Bound by Night

Bound by Night

by Amanda Ashley

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bound by Night 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 157 reviews.
thecollector0 More than 1 year ago
I love this book. So hard to put down and I would reread it again.
rox1814 More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down. Solid characters. Great plot. Leaves you wanting more. Would highly recommend. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was okay, I think I lost a few brain cells reading this book. But I will say it was entertaining and a nice little break from reading the classics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall this book wasn't terrible. I thought it was well written and for the most part the plot moved along well for me. However, I was diappointed by the female lead. She seemed relatively weak to me. She would always go along with what the male lead said and rarely stood up for herself. It's hard to get behind a character who is so down on herself. With that said, did enjoy the strong male lead, but I think he could have had better interactions with a stronger female lead.
rwhi17 More than 1 year ago
Didn't expect this book to be good at all. As a fan of paranormal romance novels-you get some good ones...but you get a LOT of bad ones. This one was great! Couldn't put it down! I'll be ordering the next in the series, and reading more of this author in the future.
TSteiner More than 1 year ago
Bound by Night is a sensual tale of old school vampire lore, filled with burning passion and the hurdles lovers will endure to keep it. Elena Knightsbridge is a young woman who has had a hard life. After the death of her parents she is relocated to Romania to her Aunt's home. Years later and after more loss in her life, she is isolated and trapped with her Uncle who has just proposed marriage to her. With nothing to her name, she does the only thing she can do to escape - RUN! Drake Sherrad has lived for over 500 years. Times have changed and he is starting to question his existence. On the night he finds Elena in his home, he is intrigued with her. He has something new and challenging to discover not to mention tasty too. Panicked and scared, Elena runs out into the night to the only place she can go for the time being, the abandoned Wolfram Castle. The castle is far from abandoned. Drake returns home after a night of hunting and finds the alluring creature in his lair. Their attraction is immediate, but is cultivated slowly over time. Their love is forbidden and riddled with challenges. As we venture into the secret world of vampires we are taken on a journey of unbridled passion, deception and change. The story had a familiarity to it, but yet felt unique. Drake had abilities that fell into the mysterious category and these vampires really did have an old world feeling about them. Elena is a modern woman, but she grew up old fashioned due to the remoteness of rural Romania. Bound by Night is very sensual. The sex is obvious but not described in details. The acts of seduction and kissing were more in depth. Your imagination has the ability to soar and blossom under Ms. Ashley's storytelling. Her new vampire universe has some incredible twists and turns in it, along with the warm comfort of the familiar. The potential of the series is fascinating and will be a pleasure to read. I'm ready to dive right into the second book in the series - Bound by Blood - available now.
peggypea More than 1 year ago
Yes this is a real love story,no porn soft or otherwise.Read a lot of supernatural books this was better then most.Can't wait for my pre-order of Bond by Blood.Amanda Ashley my new favorite Bravo!!!
Book_Monster_Reviews More than 1 year ago
BOUND BY NIGHT by Amanda Ashley Book Title: Bound by Night Author: Amanda Ashley Release Date: August 30, 2011 Genre: Paranormal Romance A Vampire's Kiss Is Forever. . . Once featured in a horror movie, the crumbling Wolfram estate is said to be haunted by ghosts, witches, and worse. But Elena doesn't believe a word of it-until she spends the night and wakes up in the arms of a compelling stranger. . . Tall, dark, and disturbingly handsome, Drake is the most beautiful man Elena has ever seen. For centuries, he has lived alone, and Elena is the first woman to enter his lair-and survive. And Drake is the first man to touch her heart and soul. By the time she discovers who he really is-and what he craves-it's too late. Blood lust has turned to love, and Elena is deeply under Drake's spell. But forever comes at a price for each of them. . . "Bound by Night" is the first book in Amanda Ashley's new BOUND series. It starts off with Drake going back to Wolfram Castle to hide out from his family. Drake is the first born son of Rodin, Master Vampire of the Carpathian Fortress. Drake does not like the rules and ways of his people. Being the first born son to the Master Vampire, Drake is intended to take a seat on the Council and to marry a vampire woman of his father's choosing so he can breed and carry on the family line. Drake has been defying his father's wishes for over 300 years and runs off to Wolfram Castle whenever he wants to get away from his family. Emily Knightsbridge is currently living with her uncle, Tavian Dinescu. Her parents both died and left her in the custody of her aunt and uncle and has resided with them and her cousin Jenica since. After her aunt passed away, Jenica used to tell her horrible stories of how her father (Elena's uncle) raped and abused her. One day Jenica disappeared and the uncle told Elena that Jenica ran off with one of the boys from town. Now, uncle Tavian has decided that he wants to marry Elena and constantly tries to make advances on her. Elena, scared and horrfied runs away to Wolfram Vastle because she thinks it is abandoned and no one will think to look for her there. In walks Drake and the story unfolds.. I really liked this story. Elena is an innocent and very kind hearted. She decides to put her trust in Drake because he is the only one who can stop her uncle from claiming and marrying her. Even after learning that Drake is a vampire and Elena sees firsthand why Drake does not want a part of the Carpathian Coven, she still sticks by him. Drake is bound by obligations to his father and his people that he wants no part of. He is constantly trying to look for ways out of it. He does not want to think of Elena and be with her but that's all he can think of anymore until he can't picture being without her. Drake finds himself stuck right in the middle of the Carpathian Coven and has no way out of it. There are so many things that happened in this story. I can't get into it without spoiling it so you're going to have to read it to find out. Everyone that has read Amanda's work before knows that there are no steamy and smutty sex scenes. They are more romantically told and not as visual but still just as great. I am definitely looking forward to the second book in the BOUND series, "Bound by Blood" which will be released on September 27, 2011. I give this book 4 stars.
Shannon Gursky More than 1 year ago
This book just drags on and on. Wish I had not wasted my time or my money.
Latrine_Eyre More than 1 year ago
I was very happy with this book. It has 258 pages so you no it wasnt a short short I hate those whats the point of writing a short story with an ending that doesnt have a end nut it ends!! Cant wait for the next one!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Drake the vampire purchased Wolfram Castle four centuries ago. Although he has modern devices like an IPOD and better facilities to stay at he never modernized the rundown castle; he comes here when he needs quiet time alone. After her parents died, Elena Knightsbridge moved in with her Aunt Henrietta, her Uncle Alfred and her cousin Lucinda. Henrietta has since died and Lucinda eloped. She fears her uncle who has been caressing her and insists they marry as they are not blood related. Elena flees to the haunted castle as ghosts are better than her uncle. Elena falls asleep on the couch. Drake knows a human female is inside. He tastes Elena and decides her blood is sweet. While Alfred searches for his niece, Elena wakes up in a bed near naked. Later she meets Drake who invites her to stay. Elena asks Drake to marry her in name only and he accepts her proposal. His brother Stefan informs him their sire demands he return to the Fortress for the first time in centuries. Drake tells Elena she will be safe at the Fortress though he will be punished as vampires do not marry humans. The Ashley vampire world is fascinating though with today's social networking I have doubts a community of human sheep and drones could be hidden from society though one could argue cults do that very well. The lead couple is a solid pairing even with her being a victim of her uncle, her host, and her husband's family. The support cast is excellent as the sheep are unsure what freedom is. Although the lead couple pulls several Houdini tricks to stay out of trouble too easily, readers will enjoy Bound by Night. Harriet Klausner
DarkFaerieTales on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review Courtesy of Dark Faerie TalesQuick & Dirty: A light, sweet, enjoyable paranormal romance with some suspense and lots of naïve humor to keep you entertained.Opening Sentence: His favorite liar was in the remains of a castle that had been built only a few years before he had been turned.The Review:Bound by Night is the first book in Amanda Ashley¿s Bound Series. Drake is a 500 plus year old vampire who is weary with life and taking refugee in his favorite lair, Wolfram Castle. He discovers a human woman in the castle one night when he returns from a hunt. Elena Knightsbridge is a 19-year-old woman, who has run away from home and her cruel and perverted uncle. She had nowhere else to go, so she decided that she would stay at the old abandoned castle until she could decide what to do next. Neither would have guessed at the future that awaited them and the trials they would have to overcome to reach it.Bound by Night confused me a little at first because it reads like a historical romance. It feels like, as an afterthought it was changed to be more modern by adding some slang and references to modern conveniences. The characters themselves suffer from this as they seem at odds with the tone of the writing and did not always live up to what I expected of them. Elena was extremely naïve and childlike, instead of how I would picture a 19-year-old woman in this day and age. Her actions and thoughts didn¿t flow with the supposed time period. Drake¿s character suffered as well seeming to drift between acting his age with the old world mannerisms he grew up with and then flipping and acting as if he were a teenage boy. It felt forced, like they weren¿t being true to themselves as they should have been. I would have enjoyed the story more had Ashley just left it as a historical and let the characters be who they were intended to be.Drake defies his father and refuses to take his place on the council by marrying Elena and forsaking his arranged marriage. I was actually enticed by this part of the plot, learning more about the vampires and their politics, the rules of their hidden world. The second half of the book is completely apart from the first half as more characters are introduced as Elena and Drake are forced to face the consequences of their love. Their characters grow and you can see the love between them grow as well and it all seemed believable.Elena¿s uncle was repulsive and several times throughout the book I wished he would just go away already. I understood his role in the plot as the catalyst for Elena running away. He was a serious pervert and actually molested and raped his own daughter. After she ran away and the plot moved forward with the vampire politics, he just kept popping back up and I was hoping that Drake would just kill him already so I wouldn¿t have to think about him anymore.Bound by Night was a classic romance and despite the conflicting time period issues and the repulsion I felt for the uncle, I truly enjoyed it. It was a light and fluffy story that I could lose myself in for a few hours. There was torment, deception and some action to keep you interested and plenty of lovey dovey, gushy romance. I am looking forward to reading the second book in this series, Bound by Blood.Notable Scene:Elena sat up, her gaze moving over him. He wore black jeans and a long-sleeved white shirt open at the collar, the perfect foil for his long black hair and midnight blue eyes.¿Good evening, wife.¿She swallowed hard. ¿Drake.¿¿I trust you have made your choice?¿¿Do I really have one?¿ she asked with some asperity.He smiled at her, a wicked gleam in his eyes. ¿One always has a choice.¿¿I¿d like to get this over with as quickly as possible.¿¿You say that like you think it will be distasteful.¿¿Maybe it will, ¿ she replied flippantly. ¿I¿ve never made love to a vampire.¿¿Or anyone else,¿ he reminded her.She stuck her tongue out at him. ¿How do vampires make love?¿¿The same as everyone else,¿ he said with an amused gri
pollywannabook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyBOUND BY NIGHT never met a romance cliché it didn¿t like. If you can think of one, I guarantee you it¿s in this book. And yet, I still enjoyed it.The plot in BOUND BY NIGHT is jammed packed. It begins as a classic romance with a young girl fleeing her home and accepting an offer from a mysterious man. They share a Beauty and the Beast type courtship, fall in love, and the book almost could have ended there. Instead, the story shifts to focus on the repercussions of their vampire human relationship that defies vampire law. What began as basically a two character romance grows to include a huge cast of vampires, council members, drones, and human sheep (humans enslaved for feeding). The many storylines include arranged marriages, escaped prisoners, murder mysteries, political revolutions, and treason. It should have been too much, but again, I enjoyed it.While I was won over by the romance tropes and increased scope of the story, there were some aspects of BOUND BY NIGHT that failed to charm me. The book is set in modern day, but it feels much more like it was written as a historical and then the author went back and added a few references to iPods and jeans as an after thought. The dialogue, characterizations, behaviors, and locations are all what you would expect to see in historical novel, especially Elena. She¿s about as modern as blood letting.I don¿t normally talk about cover art in my reviews, but it bears mentioning that Elena in the book has black hair (something that is repeatedly mentioned) and yet is portrayed as a redhead on the cover. Potentially more problematic is the fact that the same models are used on the cover of the next book despite the fact that the story is about a different couple. It just seems to me that these are details that the publisher shouldn¿t have missed.Overall, BOUND BY BLOOD doesn¿t aim to break any paranormal romance rules, instead it embraces them and, as a result, gets away with using such a familiar formula. The next book in the Bound series is called BOUND BY BLOOD and will be published on September 27, 2011 and will feature one of the characters from BOUND BY NIGHT. I won¿t tell you which one so I don¿t spoil anything, but I expect more romance clichés, multiple storylines, and a few fun hours spent wondering why it all works.Sexual Content:Several brief, non graphic sex scenes. References to rape and incest. Multiple attempted rapes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I took a chance on this book because i love reading vampire and supernatural books, although they are usually of the teen variety, not romance per se. I swear i could not put this book down. I was very caught up in the story. I think it was well-written and as far as the romance goes, tastefully done. I loved how sweet drake was. Melted my heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic Paranormal read by Amanda Ashley!! She really knows how to tell a story & bring it to life!!! I admire her work!! Can't wait to read the sequel!!! :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sparkie1212 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this series..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just found this author and I love her easy reading style. I am Bound to Amanda Ashley and can hardly wait to read the next novel!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago