Breathing Room

Breathing Room

by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Breathing Room 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love how this author writes her novels. Every single one has more things involved that actually tells the reader how they may deal with situations. Its not all about love, it tells you what happened in a characters life and what they have conquer in order to move forward. Another thing that i love about her books is the fact that they are helarious and they just make you want to read on and on and on until the book is done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are a person that buys or reads books on the reviews given by readers, then this is definitely not a book for you. While I am still fairly new to SEP I actually enjoyed breathing room so much so that I couldn't put it down, while the story line in a bit out there in terms of what brings the characters to the current predicaments they find themselves it is a well told story, with well thought out plot development. I like good story telling that keeps me intrigued, if that's what you're looking for then this is definitely a book you'll enjoy reading. Besides, I thought the whole point of romantic fiction was to take you to another place, and that exactly what she does.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got done reading the book for the second time and I still could not put it down. I am a big SEP fan anyway, but this is one of my faves. Sure it is a bit outlandish at times (especially the ending) but that is what reading is all about in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have recommended it to many friends who have also really loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Susan Elizabeth Phillips books. I LOVE most of them and really like the rest....except this one. Definitely the worst, I would just skip altogether.
Always_A_Romantic More than 1 year ago
I just stumbled upon this author recently and have been pleasantly surprised. I loved "Match Me If You Can" as well as "This Heart of Mine" and "Natural Born Charmer". I planned on reading all of her books but this one gives me pause. I'm only half way through it and I don't think I can finish it. I don't like the hero, Ren, (very unbelievable) and Isabel just hasn't developed along with the story as far as I'm concerned. I think I'll go on to another of her books and hope for the best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
right so i find susan elizabeth phillips a fantastic writer but this book was absolutely terrible. the female was boring and punch-in-the-face worthy. if i could give it negative stars i would. oh and there is absolutely no plot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was excellent! I highly recommend it. I've already read it 3 times in the past year and each time is as good as the last! The author makes you feel like you're there...almost like watching a movie. It was great.
Tess89 More than 1 year ago
I agree with one of the comments. I liked a lot "Natural Born Charmer" and I wanted to read more of this author hoping to have nice relaxing time when reading. Unfortunately "Breathing Room" gives me pause too. I could not finish this book. This romance is so plain an boring. I hope that other books can be better. This book was really bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! and im not lying. SEP is my fav author and this book was another one of her successes. SEP has a unique way of writting, she has an incredible way of thinking. I LOVE HER BOOKS AND I LOVE HER! you go SUSAN ELIZABETH PHILLIPS
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hard for me to 'breathe' with this one, it was too awful. I had this book for a long time until I got around to reading it. This was a good thing because by now I¿ve forgotten what I paid for it so, I¿m not sure how much of a waste of money it was. Isabel¿s negative traits: self righteous, controlling, arrogant, obsessive, superior, annoying, boring, judgmental, and prissy. Those are just the ones I can think of offhand. Her positive traits: OK, let me think a minute, I'm sure there's something. She seemed to like kids? Her fiancé left her after falling in love with a frumpy older woman whom he had gotten pregnant. Her accountant ran off with her money. Her career tanked. But that didn¿t stop her from assuming she knew what was best for everyone else and telling them about it! She¿s definitely not in a position to give advice! Heal Thyself! Ren was a likeable enough guy and nowhere near the bad boy the media would have you think. He was however either stupid or masochistic or both to get involved with Isabel. What could a man like Ren possibly see in this woman? Or really any man for Pete¿s sake. And how could she appeal to a man after she dictated her list of rules for them having sex? Can¿t do this, can¿t do that, I¿m in charge, I call the shots. Can you say 'kill the mood? And what was with the last couple of chapter¿s? For awhile there I thought I¿d dozed off and woke up in another book! Castle ruins, lightning, goddess (yeah right), statues (cue dramatic music). I can highly recommend Ms. Phillip's 'Kiss An Angel' which is one of my favorite books. Also 'It Had To Be You'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was dissapointed in this book. I've read nearly all of her books, and love them, but in this book her characters weren't realistic and the heroine was a woman that I don't think I could have even been friends with. Don't give up on SEP after this book though, she's a terrific writer, usually.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really like Susan E Phillips and I totally savored 'This Heart of Mine' - and, so I was eagerly looking forward to 'Breathing Room'. I was so disappointed!! The only thing this book did for me was make me want to book a flight to Italy. Other than that, the characters were boring, the premise was stupid, and the ending over the top. What has worked in other books (poor but beautiful woman meets bad but intelligent boy) needs an overhaul. Too bad.
LesaHolstine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dr. Isabel Favor is America's favorite advice guru until she loses everything. Lorenzo Gage (Ren) is the actor everyone loves to hate as a villain. When they meet in Tuscany, sexual sparks fly.
siubhank on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first of Phillips' books that I read. In addition to a great romance and beautiful descriptions of Italy, this book has one of the best lines I've ever read in any book; "He watched her moving through the crowd. Because of his years of doing soap operas, he knew exactly what was happening. Isobel's evil twin had come to town." I go back to the book and read that chapter over time and again, just to get the impact of those lines.
magst on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Susan Elizabeth Phillips is at her romantic, sexy best with "Breathing Room." You'll fall in love with Tuscany, the food, the atmosphere, the people. Isabel, the heroine, is funny and flawed and you just might recognize yourself in her. As for Lorenzo Gage, I haven't come across a hero this funny and sexy in far too long. After years of reading romance novels, I thought I'd read just about every way there was to write a sexy scene, but Ren and Isabel in the vineyard with a single grape was one of the most erotic scenes I've ever read.
Amy_Atwell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very seldom reread books, but I've read this one at least five times. I love the characters and the author's sense of humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just love these characters. Ren & Isabelle are 2 of my characters SEP ever created!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good, funny and uplifting.