesting life.
coyle220 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Larry McMurtry uses a different method for this story about Calamity Jane, written in a series of letters to her daughter. It shows a more intimate, and maybe vulnerable side of the character, as she talks about her adventures with Wild Bill and Old West outlaws. This makes the book more appealing to women, who might usually avoid the Western genre.
anterastilis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review I wrote for class:This is the story of Calamity Jane, an icon of the Old West whose legend grew far beyond her humble and tragic reality. Calamity and her friends are old-timers ¿ the mountain men Bone and Ragg, showman Buffalo Bill Cody, amiable prospector Potato Creek Johnny, famous madam Dora DuFran, rancher Blue Abbot, brilliant but self-absorbed riflewoman Annie Oakley; and Sitting Bull and No Ears, two of the last remaining Indian Elders. Watching herself decline into alcoholism and obsolescence, Calamity and the others become caricatures of themselves in Buffalo Bill¿s Wild West Show. They try to maintain their lifestyle in a more genteel, civilized West and reflect upon their past lives as the survivors of a fast, mean, and passionate world that has all but disappeared. Through reflection, re-creating their world in the Wild West Show, and Calamity Jane¿s letters, the reader is given a glimpse of their lawless and fiery world.What I really thought:For starters, I had that awful "Buffalo Gals won't you come out tonight!" song in my head the entire time I was reading this. I loathe that song.I chose this book because I like Larry McMurtry. I realize that this is more of a "Novel about the West" than it is a "Western", but I still thought it would fit my professors' "Western" guidelines. Other, lesser, sillier reasons I chose it were because I think "Calamity Jane" is a cool name and I wanted to read a novel that had a strong female lead.As much as I enjoyed it, it grew rather depressing. Calamity is usually helpless drunk, the supporting cast of characters are all aging in a world that they don't belong in, Dora's love story is tragic, and Wild Bill's putting them into a show - making caricatures of themselves - was rather surreal and sad. Becoming a legend within your lifetime is one thing, but to play yourself in a show because your world is that far removed from the modern world - it's just disturbing.The way it is written - mostly from third-person Calamity perspective, with some letters thrown in - is very good. At first I was turned off by the letters: Calamity is writing to her daughter, Janey, who lives far away and is getting a good, proper upbringing. It was kind of distracting, but luckily the letters became fewer and shorter as the story went on.This book doesn't have the same feel as Lonesome Dove - probably due to the timeframe (after the old west).McMurtry is amazingly skilled at two things in particular: description without waxing poetic, and conversation. The conversations between Bone and Ragg and the quiet contemplation of No Ears are some of the greatest strengths of this book. Calamity and Dora have a strong relationship - but it pales in comparison. I grew to adore No Ears.As with all McMurtry books, there's a solid resolution for just about everything. He's not much for loose ends. Unfortunately for the aging Old West Old-timers...that's usually death. You've got to expect that, though. It is rather depressing (and I feel weird saying this) that so many of them met their maker in quiet, normal ways - not in a hail of gunfire or a heroic feat, the way that Old West heroes always seem to go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having been a fan of the lonesome dove series, I managed to consume this bok in a few days.As usual cold dead historical figures are not only brought back to life, but they're plumped full of personality, and the reader is transported into a peek of what these characters really must have been like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
CAMARADERIE IN A CHANGING WEST FORCING ITS PEOPLE TO CHANGE WITH IT......A QUITE SURPRISING ENDING........