Below

Below

by Ryan Lockwood

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.49 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Below 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a suspenseful, visual and interesting read. I really hope someone makes it into a movie! This book plays with the readers' emotions, because the antagonists terrorize us while also making us feel sympathetic to their plight, and we fear for the safety of the protagonists, who have enough emotional baggage to make us care about them. Although this is a work of fiction, this book touches on some of the important social topics of our time, such as illegal immigration and the impacts of climate change. As with all good works of fiction, the author has included enough factual information to make the story realistic, while also weaving in enough fantasy and intrigue, and a bit of well-placed humor, to keep me entertained, engaged and on the edge of my seat. In addition, he kept me emotionally invested in the main characters (both human and non-human!), which is a must for me as a reader. I think Mr. Lockwood has a very bright future as a writer and I look forward to reading his next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All I can say is “WOW!” This book is such a great read. Clearly, the author is well versed in marine biology and the art of science fiction. I could not wait to turn each page and find out what was going to happen next. The kicker – it could actually happen! I never would have guessed this was Ryan Lockwood’s first novel. This guy is sure to be the “next big thing” in the realm of science fiction. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Typically not my kind of read....but this new author had me hooked from the get go. So good I read it twice! Thought provoking and thrilling at the same time. Hope to hear more from Mr. Lockwood soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an excellent read.  It is informative and exciting.  The suspense builds from the front cover to the climax.  I highly recommend this to all adventure readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This well-paced page turner will keep you reading when you should be doing something else. With just the right amount of science fact and great story telling you'll find this marine thriller making you rethink what you know about our oceans and its denziens. Can't wait for Lockwood's next work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book grabs you and doesn't let go!  I would love to see it made into a movie someday!
soniarvanderson More than 1 year ago
This book is great, a must read!   If you are going to read anything this summer, read this book!  I hope to read many more novels by Ryan Lockwood!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down! A great summertime read. Scary, but also well researched and within the realm of possibility. If you're like me, and a enjoy a little bit of science with your fiction, you'll really like "Below". The characters are compelling, genuine, and engaging, and Ryan Lockwood is great at getting into the mindset of all of the characters and writing from their individual points-of-view, even writing from the point of view of the creature that lives "below" (No spoilers here. You're just going to have to read it!) Anyway, I highly recommend "Below" to anyone. Scary, compelling, based in reality, and just fun to read. By far the best thing I have read in a long, long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SPOILER ALERT!!!!!! Overall a very entertaining read. Reminded me of Peter Benchley's "Jaws". In this case the predator was thousands of large squid instead of a single great white shark. Consequently, the body count was much higher. While the characters were well developed many of the events in the story were easily predictable. The marine biology of the Humboldt squid was well described in the story and had me interested enough to do further research on these squid online. The only implausible event in the story was the sinking of the metal hulled fishing trawler Centaur by a single stick of dynamite exploding in the water against the outside of the hull. That's not even likely on a wooden hulled boat. In any event, if you were a fan of 'Jaws' I think you'll enjoy this book.
Cheryloftn More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book, and like "Jaws" it kept you on edge of your seat. You could feel the suspence of what was going to happen next. Would like to read more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very scary read! Alot like jaws! I can see this book as a movie, yikes! Made me not want to go into the ocean anytime soon. Predator perspective really got me, will share with my nephews who love this kind of suspense, I had to go away from it for awhile because I can have dreams about this kind of stuff. Young adults will like this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book.  I was hooked from the beginning.  The last 100 pages I couldn't put it down.  Marine biology details were explained so the average reader could understand it.  I loved the characters too.    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In his thriller debut, Ryan Lockwood manages in a few pages to introduce us to characters we like...and then they die, pulled inexorably under by the hunters below. This happens again and again so don't get attached to anyone. Will is a displaced Colorado cowboy running a dive boat off the waters of California, winning money off his friends at pool, and drinking to forget a lost love. Valerie is an oceanographer studying the Humboldt squid, spending a good portion of her time underwater. When a few get too aggressive during a dive and attack her, she sees it merely as an interesting change in behavior to study. But miles away, a huge shoal of unusually large and aggressive squid have come across a new prey, and they've only just begun to feed. Pairing the laconic and seemingly aimless Will with the knowledgeable and eco-minded Valerie might seem an odd gambit for a sea hunt, but Lockwood pulls it off, simultaneously giving us enough human interest and oceanography to keep the story flowing as well as thrilling...and frightening. I'm looking forward, hopefully, to a followup.
T-Bones More than 1 year ago
WOW!!! What an amazing book! Lockwood lures you in from the first page and keeps reeling till there's no escape. I highly recommend this title to fans of books like Jaws, Jurassic Park, and Fragment. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Based on the reviews here I really was expecting a lot more from this book. The story is not original or fresh and there's nothing much to like about any of the characters. If you're looking to read a terrifying tale of the sea do yourself a favor and read Jaws. If you've read Jaws, read it again because it still holds up.
Reader357 More than 1 year ago
It is hard to believe that Below is this author's first publication...Hold on to your seats people, because this one will keep you reading well into the night! His characters are flawed enough to be real and believable, and the story is based on events which have already been documented as "spillover" contamination; viruses and pathogens which have left the original host to mutate and change as they move through different species. Looking forward to more from this author.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Michelle Robertson for Readers' Favorite Below by Ryan Lockwood is an adventurous, suspenseful thriller that introduces readers to many different aspects of ocean life and coastal living such as: boating, fishing, scuba diving, marine biology, and marine creatures. Move over Jaws, you now have some frightening competition. Readers often find themselves choosing a novel that will leave them "on the edge of their seat," so to speak, and not allow time for anything else but turning pages. Ryan Lockwood's Below offers readers a novel chock-full of many different elements, such as suspense, action, romance, and education. The author introduces characters that are gripping and credible to the not so science fiction story plot. With its scene breaks and twists, readers will find themselves intrigued by the unpredictable situations, happenstances, and characters within this riveting novel.  A cowboy scuba instructor from Colorado, a marine biologist scientist from Mexico, a sheriff from California, and a dirty old local pirate find themselves intertwined in the mysterious outbreaks of attacks by an unknown new monster lurking in the dark depths of the ocean they all have grown to love. Ryan Lockwood has created a new terror of the ocean horror story that will make readers think twice before taking a dive in the ocean at all, let alone at night when the monster lurks. This novel is incredibly addictive. Stopping to do anything but turn the pages is not an option. With its fascinating appeal, Below is a book that will make a reader's skin crawl and eyes squint closed as they read the exhilarating scenes. A book for all readers to read, enjoy, and fear its contents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book in August and couldnt put it down. At some parts it can be pretty scary and and some parts the chapters endings are giant clifhangers. Overall i thought it was a great read and i recomend it to almost anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Below is one of the best books I have ever read!! I couldn't put it down!! I can't wait to read more from this author. This book would make a great movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Below is simply a great read.  I could not put it down.  I love the water: being around it, on it. . .but never in the ocean!  It is scary and a "gut" clenched!  Love, love, loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exciting with twists some nerve wracking. Loved the dog Bud. Good ending although poignant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. I spent an entire day on the couch reading it, dinner was late on the table but I didn't care. Good read I really enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would make a great movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time setting this book down. I just had to know what was going to happen next. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most excellent read! Definitely a book that I couldn't put down. The author kept this book interesting and exciting. I've heard it compared to Jaws... it's better! Can't wait for his next book