Breaking the Rules (Troubleshooters Series #16)

Breaking the Rules (Troubleshooters Series #16)

Audio CD

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Breaking the Rules 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 250 reviews.
frosty1 More than 1 year ago
The story was good, but seemed to keep going on and on, it kind of jumped all over the place and didn't seem to really flow. I had major issues with the characterization of Jenn. In the last book, she was described as plain but pretty and almost cute, tall but not overly overweight. In this book she is described as 'larger-than-large & amazon size'. Which is it? I had head that Mrs. Brockmann will be taking a break from writing the Troubleshooters series, and I think it is time to take a break. Troubleshooters only came in to play for about 20 pages of this book, how can it be classified a Troubleshooters book, with no Troubleshooters? Not only that but this book left more questions than answers, Lindsay loosing another baby, then is just okay with it?? On what planet? I hope if this series is restored, we can get back to the actual Troubleshooters.
cooksnook More than 1 year ago
Ms Brockmann stopped writing for the entertainment of her fans a few years ago. Now it more like shes shoving her views down our throats. There was a time when I couldn't wait for her books
harstan More than 1 year ago
Navy SEALs Izzy Zanella and Danny Gilman have a long standing grudge. When the former met the latter's sister Eden, he fell in love. She became pregnant with someone else's child, but he stepped to the plate and married her. When she miscarried, she also gave up on a heartbroken Izzy. Danny blamed Izzy for his sibling's unhappiness Meanwhile Danny and Izzy work a mission in Afghanistan in which the former is wounded and the latter saves his life but almost dies doing so. After a hospital stint in Germany, they come home to learn Eden is trying to rescue her teenage younger brother Ben from their abusive stepfather Greg and his mother Ivette. They head to Vegas along with Danny's on again and off again girlfriend Jennilyn LeMay to help Eden. When Ben rescues Neesha from a child prostitution ring, Eden and Izzy protect her as the mobsters come for their merchandise, but snatch Ben instead. The latest Troubleshooters romantic suspense is a double dose of second chance at love inside of a family affair. The story line is action-packed in Nevada and Afghanistan, but it is the cast that makes this so much fun as the Gillman crew play first violin in a wonderful thriller. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really sorry I bought this one.....too many thoughts/thinking that to me wasn't very intertaining at all. I skipped thru the first part of the book and just read for the plot....her first books are a lot better and at least I know what the people have been up to since the last book. Bummer.
JacksonvilleReader More than 1 year ago
I've read all Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooters books and I have to say this was not that good. The book could have been cut in half if the characters' whining had been kept to a reasonable level. The actual story was good, but the writing was long and drawn out. Izzy doesn't trust Eden who doesn't trust Izzy--back and forth, back and forth. I actually ended up skimming page after page just to get to the end of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this whole series and once again it did not disappoint me!! Could not put it down. Sam and Izzy are my favorites so once again found myself laughing out loud at Izzy's crazy personaity. The only thing disappointing is that the author is taking a break from the series!! Hope she reconsiders!!!!!!
TammySt More than 1 year ago
waited months for this book. Into the Fire (#13 in this series) was the best of all of them. This was the end of the series and no mention of Deck at all!!!! Want my $12.99 back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a disappointment to me. I had looked forward to reading and was very disengaged with the first two or three chapters.
Glenajo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Breaking the Rules, Brockmann weaves the stories of three of the Gillman siblings, Danny, Eden, and Ben, along with Izzy Zanela together into a wild ride through a typical Brockmann novel. The Gilman family is the epitome of dysfunctional, with an alcoholic, drug abusing step-father and their equally substance abusing mother. The siblings struggle to leave the abusive mess behind as they attempt to move on with their lives, only to be pulled back into the sewer that was their home. Sprinkled liberally with profanity and sex, the story is still totally engrossing and enjoyable. Brockmann builds such deep characters that the story flows from beginning to end as the reader races to discover what happens.
julie.billing on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Brockman's characters are good as always. A little longer than some of the other books but not a bother.
SuseGordon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Izzy & Eden Zanella, Dan Gillman and his girlfriend Jenn are all running around Las Vegas trying to save Eden & Dan's little brother Ben from some of the worst parents while being chased by evil predators because of a young girl that escaped from a sex slavery brothel... all while trying to either ignore or convince their respective partners that they do love them!
kmartin802 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Zanella and Gilman get their romances in this 16th Troubleshooters novel. They are in Las Vegas to rescue Ben who is the younger brother of Danny and Zanella's wife Eden. He is gay and his stepfather is determined to send him to an abusive retraining facility to "cure" him. The story also concerns child prostitution in the person of a young girl Ben meets and befriends. Both Zanella and Gilman have major misunderstandings and miscommunication going on in their romances and need to work them out while rescuing Ben and being pursued by those who don't want their involvement if child prostitution to come to light.
lynnm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As usual, Suzanne Brockmann is so very easy to read. Her writing always goes down so smooth, like a well blended chocolate milkshake.But also as has been the case with her last few installments of the Troubleshooters series, this book provides an uneven read. Some characters are fantastic (Izzy, Ben, to a small degree - Eden) and others are either completely annoying and irredeemable (Danny Gillman is NOT a hero) or basically useless (Jennilyn is TSTL for putting up with Danny the Tool). The story itself is adequate although a good 2/3 of the book is devoted to either vast amounts of introspection or dithering about why one character does or does not trust/love another character. Only the last quarter of the book involved any form of real action. This is unfortunate because the central Big Bad - a ring of child prostitute human traffickers - is a real evil that deserves thorough treatment.And also unfortunately, Brockmann uses this vehicle as a bully platform for her pro-Gay Rights agenda. While I am firmly in the pro-Gay Rights camp, I find being hit over the head with how truly eeeevil anti-gay people are to be a bit tiresome. I do believe that those conversion camps exist and are probably not only vile to the nth degree but possibly even illegal, Brockmann is preaching to the choir. I'd much rather get a dose of see-gay-people-are-normal-and-great via Jules Cassidy or giving Ben a bit more power over his own life.While I'll always look on the Troubleshooter series fondly as one of the best written and most entertaining in contemporary romantic fiction, I do think the quality of the stories has declined over the course of its run. I'll go back to "Out of Control" and "Over the Edge" and "Flashpoint" for my rereads. This one will probably get dusty on the proverbial shelf.
elf2060 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another rollicking tension-filled masterpiece by Brockmann. Vivid descriptions of the dangers that face our intrepid members of the military interspersed with a riveting story that adeptly interweaves sadly accurate fact with fiction make this an enthralling read. The angst-ridden relationship between Izzy and Eden is finally addressed and a spotlight is focused on the seamy underworld of child abuse, both physical and mental. A fantastic addition to the fascinating series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book Izzy and Eden were over the top entertaining and throw in the family dynamics it was a real page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SandraHoover More than 1 year ago
Breaking The Rules, Troubleshooters #16, covers about every social situation you can think of as Brockmann continues her campaign of tackling the big issues head on - dysfunctional family, abusive parents, child sex trafficking, prostitution, life as a gay person, religious cult-like interventions, kidnapping, alcohol/drug addictions, custody issues, emotional immaturity, relationship phobia, lack of communication . . . it’s all here.  At times, it borders emotional overload, but this author (one of the queens of multiple plots) weaves it all into a spellbinding story that kept me turning the pages.  Family dynamics plays a major role in Breaking The Rules.  Most of the book centers around the extremely dysfunctional Gillman family and the problems that occur when Eden resolves to get her little brother Ben away from their abusive step-father.  The danger level escalates when Ben gets involved with Neesha, a young, homeless girl who managed to escape imprisonment by child sex traffickers.  Izzy steps in to help Eden, resulting in Izzy and Dan having to work through their differences to do what SEALS do – Save the day! I’ve been waiting for Izzy’s story since he first strutted across the pages leaving one-liners in his wake.  I’ve always felt there was a greater depth to this man who used jokes as a shield.  Izzy can be so funny & flippant, but he’s also smart, protective, dependable, passionate, and so HOT.  The sexual chemistry between Izzy and Eden is like matches & gasoline – explosive!  But the miscommunication between these two is a killer as their lack of trust in each other almost does them in.  The same issue exists between Dan and Jenn.  They love each other – problem is how do they make each other believe it?  Per Brockmann style, readers are treated to more than one story/romance in Breaking The Rules.  While there were times I wanted to slap some sense into both couples – Izzy & Eden and Dan & Jenn – it was a satisfying journey watching them fumble their way to a hea.  Add in detailed plot lines rich in emotional turmoil, action, and lots of sex and you’ve got another great addition to the series!  A Must Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I own and love everything SB writes and was looking forward to Izzys story. This was a huge disappointement that dragged on in a wishy washy fashion where you did not care if they ended up together. I especially could not get into an 18 yr old female lead. yikes. you know they will be divorced in 2 yrs!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must admit, this is my very favorite of the whole series and the one I most frequently return to when I want to reread parts of the book-- My second favorite is when Sam finally wins the love of his life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago