Black Sunday

Black Sunday

by Thomas Harris

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Black Sunday 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Tyler Keith Anderson More than 1 year ago
Harris is an amazing author, best known for the Hannibal series of books, but his debut novel had me hooked from the very start! I highly recommend this book, I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wooohoooooo
Anagarika-Sean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An okay first novel. His writing got better with the advent of the character, Hannibal Lector.
sturlington on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Harris¿ first novel is a queerly prescient view of the world even 30 years after it was published. It follows three terrorists ¿ two Palestinian ¿freedom fighters¿ and a disgruntled Vietnam vet ¿ as they execute a frightening plan to explode a bomb over the Super Bowl and kill everyone there, including the President. A parallel story line follows the movements of the Israeli Mossad and CIA as they try to track down the terrorists, deduce what they are going to do and stop it.In the `70s, this book must have seemed like a fantastic thrill ride. Today, it¿s all too realistic. Even in his first novel, Harris¿ spare, precise style is evident. The book reads more like a screenplay than a novel, and for this type of story, that¿s just what¿s needed to keep the suspense honed.This was my second reading of this novel, and while I found it just as enjoyable and suspenseful as the first time around ¿ I didn¿t remember what happened in the end ¿ I wasn¿t quite as engaged in the story, perhaps because it had become so much easier to imagine something like this actually happening.
TulsaTV on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first book I have read by this author, and it is a terrific thriller. The main character's background is shown in depth, and all the detail really works. I hadn't been too excited about getting into his Hannibal Lecter books, but since this one is so good, and since I am a fan of "Dexter", I'll be checking out more of his work.
jhevelin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Some brilliant ideas, almost twenty-five years in advance of 9/11. Harris has a brilliant sense of human pathology, but he's not an especially good writer, and the last quarter of the book is very hurried.
badgenome on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thomas Harris' first novel, while not quite up to the level of some of his later ones (excluding the godawful Hannibal Rising), is a fine cat-and-mouse thriller with some taut moments. Later adapted as a Frankenheimer movie, it seems to have gotten a little bit of renewed interest post-9/11.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Proving that Thomas Harris can write about more than just Hannibal is BLACK SUNDAY. Terrorism is a real threat to our country currently and this story reminds us of how vulnerable the United States really is to outside and inside threats. Pact with action and great characters, the reader finds the end of this page turner comes to quickly. Many will compare this book to Thomas Clancy's SUM OF ALL FEARS and though I'm a loyal Clancy reader, I must say BLACK SUNDAY wins hands down. A must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A very realistic, supsenseful novel about a planned terrorist attack above the Super Bowl seems more timely now than it probably did when it was first published. Action packed throughout, this book really delivers.