Body Surfing

Body Surfing

by Anita Shreve

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Body Surfing 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 118 reviews.
mj53 More than 1 year ago
Sydney is a kind, affectionate, beautiful, young lady whose first marriage ended in divorce and a seond marriage resulting in the untimely death of her husband. While trying to reestablish a new life, she starts by answering an ad from a wealthy family to become a tutor for a mentally challenged teenage girl, Julie, who lives in a New Hampshire coastal home with her proud mother and gentle father. Two older brothers, Ben and Jeff, both with absolute different interests and careers, join their sister and parents for a weekend visit and meet Julie's tutor. Both brothers have an intense desire to develop a relationship with the live-in tutor but each for a different reason. Unexpected events, including Julie's sudden disappearance, exposes the tumultuous relationship between the two brothers and the previously undisclosed dislike they have for one another. This book is about love, competition, jealousy, insecurities, forgiveness and diversity. Other books I have enjoyed by this author include "The Weight of Water" and "Sea Glass".
JessLucy More than 1 year ago
Anita Shreve's books are hit or miss for me, but this is definately one of my favorites. I loved the setting, the protangonist, and the ending. This book really surprised me throughout; I was never quite sure where the author was going. I like being surprised at the end of a book, and this one didn't disappoint. I also really enjoyed Testimony, The Weight of Water, and Eden Close. It's interesting how several of the books take place in the same house, generations apart. You may also enjoy the novels of Alice Hoffman, including: The River King and Second Nature. Also, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn was a touching novel.
PagesofComfort More than 1 year ago
I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this book. After reading Eden Close, I thought I would be in for another great read by Anita Shreve. The beginning was a little slow, but I kept reading to see if it would pick up and get more exciting. About halfway through the book, there was a little more going on, and I started to really like it. But then it just went back to a slow story line. It just didn't keep me really entertained like I was hoping. However, on that note, I still really love Anita Shreve's writing style. She describes things so eloquently that I can picture everything. When I read her books, they almost have a calming feel to the writing and I really enjoy that aspect!
sharlene_w on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Who hires a young divorced live-in tutor for their teenage daughter when they have two sons who might find the arrangement convenient? That is just one of many implausible points in the plot I found curious. It was an interesting read though with an unexpected twist. Goes to show what happens when you jump to conclusions or make assumptions without all the facts.
cwoodbell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved this for a quick summer read.
moonshineandrosefire on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sydney is once divorced, once widowed and decides to tutor the teenage daughter of the Edwards family. She arrives at their cottage and immediately the two older sons try to get to know her. There are tensions in the Edwards house that escalate when the daughter disappears and the closeness between Sydney and the brothers is threatened by jealousy in many forms. I enjoyed this book and give it an A+!
laws on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Anita Shreve and I loved it. The story just had a flow to it . I liked how she had sections of years instead of just making it all one story. This helped to show what was going on at the time and how/if any the characters may have changed. I plan on using this book in my book group.
bearette24 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure why this one got some poor reviews. I love how Anita Shreve combines a literary tone and eye for detail with soapy plots...a fun, plot-driven read that won't rot your brain.The book is written in a spare, poetic style. Though some people complained about the present tense, I didn't even notice. Many novels are written in the present tense these days! The story is set, interestingly, in a New Hampshire house that has appeared in 3 other Shreve novels (Fortune's Rocks, The Pilot's Wife, and Sea Glass). I thought this was a fun detail that added a sense of history/continuity and made the novel feel more "real."I thoroughly enjoyed the twisty (dare I say it--trashy! in a fun way) plot that focuses on a love triangle with one treacherous member.
KinnicChick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There are very few books in my life that I picked up and read all in one day. Body Surfing is one of those books. Sydney, age 29, has not had a terribly easy life thus far. She has had two marriages, one of which ended when she divorced her husband and the other ended when she was widowed. We meet her as she tries to start anew working as a tutor to the teen daughter of a well-off couple spending their summer in a beach home in New Hampshire. The story wends its way through three years of relationship changes and emotional stories before its conclusion leaving Sydney in a better place... or at least a hopeful one.
KC9333 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hated this book...choppy prose style was extremely distracting. Story was predictable......
smallwonder56 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story of a young woman who spends the summer at the beach house of the family of the girl she's tutoring. Two older brothers are both attracted to her for different reasons. Anita Shreve is one of my favorite authors. She's adept at observing people and relationships and getting to the core truth of both. I also love the fact that so many of her books take place in the same house in different periods of time. Body Surfing is just what you want a summer read to be--absorbing, satisfying and enjoyable.
skokie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great novel with a vivid writing style. Thanks to this book, visiting the New Hampshire coast is on my list of to-do's. The novel follows a young, intelligent woman as she blends into another family, falls in love, and faces some of her greatest fears. The author does a good job of asking whether being described as resilient can ever be a good thing.
catalogthis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I put this on my "to-read" shelf per cbn's recommendation, and I'm glad I did.The writing is sparse, almost minimal. Dialogue appears in brief exchanges, and scenes are rarely longer than a single paragraph. Present tense dominates throughout.Shreve illuminates these characters by showing us the push and pull between and among them... like an art exercise, drawing the negative space around the object rather than the object itself.
GlobalVagabond on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The prose style putme off at first - seemed broken and jumpy. But after a couple of chapters I got used to it. The story was a little predictable, but the characters grew on me and there were a couple of good surprises.
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First book I¿ve completed in a month. Maybe I¿m in a slump. This certainly won¿t be the book to get me out of it, though it was quite serviceable, a novel that leaves one feeling satisfied, with little things to think about, but nothing I¿ll remember in a year. Yes, perfectly satisfactory, but somehow I still want more.
jules72653 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great story incorporating the beach house found in other Shreve titles.
CatieN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sydney is 30 years old, twice married, one ending in divorce and the other leaving her a widow. Still grieving and at loose ends, she takes a tutoring job with the Edwards family who are staying at their beach house in New Hampshire for the summer. Mrs. Edwards is hoping Sydney can assist their daughter Julie in increasing her SAT scores. There is a mini soap opera surrounding the young Julie, but the bigger soap opera involves Julie's two older brothers, Ben and Jeff, and Sydney. Shreve is an excellent writer, but this is not her best effort. The characters of Ben and Jeff are underdeveloped for the important part they play in the book, and there are a number of far-fetched plot points.
LivelyLady on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Again, Shreve has taken the "abandoned/left behind woman" theme and again added a new twist. This is not her best, but as an audio it was a good distraction for traveling. She has skill and some good ideas, but I wish she would reconfigure her recurrent theme. Maybe she has issues in her life that need closure!
pdebolt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought the flow of this book was excellent, and I loved the way the chapters were separated. Shreve writes a very vivid picture of the characters and settings, which makes it easy to envision everything. The ending was startling, and it was an overall worthwhile read.
floppyrose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really had a hard time getting into this book at first because of the style it was written. But once into it I really enjoyed it. It was interesting to see how the brothers were towards one another and the family dynamics.
ashley_schmidt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An uplifting book about finding one's self... the imagery in this book is wonderful and will stay with you for a long long time.
alceinwdld on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very well written story of grief, betrayal, and the importance of family.
andiee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really did not like this book. I feel like the author was very distant when writing this book.
nperrin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wasn't expecting much from this book, and was pleasantly surprised during the first third. Anita Shreve writes with skill, although I could have done without quite as much description of what people are wearing - especially since they change their clothes at least twice a day. But she captures the scene of a WASPy New England family summering on the coast of New Hampshire perfectly.But by the last third, I started wondering whether she knew quite where she was trying to go with the development of Sydney and the course of her life, and the end felt a bit loose.I often find it difficult to enjoy books that are so focused on the emotions of their characters, because they seem somewhat false to me, but that is one problem I did not encounter here. Shreve nails the emotions in every situation, for every character, and it all feels just right. I didn't love the plot and felt the end was weak, but all the same this was an enjoyable read, and not as light as I had expected.
Gingersnap000 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Disappointed is the key word of this review. Six months ago read Ms. Shreve's Wedding in December and enjoyed the read. The characters in Wedding were far more developed than in this novel. You were never able to understand why a woman who had been hurt in romance would fall so hard and so fast for some one.