Blue Ridge Sunrise

Blue Ridge Sunrise

by Denise Hunter

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 20
MARKETPLACE
53 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blue Ridge Sunrise 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
bsnksmom 3 months ago
Zoe Collins grew up feeling abandoned, first by her mother who just walked out one day, then by her father, who never understood his free-spirited daughter. When her high school boyfriend, Cruz Huntley, also appears to walk away, Zoe takes her secret and the one lifeline she has and runs to Nashville with aspiring rock star, Kyle Jenkins. Five years later, Zoe is back in Copper Creek, the one place she never expected to return, and attending her Grandmother's funeral. When Zoe learns she has inherited her grandmother's peach orchard, everyone - especially Kyle - expects her to immediately sell the property and head back to Nashville. However, Zoe has not been happy for quite some time, and the peach orchard has always been a haven. Can she bring the orchard back, and make a life for herself and her daughter, while avoiding the one man who can make her life crash around her? What happens when she learns that Cruz is the orchard's general manager? Cruz Huntley's life was always a step away from abject poverty until he befriended Brady Collins. Spending time with Brady and his family saved him in many ways. When he began dating Zoe, it strained his friendship with her brother, but his love for the sister was strong enough to walk away when her father asked him to. Now that he's older, he should be over those pesky feelings, right? Zoe's return has proven that his feelings are still there, but can he get past the fact that she got involved with Kyle almost the minute they took a "break" from each other? Her daughter is proof of that - or is she? I kind of read this series in reverse, reading Honeysuckle Dreams and On Magnolia Lane ahead of Blue Ridge Sunrise. That didn't detract from the beauty of this story. Denise Hunter introduces her characters and makes her readers care about them, while giving them back stories that clutch at the heart. Cruz and Zoe's past bleeds into their present in such a way that it's hard not to pull for them. Romance readers will love this book, and if you're a fan of Denise Hunter's - as I am - you won't want to miss Blue Ridge Sunrise! Now that I've read them all, this one - and Sweetbriar Cottage - rank at the top of the series. I highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a quick read and the story was pretty good. Not the best I have read, but okay. A first read for this author and I might try another of her books in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved+blue+ridge+sunrise+what+a+great+story++
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Zoe Collins left her small hometown of Georgia and didn't imagine returning. She has a daughter and a boyfriend and when her grandmother passes away she takes them back to this small town to say goodbye, little does she know that this trip home will change her life completely. I recently wrote on this blog that I love a story where the character has to go back home and in doing so her life makes a huge change. This one was among the top with the others I have read recently. There are great secrets that will come out and worlds will be turned upside down, I love when a secret a character keeps comes out and affects more than just them.
mrskbookstogo More than 1 year ago
Even though Zoe is trying to keep it together for Granny's funeral, everything seems so unreal. Coming back to Copper Creek isn't easy. With many thoughts coursing through her, Zoe must try to find a balance with all of those she once knew. Kyle had stayed at the hotel with her daughter Gracie. Even though Kyle was being some what supportive, Zoe knew that some things weren't exactly good between them. Cruz couldn't keep his eyes off of Zoe. When Zoe spotted him, his heart "seized up." How could she be going through this alone? Sometimes it takes only a moment to rekindle what once was. Unfortunately, that moment comes the minute Kyle chooses to hurt Zoe and scare Gracie. Now Cruz will find a way to protect both of them, whether Zoe accepts him back in her life or not. Blessings can come in so many ways. Sometimes it can be someone having your back. Often times, it is a gesture of friendship. Many times it can be a "helping hand" when you are restarting your life. For Zoe, it all begins which Granny's leaving her the peach orchard. This will be her opportunity to walk away from her singing career, Kyle, and her past. Truth will be the only obstacle. As life unfolds, most of us must find the inner strength and determination to move forward. Zoe will need faith to take this leap. With characters that are truly simple, yet, completely complex you will recognize the strength and the hope. Even when we take a leap of faith to begin again, we still face challenges. This story provides the promise that "faith" is the ingredient in which one finds their way home. Enjoy, MrsK
Freddikb More than 1 year ago
Zoe never planned to return to Copper Creek, but life has different plans. When her grandmother dies, Zoe returns home for the funeral and plans to leave right after. And then she is told she has inherited her grandmother’s orchard. Zoe’s world is turned upside down. She has a daughter to raise, an abusive boyfriend to face, and a man from her past whose heart she broke. Will this move to the orchard be the best choice or one more part of her daily nightmare? This story was very engaging. It kept me hooked. Denise Hunter, as some of you may know, is one of my favorite authors and there is a reason for it. Her stories are real. They are sweet, tender, soul-searching. They are forgiving. This one is no different. *I received this book free from Thomas Nelson and The Fiction Guild in exchange for my honest review. What I have expressed are entirely my own thoughts and I have not been compensated in any financial way*
sandralb More than 1 year ago
I want to start by saying I am a Denise Hunter fan. I gave this book a four because I couldn't give a 3.5 star. The story starts with Zoe Collins returning to town for her grandmothers funeral. You learn right away that she has left home almost 5 years ago to run off, pregnant and not married, with another guy Kyle. They preform in Kyle's band, travel and live together, and now have become boyfriend and girlfriend. I read the second book Honeysuckle Dreams in this series first, by mistake. The same situation happens to Zoe's brother Brady. He believes he got a girl pregnant after too much drinking and a one night stand. Brady's real mother is not present in his life because she is a drug attic and left when he was younger. Maybe I am not being fare to Denise Hunter, if so I apologize. I enjoyed reading the book and I think Denise is an excellent writer. I think the last few books of hers that I have read are not the faith based style that I am use to. To me they step over the edge of qualifying under Christian Romance. Again, Denise is an excellent writer and I enjoyed this book.
LucyMR1 More than 1 year ago
According to the other reviews I feel differently, as I feel this is a story of a prodigal daughter who is trying to get her life on track after foolish mistakes and risks taken. Is it edgier...yes....is it true to life...yes. Not everyone lives a Christian life from birth and have to find their way back to their roots and need love and understanding, not harsh holier than thou judgement. I loved this book and felt it was well written and realistic. I could identify with the abuse and how Zoe lost who she was because of it. It was realistic and spot on. I loved how the characters developed and Bella is such a sweet bonus. Perfect example of how poor choices dictate our destiny unless we yield to our faith. I couldn’t put it down and loved the flashback chapters so I knew the full backstory. I’m not a big contemporary reader, but I loved this book. I received a complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson & Zondervan. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading this book.
Yamma1212 More than 1 year ago
Each time Denise Hunter releases a book, I know I'll love it. With that being said, Hunter's book seem to be getting more and more edgy for the Christian Fiction genre. Zoe and Cruz have a long history, but since Zoe was Cruz's best friend's little sister, they never openly pursued a relationship. Their relationship was kept secret, and Zoe left town. Cruz never got over Zoe, so when she returns to take possession of the orchard she inherited, both are faced with big decisions. Hunter deals with sweet and precious second chances and unconditional love, while wrestling with the realistic consequences of past sin. While we all have to deal with consequences of sin, I feel like the character's faith was definitely watered down, and could have been handled in a more positive way. I felt the relationship between Zoe and her ex, Kyle, was a little over-the-top dramatic, but then again, there are crazy people in this world, so it could happen. The tension was also necessary from a literary standpoint, so I understand why it was handled the way it was. I can't wait for the next book in the series! I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher, in exchange for an honest review, which I have provided here.
Ellen-oceanside More than 1 year ago
BLUE RIDGE SUNRISE by Denise Hunter. Thomas Nelson Publisher Expectation of others believe Zoe was born to run the orchard, she had a life before returning to Copper Creek. Same with her love life, now she is having to deal with her first love Cruz and her boyfriend Kyle. Tension is on the rise, and fills the pages. You get to know the characters they are well described, you wonder about the outcome. Her books are filled with good details and plot, that don’t disappoint readers. Given ARC by Thomas Nelson , for my voluntary review and my honest opinion
LoraineN More than 1 year ago
This is the first book that I’ve read by this author so I went into the story with an open mind. I love Hallmark movies and the “high school sweethearts – breakup – find themselves back together again – throw in a struggling orchard” felt kind of like a Hallmark movie storyline. I was a little thrown by the flashback/backstory of Zoe and Cruz’s relationship, which begins just after chapter six and is about ten chapters. Perhaps if the backstory was at the beginning of the book and then we caught up with them years later, I would have liked it better. This way felt disjointed to me and I think it kept me from being to invested in their story. Full review at my website. 2 1/2 out of 5 stars. I received this book in a giveaway. I was not required to give a review. All of the opinions I have expressed are my own.
Librarypage_Paralegal1 More than 1 year ago
This is actually the first Denise Hunter book that I have read. It was great! It is written in the here and now. I've read other reviews that point out that this book is not Christian fiction; however, I tend to disagree. The issues in this book, unfortunately, involve issues that some Christian families deal with today. Never say that it won't happen in your family because it can. This book was easy to read in just a few sittings and I had a hard time putting it down. I look forward to reading more of Denise Hunter's work.
bookbloggerKB More than 1 year ago
Blue Ridge Sunrise by Denise Hunter Zoe is living her dream of being a musician when she is called back home by her Granny’s death. She has been gone for five years and plans to attend the funeral one day and return to Nashville the next. However, her Granny’s will holds a surprise—she is now the owner of the family peach orchard. In a surprising turn of events, she decides to stay and run the orchard in Granny’s memory. She hopes to avoid the man who broke her heart five years ago, but as it turns out, he is now the orchard’s manager. Can the orchard survive and can Zoe remain there with the painful memories of her first love? This is not the type of book that I usually read, but how could I resist when I took part in a survey to determine the book’s cover? It was an easy read, not really a surprising one, but I did enjoy it. Although I didn’t identify much with Zoe, the plot twists did make me want to find out what would happen to the characters. The author left room for another book, perhaps featuring some secondary characters. If you enjoy a pleasant story line with a not-too-surprising ending, I think you will enjoy this book. I received a free copy from the fiction guild and this is my honest review.
Glorysong2 More than 1 year ago
Zoe returns to Copper Creek with her boyfriend and her daughter to attend her grandmother's funeral. She is expect3d to remain and run her grandmother's peach orchard. Growing up, she loved to help Granny work with the peaches. Does Zoe stay or leave to continue her music career? Mysterious things begin to happen with Zoe and her former boyfriend, Cruz, being accused of arson.. This was a very good book, just not quite as good (for me) as her others. What I didn't like was that it would go back and forth between the present and past with nothing clearly indicating whether it was past or present.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zoe returns home with her daughter and boyfriend, Kyle, for the funeral of her grandmother. She discovers her grandmother has left the farm to her. Will she stay in to run the farm or will Kyle convince her to sell it? Has Kyle got sinister intentions for Zoe? A good story.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
I received this book from The Fiction Guild. I was not required to give a favorable review. This is another book from Denise. Her writing draws you to each of the characters and it has done this with this. Zoe feels is a rebel. Her mom understands her but her father wants her to do as he says and that makes her feel small. Her brother Brody is close to her & so is her grandmother. But being the rebel she is she falls for her brothers friend but doesn't want to tell anybody. Singing is her passion, but her dad doesn't understand. Her mother get killed in accident visiting her brother in CA, and now it is just them. Kyle comes along and wants her for his backup singer for his band. But there are doubts between her and Cruz. She leaves town, but she doesn't tell him she is pregnant. But she comes home 5 years later for her grandmothers funeral. She has lost touch with everyone but her brother. But she get a shock. Her grandmother left her the family peach orchard. She can now leave Kyle and find herself & Gracie a home and maybe Gracie's daddy who is still in town. Little did she know he was working for her grandmother. Can they make it work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zoe's Granny loves her and encourages her independence. Her father wants to control Zoe. Cruz, Zoe's brother's best friend, grew up on the wrong side of the track and is in love with Zoe. Zoe's father never thought Cruz was good enough for his daughter. When Cruz believes a lie about Zoe, she makes some disastrous decisions and leaves her home town with Kyle to pursue a music career in Nashville. Five years later a very different Zoe returns home for her Granny's funeral with her daughter. Granny leaves Zoe her peach orchard hoping she will return to her roots. Will a more mature Cruz and Zoe find their way back to one another? Can Zoe make a success of the orchard? Will Kyle lure Zoe back to sing in his band? This is a story of forgiveness and second chances. It is a little sensual, so I would not recommend it for younger readers.
Davisc More than 1 year ago
Blue Ridge Sunrise by Denise Hunter Ever picked up a book and felt that comfortable feeling, that knowing feeling?. Knowing that as soon as you started reading you would be transported to another place, another time, another world? This is one such book. Immediately I was no longer in my world of work and worry, but instead I transported to Zoe’s world of Copper Creek, Georgia. Zoe returns home for her granny’s funeral with her boyfriend and her little girl Gracie. Zoe plans to leave as quickly as she came, but something changes in her when she finds out her granny left her the peach farm. Maybe this is her chance to get her life back and stand on her own feet, without her boyfriend’s constant berating. Blue Ridge Sunrise transported me to the town of Copper Creek and introduced me to some stubborn, warm-hearted real characters. I enjoyed my visit and I look forward to my next visit with the next book. Note: I do not recommend this book for younger readers. While it is a clean read, it’s heavy on the sensual.
Marilyn Kay DeFreese More than 1 year ago
Blue Ridge Sunrise is the first book in Denise Hunter's Blue Ridge series. In this book we get introduced to Zoe and Cruz and their friends and family. This book focuses on Zoe and Cruz. Zoe was madly and love with Cruz as a teenager five years earlier. She left abruptly from their town breaking Cruz's heart. She only returned to the town because her beloved grandmother had died, leaving Zoe her orchard. In the time that Zoe had been gone she now has a young child and a controlling boyfriend. She decides to stay there and manage the farm much to chagrin of her boyfriend. There are some rocky roads ahead as secrets are reveal. I was pleasantly surprised to this book has a bit of suspense in it being that suspense is my favorite genre. Someone does not want Zoe to succeed in the orchard business but who could it be? I was pleased at how the book ended. There were some clues in the book as to who the next hero and heroine will be. I'm thinking it could be her brother Brad and her best friend Hope. It will be next year before the book is released and I can't wait. Blue Ridge Sunrise is due to be released on November 7, 2017. Thanks to Netgalley and Thomas Nelson Company for providing me a digital copy of this book to read and review.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
Blue Ridge Sunrise is the first book from Denise Hunter's whole new series, Blue Ridge Romance. I read this book in one sitting. I loved it so much, I did not want to put it down. I felt an instant connection to Zoe. I knew what she was going through - the heartache, past secrets and regrets. This is a wonderful story of forgiveness, letting go, and moving on, while in a beautiful setting. I most definitely believe this is a must read and highly recommend it. 5 plus stars. I received this book from the publisher, but was not required to write a review. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
swimreadbreathe4JC More than 1 year ago
Blue Ridge Sunrise is the latest novel by Denise Hunter and is the first in the new “Blue Ridge Romance” series. As a Georgia girl myself, I’m lovin’ these books set in my home state! While this is in its own series, I was delighted to find references to the characters from Sweetbriar Cottage and The Wishing Season. Like any other by Ms. Hunter, I gobbled this up in practically one sitting; it did not disappoint! Zoe has always felt out of place in her own family. She went off to pursue music instead of a law degree, fell for the farmer as a teen instead of a rich young businessman or something, and had a baby at nineteen. Having now returned to her hometown after the death of her grandmother and inheriting her grandmother’s peach orchard, what will she do with her second chance? Will she stick with her current overprotective, abusive boyfriend, or is there a second chance with her first love? Will she settle down and run the orchard or continue to pursue fame? Although this had some similar vibes to Becky Wade’s Meant to Be Mine, it became its own story. Once I got the characters straight, it was fairly predictable, but still worth reading. It was cute, it was suspenseful, it was southern. And it oozed charm. The setting drew me in, obviously, but I stayed in the story because I fell for its characters. (Having just bought a bunch of peaches to enjoy while reading this story didn’t hurt either.) I really, really enjoyed seeing the characters grow and come out of their shells, learn to forgive and to let go of the past. This is a story with a lot of heart that you should not miss! 5 stars! Thank you to Net Galley and to Thomas Nelson for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review. All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive. *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*
BrittanyMc More than 1 year ago
Denise Hunter writes stories that I have a hard time setting down. They capture me! That was definitely the case with Blue Ridge Sunrise. The story centered around two people who loved each other, but were seperated years ago because of misunderstandings and lies. I enjoyed reading about Zoe and Cruz both in the present and in the past. They made mistakes, went too far physically, and ended up hurting each other. I really enjoyed seeing them make their way back together again and set right what had gone so wrong. I thought that the author handled the difficult topic of a controlling and emotionally abusive partner very well. I was a bit surprised by the way events unfolded with the abusive ex-partner, Kyle, but I was satisfied with the way it played out. Although this was a clean story, there was mention of the characters having become physically intimate in the flashback. It is only stated, not explicitly described. There are also a couple of references to the fact that Zoe was intimate with her ex-boyfriend Kyle. There was a light faith thread to the story, however, it leaned more toward clean fiction than inspiration fiction in my opinion. I enjoyed this novel and look forward to the next in the series. I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
BooksAndSpoons More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a Christian novel, but it is not. It does have God mentioned a couple of times, even few prayers are said when in trouble, but the characters, their lives or the story does not demonstrate a personal relationship with God. Also, there is pre-marital sex with consequences, yet that is not ever talked about it regarding their faith and it is applied that it has happened, with others, after the youthful incident. Just to get that message clear out there. I always review the books in their own category, so if this is not Christian romance novel, am I going to treat it as a contemporary romance novel? The story was engaging, there was some family drama, life lessons, problems with the ex, and trying to find their place in life mixed with the second chance romance. I liked the main characters, Cruz Huntley is a strong male lead with admirable character. He was a bit of a hothead as a young man, but he has grown to be a responsible, caring, generous man of good principles and forgiving mind. I loved his dedication to 'Bella' and his open heart and mind towards the sudden changes in his life. Zoe Collins had made some serious mistakes in her life yet I understood where she was coming from, how her father's behavior had driven her to doubt her own worth, and how low she was at the time when she found out she was pregnant. She is her own worst enemy with the doubts and worries of her character and abilities. Her growth through the story is remarkable, yet it takes a big step back right when I thought she had gained some ground. The constant shadow of Kyle and the lies that were easily believed shadow the new start in Zoe's life. The danger the threats from Kyle provided some spice and intensity to the tale, bringing it all to a high climax towards the end, with lives in danger. I liked the story, the plot had some surprises that not only gave this tale new turns but took the whole series forward. I just kept waiting for the revelation that would have come from the characters finding faith in God, growing in faith, and seeing the errors of their past. Since that moment never really came, I was left wanting at the end. Maybe if I would not have expected this, I would have enjoyed the story more, but as it is now, I give it ~ Three Spoons
joyful334209 More than 1 year ago
Blue Ridge Sunrise is a fantastic story about Star-Crossed love. You have two true love's who were together when they were younger - Zoe and Cruz - but when she hurt him so bad in a way you just can't believe. She then leaves town until her grandmother dies and she has to take care of the peach farm - she goes back to the farm - she shows back with her child and Kyle the man she cheated with on Cruz with - will she be able to handle seeing Cruz again? Do the Sparks reignite? Will she keep the farm? Can she handle being on the farm again? I received a copy of this book from the Publisher and Netgalley; all the opinions expressed are all my own.