Blast of the Dragons Fury (Andy Smithson Book One)

Blast of the Dragons Fury (Andy Smithson Book One)

by L. R. W. Lee

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blast of the Dragons Fury (Andy Smithson Book One) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
closkot More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!! ***I own this book, but the author was also kind enough to send me a copy for my classroom to share with my students The cover is awesome and reminds me of Sleeping Beauty where the prince is battling the dragon.  Of course it is a completely different picture, but that’s what jumped into my mind :) Okay when I started reading this book, I was confused as to what was going on which made it a little slow for me.  Of course, the confusion quickly cleared up.  I definitely found myself chuckling thinking my son would love this book.  Ah, who knew a fart could be so useful….lol  Totally my son’s sense of humor.  While I know this book is a middle grade book, I think most boys would find amusement and adventure in this book. As a parent, I love that it brings up issues of truth, honesty, integrity, and perseverance.  These are all things that tend to be difficult to teach our children, and I think the book does a fabulous job illustrating them.  I think I’m definitely going to have my son read this book or read it with him in the future. Andy and Alden are great characters and are easily relatable to readers.  Definitely plenty of adventure, and I can’t wait to start the next book.  I think this series will only get better with each book. I recommend this book to any boy who loves adventure, dragons, puzzles, and those who find humor in a fart (this alone will attract my son). 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was very interesting till the end can't say why without ruining it all I can figure is you must read the next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book with magical adventure, good and evil. Andy is sucked into a magical world that has a curse and tge king belives that Andy is the one whovcan break this terrible curse . Andy meets my friends along the way but he doesn't know weather he can trust them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome book graet book fir liitle boys
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It sounds like people LOVE this book so it must be amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AWWWWWSSSSOOOOMMMMEEE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have not read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.The end is confusing.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very childlike writing. Not meaning the technical writing is juvenile, but the story is obviously geared to the young, perhaps pre teen? So my low rating is a reflection of that. DMB
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book because it was action packed and entertaining
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WOULD GIVE 5 STAR EVERY TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
notrow1 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in a wonderful YA fantasy series. I loved it! Andy Smithson is a character I liked a lot. He's 10 years old and gets transported to a strange place where a curse has hung over the people of Oomaldee for over five hundred years. Sent on a quest by the King (who believes him to be the Chosen One) to help find the ingredients to a potential cure, he finds himself facing his fears and making friends. However, danger is never very far away and as the quest to find a scale from a red dragon heats up, Andy will have to use all his courage to succeed. I have been wanting to read this book for some time. I am a huge fan of fantasy tales containing dragons. I started this story and didn't put it down until I'd finished it. I found myself transported with Andy into a world that is continually surrounded by fog. I love the ingenious way the citizens have discovered a way to clear the fog for a period of time (it's rather stinky and kids would love this idea), however it is only a temporary measure and the fog (caused by the curse) returns. I must admit I found it a little odd that the king wore jeans and t-shirts when everyone else was still wearing medieval clothing. However, seeing as this is a fantasy, I suppose most kids would relate better to modern clothing (though I am not sure many kids aged 10 would know who Steve Jobs was, but I could be wrong). I really enjoyed some of the escapades Andy and his friend Alden get into during the quest. I think I liked Alden (and his memorable neon green hair) more than Andy, as he seemed a little more mature and less prone to whining. However, I also enjoyed watching Andy's character grow as he struggled with many difficult situations and emotions. This story takes the reader on an adventure full of danger, but it also teaches children the importance of acceptance of others, honesty, integrity, perseverance and truth. I am looking forward to sharing this book with the reluctant readers I am mentoring, as I feel this book would help them understand these concepts better. I must admit that the story, which ends on a slight cliffhanger, has left me looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Venom of the Serpent's Cunning, as soon as I can as I would love to know what happens next. L.R.W. Lee has written a fantastic YA fantasy story that swept me up and carried me away. I love her fast paced writing style, it kept me hooked, and the flow was wonderful. This is the first book I have read by this author but it'll not be the last. I highly recommend this book to young readers aged 9-12. Boys will definitely enjoy this book, but I think girls would too. I also recommend this book to adults who love reading middle grade YA fantasy. - Lynn Worton
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the story line. I like the underdog character Andy. The book caught my intertest when i got more into the chapters. I'm a little older , ok way older 35+ and I like adventure type stories. I like that the main character Andy is relitable , easy to like . I'm nerd at heart so i also like playing videos and reading good books like character and like how trouble follows while trying to do good but things just don't go his way. I could not put the book down, not once I got bored or lose interest. Its hard to find a good book like that. I can't wait to the read the rest of the books. A Good find. A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't put this book down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I to rich to get free book. #theprincessofengland JK to all who believed me (the princess of nothing)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hehe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago