Bones of the Dragon (Dragonships of Vindras Series #1)

Bones of the Dragon (Dragonships of Vindras Series #1)

by Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman

Hardcover

$24.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bones of the Dragon (Dragonships of Vindras Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
vkl More than 1 year ago
This book begins a new saga by Weis & Hickman that is probably the darkest of their tales yet. The story and the protagonist starts out simple, and less patient readers might be initially surprised by the simplicity, but it rapidly spins into an intricate tale, twisted plots, and a very complex development for the main 'hero'. It is surprising how an intricate story came out from what seems at first like inconsequential choices the characters made, how each action spirals out to an unexpected but likely turn of events. Similarly, the uncomplicated, an initially too single-minded young protagonist too undergoes a transformation that he weaved for himself. It is a masterful orchestration showing how a complex storyline is forged from a collection of seemingly simple actions as well as an insightful look into the human psyche and nature of people.

Those readers familiar with Weis & Hickman's stories should note that this book is much darker, and will not convey the usual warm and fuzzy feelings that one comes to expect from their work. Despite this venture off the beaten path, with truly strong complex characters that one cannot help but come to sympathize, and an intriguing story unfolding it remains a masterfully written Weis and Hickman story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the book even though it was a bit hard for me to read sometimes. It took me some time to really get into the story but as it went on I really enjoyed how they presented Skylan as this arrogant little kid. Most of us can relate to that in some way shape or form. I will look forward to reading the next book that comes out in this series as soon as possible :)
Katdancin More than 1 year ago
I have read many books by Weis & Hickman and I found this book to be a little disappointing and very tedious reading. I kept skipping entire paragraphs and half pages just to get to the story. The story itself was very interesting, although a little disjointed in places; but for some reason it seemed like they just kept straying from the heart of the story and going off on these tangents which made reading it, as I said, very tedious and somewhat boring. I have to admit, I will probably read the next book out of curiousity and loyalty, which is why I gave it a 3 star raiting. This book was not a bad book, it was just...tedious.
sharmama More than 1 year ago
I bought this audio book as a birthday gift for my adult son. He and his family loved it! It turned out he and his wife had read books by Weis & Hickman in the 90's and were tickled to get a new book! They can't wait to get volume 2 by these authors.
phoenixcomet on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Skylan Ivorson is an arrogant ass, chieftain's son of a Vindrasi tribe, the Torgun, blessed by Torval, god of War, and extremely foolish. Skylan, Aylaen, and Garn, his closest friends are thrust together in an adventure to retrieve the Vektan Torque which was given to the ogres, by Horg, Chief of the Vindrasi Nation. The ogres bring news that the Vindrasi gods are dead and that the gods of Raj are the wave of the future. Skylan and company know that their gods are besieged, but the battle isn't over yet. This is book one of their adventures.
RRLevering on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I started this novel not expecting terribly much. I like Weis and Hickman's other stuff, but honestly they aren't the best writers and rely on interesting plot and a decent world to carry their books along, rather than good characters or writing style. This book surprised me in a couple of ways. First of all, the first half of the book is very bad - worse than I expected. I believe it was supposed to be the character development part of the book and this is not their forte. I very, very rarely don't finish a book and I seriously considered putting it down several times. The point of view is irritating in that it switches from being omniscient to being stupid in the exact same paragraph. The plot is stagnant and the characters are really not likeable. There are cold ones, stupid ones, lazy ones, evil ones, and any character that shows a glimpse of true likability is given backseat. But this point leads me to the only really good thing about the novel. I believe they are setting it up for a character redemption arc. As the novel progressed, I eventually found the main character tolerable and if he continues to change, I could actually grow to like him. This is a neat device and if it works usually gives the reader a stronger overall bond, since they can very noticeably see the character growth. Furthermore, the novel did get better in the second half by actually moving the character throughout the world and having some interesting, magical Odyssey-esque interactions. However, overall, I think this book will irritate more people than it will impress.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PainFrame More than 1 year ago
Sent by fire, water and oil. Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman hold a special place in my heart, their Dragonlance novels were my introduction to fantasy at a young age and I have always enjoyed every book of theirs (alone or together) that I have read. This time, they bravely forge a new world to play in by mixing fantasy and nordic mythology. That’s unique enough to grab my attention, but they also roll up some main characters that are not only interesting and complex, but also manage to defy my expectations at almost every turn. I couldn’t read this book fast enough, it’s compelling as all get out, not slow and plodding like some fantasy I’ve waded through. This story really moves and I was constantly engaged in the quickly turning narrative. I’m not sure how many books in the series there’ll end up being, but I know that I am in it for the duration. A fantastic start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In spite of some critical reviews, I am enjoying this book. One thing I agree with is trying to use language of the time and reverting back to 'modern' speeh. I rate it with three stars because I'm not finished with it yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Simplistic and shallow. Weis and Hickman both write better than this.
Skylan100 More than 1 year ago
This book was awsome!!!! Im only 12 and I can understand this book!!! If you like fantasy, gods, and dragons, you should totally get this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago