Bound by Blood

Bound by Blood

by Amanda Ashley

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.64 Save 2% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.64. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bound by Blood 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 101 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
As her college graduation present, her dad gives Kaitlyn Sherrad a little place in the country that happens to overlook Lake Tahoe. Kaitlyn loves her father Drake the Master of the Carpathian Coven vampire and her once human mother Elena (see Bound by Night for their tale). Her parents return to the Romanian Old Country on urgent clan business so she goes to her luxurious cabin alone. Kaitlyn meets and falls in love with casino owner Zackary Ravenscroft. However, she initially is unaware that he is a six century old vampire whose family loathes the East European clan as much as hers detests these upstarts over a two decade old incident. As the heir to the Carpathian Coven, Kaitlyn knows her beloved is forbidden fruit, but history apparently repeats the same mistakes especially with an unknown adversary plotting to take down the couple. The second Bound romantic urban fantasy is a delightful tale of forbidden love starring fully developed protagonists and a well rounded support cast that deftly ties up threads from the first thriller. The fascinating star-crossed second generation romance is fun to follow though the plot follows the expected course as there are no major twists. Still sub-genre fans will appreciate Amanda Ashley's wonderful paranormal romance. Harriet Klausner
thecollector0 More than 1 year ago
I love this book. So hard to put down. One of my fav.
Bukgoddess More than 1 year ago
Bound by Blood, Amanda Ashley's sequel to the soon to be released, Bound by Night reminds us that the saying "revenge is a dish best served cold" holds true! Twenty years later, a still unappeased grudge festering against Drake Sherrad, Master of the Carpathian Vampire Coven finds its way to the surface in the form of a threat against the most prized piece of his heart, his now grown daughter Kaitlyn. Kaitlyn, recently graduated from college finds herself wondering what to do now. A log cabin, a gift from her parents nestled in the forest of Northern California's Tahoe region, provides a quiet space in which to make up her mind. Gazing out of the cabin window that first night, movement brings a dark haired handsome man into view. Stepping outside to confront the mysterious stranger she tries to determine why she cannot get a sense of him or at least garner his thoughts, half-vampire as she is. Zackary Ravenscroft, a 600-year-old vampire and owner of the popular casino just down the hill also is asking himself the same question. Danger to Kaitlyn places Zack in a position to choose between the solitary life he has led thus far and the emotional ties he now feels and the protection he wants to provide. Which will be worse, the wrath of Kaitlyn's father when he learns the truth or the unknown enemy threatening her? Willing to take their chances together, Kaitlyn and Zack finds themselves preyed upon by both in an unbeknown repeat of the past which will test the love they have for each other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am half way thur the book, still nothing going on. How can they fall in love and not do it already. Book is boring, if ur younger u like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe if I were 14...
Brittany_M More than 1 year ago
Descended from a long line of Romanian vampires, Kaitlyn Sherrad is half-vampire and half-human. She can feel the sun on her face and eat real food, but she also possesses a thirst for blood and other preternatural abilities. Zack Ravenscroft is all vampire, one of the "Others," a natural enemy of the Romanian vampires. Over six-hundred years old, he was made not born. In all of his long life, he's never met a woman like Kaitlyn. They thirst for each other, feel incomplete when they're not with each other. Unfortunately, Kaitlyn's dad Drake wants to kill Zack. And Drake's enemies want to kill Kaitlyn. Both lovers have targets on their back, but they're willing to put their hearts on the line and fight for their happily-ever-after. Despite the blood and guts and hand-to-hand combat inherent in any vampire novel, BOUND BY BLOOD is a surprisingly sweet and innocent read. The obstacles keeping Zack and Kaitlyn apart are very real, and the well-paced conflict will keep readers turning pages to find out what happens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just didnt cut it- characterd were not believable
Redsky29CM More than 1 year ago
If you love Amanda Ashley and Vampires this is a must read. It keeps you on the edge of your seat with the mystery and drama watching as the family continues to over come the troubles of the past that ignite in the next generation.
DarkFaerieTales on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review Courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales Quick & Dirty: A fast paced, action packed, forbidden romance that keeps you on the edge of your seat.Opening Sentence: I remember it well, the night that Calin Sherrad, Master of our Coven, called our people together.The Review:Bound by Blood is the second book in Amanda Ashley¿s Bound Series. It is set about twenty-one years after Bound by Night and follows Kaitlyn Sherrad, the spoiled and innocent half vampire, half human daughter of Drake and Elena Sherrad, the couple from the first book and Zackary Ravenscroft, a 600 year old vampire who enjoys life in Sin City.Kaitlyn has just finished college and has decided to stay in the States, far away from her family and their protection. She meets Zack shortly after arriving at her cabin and feels an instant attraction and is drawn to him. Zack is a casino owner and is used to having a different woman every night but when he meets Kaitlyn he is puzzled by his extreme reaction to her and wants to explore the feelings that she brings out in him. Kaitlyn and Zack do not realize that they are more alike than they know and that their relationship will be put to the test because they are supposed to be sworn enemies and her father disapproves. Along with all that there is also an enemy who is out to get revenge on the Sherrad family, putting Kaitlyn in danger. Neither was prepared for the journey that awaited them on their way to happily ever after.Bound by Blood pulled me in from the first page and kept me entertained until the last page. The story is fast paced and moves along effortlessly as I feel in love with Kaitlyn and Zack. It was great to see characters from the first book and see how things were working out for them and to meet new characters and see a potentially new romantic story line for future books.I enjoyed this book much more than the first in the series because there was no confusion about the time period it was written in. The characters were more detailed and developed. This made them more believable and made you want to root for them to succeed and end up together. The romance between Kaitlyn and Zack happens so fast and they go from intrigued and curious to all out in love in a matter of a few pages. It works for this book but I usually like the love to develop a bit slower. There is plenty in this book to keep you entertained with the forbidden romance, revenge, kidnapping, and some heavy duty fighting all interwoven. There is so much packed into this book in terms of plot and story line that it could have been a disaster but Ashley pulled all these threads together seamlessly and the suspense kept me turning pages long into the night because I had to see how everything ended.On the whole, I was happy with Bound by Blood. It was a typical love story with a high dose of action and suspense to keep the reader entertained and interested. I will keep an eye out for any additional books in this series.Notable Scene:She rarely drank from a living source. Being only half vampire, she lacked the inescapable need to hunt, but there was no denying that taking blood from mortals was a pleasurable sensation. No one had ever taken her blood. What would it be like, to be prey instead of predator? To feel Zack¿s fangs at her throat? Driven by curiosity, she canted her head to the side, giving Zack access to her neck, only then realizing that she was putting her life in his hands. He was older, stronger. If he decided to drain her dry, she wouldn¿t be able to stop him.He must have sensed her sudden apprehension, because he said, ¿Its all right, Katy. You don¿t have to do it if you¿ve changed your mind.¿¿I haven¿t,¿ she said, and it was true. At that moment, she wanted nothing more than to nourish Zack with her life¿s blood.Murmuring her name, he bent his head to her neck.She had expected it to hurt, at least a little, but there was only a rush of warmth when his fangs pierced her skin, and then a flood pf pleasure that was sensual beyond
pollywannabook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyBOUND BY BLOOD picks up twenty-one years after BOUND BY NIGHT and features the daughter of the couple from that book who is fresh out of college on her own for the first time in America. Like her mother before her, I had some issues with Kaitlyn as a heroine. She came across as very young and naïve. I could have started a drinking game and gotten myself truly hammered by books end if I¿d taken a shot every time Kaitlyn or some other character said she `was a big girl now.¿ Zack, of course, was the different-girl-every-night type who inexplicably wanted to change his ways only moments after meeting Kaitlyn. Character clichés aside, I consistently felt like I was reading a romance novel from twenty plus years ago. Modern readers may get frustrated with some of the more outdated character portrayals and mindsets, but overall, it struck me as more nostalgic than anything else. On the plus side, the basic storyline is full of suspense and sprinkled with enough family drama, and vampire politics to keep the pages flying in this paranormal love story. Overall, I surprised myself by still enjoying this book despite it¿s formulaic plot, overly familiar character types, and excess of romance novel tropes. BOUND BY BLOOD is a fun, frivolous way to spend a few hours. The romance is on the chaste side, but the multi generational love stories feel authentic and kept a smile on my face while reading. If you like traditional romance novel formulas and want the added allure of vampires thrown into the mix, you¿ll enjoy BOUND BY BLOOD too. Sexual Content:Kissing. A couple brief, non graphic sex scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Bound By Night and absolutely loved it so i got this one, too. Really good. I love vampire and supernatural stories. Buy these books, they are great and you will not be able to put them down. The romantic scenes are perfect and not overdone. We need another book on Drake and Elena now, please!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this author! I'm 63 and can't get enough of her. Great follow-up to Bound by Night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice plot..... Good characters..... Nice flow.... Would recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Short story, strong female,alpha male. Enjoyable Escape. Everything you need in a story, just not long enough :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mi name is nathing and mi nursane is Other Nathing Bye boys
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed, romance, and family ties.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago