Brooklyn Story

Brooklyn Story

by Suzanne Corso

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Brooklyn Story 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For anyone who grew up in Bensonhurst in the 70's & 80's you have to read this book. Suzanne is right on point with the lifestyle of the neighborhood. She writes about what everyone dreams about and shows young women that through Samanta Bonti you can get out of a bad situation. Excellent job Suzanne!!!!
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
Brilliantly written and fascinating, Brooklyn Story is unique book that worms its way into your heart. I will never forget this heartfelt book and all of the emotions that it invokes in the reader. Suzanne's inspirational writing is pure and a breath of fresh air. I highly recommend this book to other readers.
MartaNYC More than 1 year ago
This is the story of a young woman who had the odds stacked against her and triumphed. Her voice is that of a survivor. All she had was her belief in herself and her faith. She will win your heart from the very first sentence to the very last. You will not be able to put the book down until you know what's to become of her. Then it leaves you wondering ... Where is Samantha Bonti today?
BookReviewsByMolly More than 1 year ago
Well, how do I start off this review? It's not a bad book. Let's start with that. It's different. This is a book about a time of poverty, and of longing for an escape to a better life. A book about mobs and gangsters. Definitely not the style of book that I would normally pick. But, as always, I feel every book deserves a chance, and then an opinion formed. This book is wonderfully researched. The depth of the story lies in the way the author created a real to life feel to the story. A time period during which a mobster has a woman and he controls her, even abuses her. VERY emotional on that end. The characters are as deep and complex as the plot, created a gripping novel. So, in conclusion, while not a terrible book, it is still not my favorite. There were some things about the book, like it's not my style of plot and the abusive situations weren't my favorite, but over all, it is one that I would suggest you try. It's deserving of 4 stars for the complexity and the depth the author uses. I will be looking for other books by this author in the future to see what other talent she holds.
MikeDraper More than 1 year ago
In August, 1978, Samantha Sonti, is fifteen-years-old. She lives in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn with the dream of some day becoming a writer and crossing the Brooklyn Bridge to become a success in Manhattan. Samantha, "Sam" is half-Jewish, half-Catholic in a neighborhood that is predominantly Catholics of Italian heritage. She is sometimes shunned in this Italian neighborhood. Fortunately, as she begins high school, she meets Janice Caputo, a senior at the school. Janice is street savvy and becomes Sam's best friend. At the feast of Santa Rosalia, mixed with the sounds of the elevated subway and the sizzle and aroma of sausage and peppers, Janice introduces Sam to a twenty-year-old named Tony Kroon. Kroon is also of mixed hertitage, being Dutch-Italian. He's a muscular construction worker, very handsome and has blond hair. Sam becomes infatuated with Tony and thinks that she's met her dream man. She writes about her experiences in the manuscript she is wonking on and feels a happiness unlike anything she's felt before. On the other hand, she is conscientious with Tony because of her sick mother and the fact that she and her mother live on Sam's grandmother's social security and Sam's mother's welfare checks. Although happy in her relationship with Tony, Tony is controlling and wanting to advance their romance to a degree that Sam isn't ready for. She creates boundaries and demands respect. The novel tells the story of their relationship and Tony's Italian friends who are obviously doing illegal things. When Tony begins spending large amounts of money on Sam, she is concerned about where the money came from. In a touching story, we observe Tony change from controlling to abusive and what the result is with Sam. She is a courageous person with dreams that won't be dimmed. The story is well told with excellent dialogue. Sam's descriptions of her Brooklyn neighborhood make it easy for the reader to picture what the setting must be like. This is an important novel that should be placed on the shelves of shelters that help abused women. This is a debut novel from an author with great promise.
zibilee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It¿s 1978 and fifteen year old Samantha Bonti is living in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, in a shabby apartment with her ailing mother and grandmother. Though her grandmother is loving and kind to Samantha, her mother, a prisoner of addiction and ill health, is constantly berating and maligning her daughter to no obvious effect. When Samantha¿s older friend Janice introduces the young girl to twenty year old Tony Kroon, a local who is part of the ¿Brooklyn Boys¿ crew, Sam¿s life is changed forever. Soon she¿s living the high life of expensive gifts, hot cars and exclusive clubs, but it all comes with a hefty price tag. Before she even realizes what¿s happened, things begin to take a sinister turn. Though her relationship with Tony goes from smooth to rocky in the blink of an eye, Sam still has dreams of becoming a writer and moving across the bridge to Manhattan, dreams that may perish if she continues to be Tony¿s girl. As Sam grows into a young woman, she must navigate through the rough waters of Tony¿s possessiveness, violence and disregard. Though her mother and grandmother constantly tell her Tony is trouble, it¿s only when Sam begins to see him through newly clear eyes that she discovers a man unlike any she has ever known, and must decide whether to remain the girlfriend of a small time mobster or to attempt to realize her dreams of becoming famous across the water. In this realistically gritty portrayal of a young girl caught up in a dangerous relationship, Suzanne Corso brings 1970s Brooklyn into fast and furious relief, and shares Samantha Bonti¿s heartbreak and joy as she attempts to make a better life for herself.This is going to be a tough book to review, because although it¿s not a memoir, it¿s based upon the real life circumstances of the author¿s past. This causes a problem for me because I wasn¿t a huge fan of the book, but by making critical comments on it, it feels like I¿m judging the life of a person and not just the story between the pages. The book¿s curious melding of fact and fiction present me with a unique problem in giving it a fair review, but I¿ll do my best to explain how I felt without trying to alienate or offend the author whose life story this book reflects.Sam is a bright girl with dreams, but though she dreams of a better life, she¿s soon invested in a pedestrian and controlling relationship with a wannabe gangster who treats her like a piece of property. There were times when she did mentally rebel over the way Tony treated her, but she never seemed to let those thoughts move into action. I also found it a little off-putting that Sam was only fifteen years old when when she began to date a twenty year old man. I know that this sort of thing happens, but having a daughter this age, it really stuck an unpleasant chord and sort of nauseated me. I also was also frustrated by the repetitive way that Sam reacted like a deer in the headlights every time her so-called great catch acted abusive. Thinking back, it¿s clear to see that Sam was in way over her head, but with only the other girls in her neighborhood (who were all in the same situation) to look to for advice, Sam never really had a chance.There was a lot of talk about how smart Sam was in regards to her writing, but I guess it was all book smarts and not street smarts. She continually acted rather foolishly for most of the story, caught up in the wash of a baby mobster's bad behavior. Though every adult in her life tells her that she should get away from Tony, Sam continued to be naive and trusting of a man who was just no good for her. A lot of the time she came off as a bit backward and seemed to have some underlying self-esteem issues that halted her progress when it came to leaving Tony. I also didn¿t like that she constantly made excuses for his behavior, even when no excuse could have sufficed, and it was bothersome that she kept changing her behavior and attitude to model the type of behavior that Tony demands. As Sam gets more and more i
ReviewsbyMolly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well, how do I start off this review? It's not a bad book. Let's start with that. It's different. This is a book about a time of poverty, and of longing for an escape to a better life. A book about mobs and gangsters. Definitely not the style of book that I would normally pick. But, as always, I feel every book deserves a chance, and then an opinion formed. This book is wonderfully researched. The depth of the story lies in the way the author created a real to life feel to the story. A time period during which a mobster has a woman and he controls her, even abuses her. VERY emotional on that end. The characters are as deep and complex as the plot, created a gripping novel. So, in conclusion, while not a terrible book, it is still not my favorite. There were some things about the book, like it's not my style of plot and the abusive situations weren't my favorite, but over all, it is one that I would suggest you try. It's deserving of 4 stars for the complexity and the depth the author uses. I will be looking for other books by this author in the future to see what other talent she holds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book.
LhKS More than 1 year ago
Entertaining and easy to read. This book will not take you long to read and that is good because you won't want to put it down. I enjoyed this book and recommended it to several people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sparklenurse More than 1 year ago
This was a fabulous book. Great debut novel. Besides the content, she really creates a suspense that keeps one engrossed. Having grown up with many characters like those in the book, being a former new Yorker......the book was just incredible. I felt like this was the emotional sequal to Saturday Night Fever. Having graduated high school in 1977, and growing up in New York, we were all exposed to this lifestyle. It reveals the vulnerability of young girls growing up in that era. Great writer, loved the book, I couldn't put it Down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The idea was good but it ended up coming off very contrived. Complete lack of editing too - issues with continuity popped up several times and lots of subjects were brought up out of nowhere, then dropped completely. "I hadn't seen Tony since he dropped me off" when the story clearly says she took the subway home by herself after their last date. Father Rinaldi in the church - he didn't give her the money, Janice did, so what did he put in her hand? Things like that were rampant and distracting. The bridge metaphor was *way* overdone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cullen0114 More than 1 year ago
After seeing the great book cover and reading the inside jacket, I wanted to like this book, but sadly, I did not. For her first novel, my main problem were the dialogues between her and her friend, her boyfriend and most egregious, her priest. In every chapter it seemed forced and painfully stereotypical of "New York" talk. It made me cringe. The main character's mother is so oddly fragmented and under developed, leaving me wanting to know more about this very troubled figure and her impact on her daughter. The amateurish dialogue was written so poorly that it made me wonder, where in the publishing of this book was her editor? The story was lost on me through all of this and although I finished it, I felt this was a book that needed major rewrites and maybe should have gone right to paperback. I applaud anyone on their first try on a novel, but I feel the editor really let her down to allow this to go to press.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the summer of 1978, fifteen year old Samantha Bonti of Bensonhurst dreams of becoming a writer living on the other side of the Brooklyn Bridge. Being half-Jewish and with no father in the household since her Italian dad abandoned her and her mom, Sam is treated as a pariah by the Italian Catholic neighbors. Her Jewish mother Joan is filled with rage at humanity including her daughter and alcohol fuels her bitterness; while Grandma Ruth is her cheerleader encouraging Sam to go for it. Sam's BFF is fellow outcast Janice Caputo who loathes her heritage that she sees as stifling crap in which males thrive to be the next great gangster. Sam's world spins out of control when she meets half-Sicilian, half-Dutch Tony Kroon, a mobster in training. She falls in love with him as she believes he understands her dual heritage. However, Tony warns her to never question his work. Her mom normally ignores her but tells her to dump him as he is no good; Grandma Ruth tells her bubelah to drop him before she loses her dream and becomes her mother's clone. This is an entertaining character study of a teen seeking to belong while also dreaming of escaping to that other island across the water. Sam makes the tale work as readers will dream a little dream with her (paraphrasing Mama Cass) while also wondering whether she will cross the East River to truly go after her desires or remain in Brooklyn with Tony who climbs the ladder of his chosen vocation. Harriet Klausner