Beauty's Beast

Beauty's Beast

by Amanda Ashley

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beauty's Beast 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
BookGirlR81 More than 1 year ago
Beauty’s Beast started out great.  I loved getting to know Kristine and I really felt for her when they were preparing to execute her.  Then there’s a last minute rescue and it’s all downhill from there.  Erik is selfish and condescending; I have no idea why Kristine falls in love with him.  And there’s the sex.  He practically rapes her and the language used to describe the act itself is old fashioned, archaic and clunky. Kristine is a weak simpering woman until the very end of the story when she suddenly grows a backbone made of steel, which is not very convincing.  And the ending is rushed.  It’s as if author Ashley suddenly realized she had reached her word count and decided to end the novel in 2 paragraphs, which left me feeling empty and cheated.  Do yourself a favor and skip this one.   For more in depth reviews visit my blog.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this, based on the title, but from the first chapter, it came off wrong. It was predictable. Nothing surprised in this story. It also gave me the willy's from the first sex scene. It read like sexual harassment, and was not a good way to start the book. I like Amanda Ashley, but I did not like this book. I do wish I could get my money back on this read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started out great, then it felt rushed at the end...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story had promise, but there was a lack of true imagination with the storyline. Characters lacked depth. Love story wasn't believable. Just a disappointment. "C" for effort.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was so emotional, it brought tears to my eyes, I loved the happy ending.
tx_writer More than 1 year ago
Every time I find a novel that takes on the beloved fairytale, Beauty and the Beast, I jump into it with the intention of enjoying every page. That's exactly how I felt reading author Amanda Ashley's version most of the time yet the story, as a whole, didn't stay with me after I finished. The heroine, Kristine, was not what I expected and I applaud the author for the great beginning hook. Condemned to die for murdering a man who deserved it, Kristine doesn't expect anything but a quick, hopefully merciful, death. You can imagine her shock when a hooded figure visits her jail cell and makes an offer she'd be an idiot not to accept: marry him and live. Refuse and die. That, folks, is known as a no brainer. Her husband-to-be is the mysterious Erik Trevayne, also known as the Demon Lord of Hawksbridge Castle. Early in the novel, Erik's scenes are gripping. His secrets, her secrets -- hell, SECRETS GALORE -- push the tension to delectable levels. Erik's story rips at your heart strings. He's a man slowly turning into a monster because of a curse he should never had had to endure. He's a man who's lost a wife, gained a witchy adversary, and newly married to a murderer. Ah, but romance doth bloom for him and Kristine, and I delighted in guessing how and when she'd see his face. That's the best part of the story, in my opinion. When, when, when. Unfortunately, the story turned into why, why, why. Maybe the clearly historical romance-y flavor of the story, despite the paranormal elements, that forms this retelling simply dissipates and what's left is a wold in sheep's clothing tale. The change is abrupt and did more to throw me out of the story than Kristine's switching from a strong heroine to more of a "lay there and take it" damsel. Still, I enjoyed a chunk of this novel, and I'm sure other readers will as well. Just temper your emotions for the original tale and you'll be okay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was borin all the way through i gave it two stars because i made it through the entire book even though I have to admit skimming through most of it.
CarmellaS More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book...as a matter of fact I have loved anything written by Amanda Ashley! This story is about Erik and Kristine. Erik lost his previous wife, Dominique, to childbirth and because of it a curse has been placed upon him by her mother. She did not want her daughter to marry and bear children because she felt her daughter was too fragile. The curse she places on Erik is "that he turn into the animal he is until Dominique forgives him". Erik becomes a recluse after that, earning many names such as the Demon Lord of Hawksbridge Castle. Erik saves Kristine from the Gallows. She is about to be executed for murder, a murder that was self defense. They wed that night and he tells her that the only thing her wants from her is an heir, other than that he wants nothing to do with her and to never touch him. She rarely sees him during the day, only from afar, but at night he comes to her and leaves when this seed is planted. Kristine wants more...she wants to know who the man is behind the mask and what he hides. She finds she does enjoy his attentions and sees the loyalty of his staff. Now that I have set it up, you really need to read this book! It is full of magic...the magic of love and even some magic from a witch and wizard...and the magic of forgiveness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amanda Ashley is a fabulous writer and never fails to entertain you with her vivid imagination! I have read all of her books and loved everyone! This story ranks among those that I have placed at the top meaning I will read this over again many times! Her books are also full of passion and romance but the good, clean kind, meaning no vulgarity! Thank you Ms. Ashley for the many hours of pleasure you have given me with your wonderful stories!
gigiluvsbooks More than 1 year ago
Beauty Fair of face and figure, Kristine is young, innocent, pure. Yet she has been condemned to the gallows for killing a man. The only one who can save her is a lord so infamous that some say he is the son of the Devil himself... And the Beast Erik Trevayne is called the Demon Lord of Hawksbridge Castle, but few know of the curse he lives under. Or the terrifying changes slowly gnawing away at his humanity. When he weds her, all he wants of Kristine is a son. But when he beds her, a wild hope is born—that love that can tame even the most monstrous of beasts... Review: This book was not what I expected, yes I expected a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast, but I did not expect it to be so emotional. The story is of Erik, who is cursed by his former mother-in-law after the death of his first wife in childbirth.  She curses him to slowly turn into a beast for every tear and drop of blood that came from her daughter...and the only way to save him is for the dead daughter to forgive Erik.  Erik has locked himself away in his castle for almost 5 years, when he decides to take Kristine as his bride and fulfill the promise of an heir he made to his father. Kristine is about to be executed for killing a Lord in self defense and agrees to become Erik's wife.  At this point Erik is half beast already and does what he can to get Kristine with child and keep himself emotionally removed from her, so that he may kill himself once Kristine is pregnant. I honestly thought this was going to be just an erotic retelling of a fairytale, but was I pleasantly surprised to start reading this and find it a very emotionally driven story.  While this is a love story, I would say the the love scenes are more on the sensual side. There were large parts of the story that left me teary-eyed.  I felt so bad for Erik, he lost his wife and child and then he really lost everything else including his life.  Later in the story when he realizes that try as he might, he wants to stay with Kristine and their baby and it seems as all hope is lost is so heartfelt and sad. Erik is still gruff and stubborn with everyone, but the author does a good job of making him well-rounded.  I thought Kristine was well written also.  She wanted so much for Erik to love her and have that intimacy that a husband and wife should have that made me sad for her.  But Kristine has to have some back bone, she fought off and killed a man trying to rape her and then she is willing to make a huge sacrifice to save Erik's humanity.  Now, don't get me wrong it is not all woe is me.  It  has lots of great things going for it, it is historical, it has action, romance and some magic.  I really did not want to put this down once I started reading it and I didn't :) This is the first time I have read this Author but will definitely read more her work! Excellent re-telling of Beauty and the Beast! 4.5Stars
Bukgoddess More than 1 year ago
Beauty's Beast is Amanda Ashley at her very finest. Newest release and stand alone this is Amanda’s own re-telling of the ultimate story of love and devotion against all odds, the infamous Beauty and the Beast! Lord Erik Trevayne and Kristine Arrington are in a battle against evil which will compel you to read until the last page is turned. As the second son of the Lord Hawksbridge Castle, Erik had no ties to the estate, as the spare there was no love lost between father and son, for his brother Robert is the heir to all his father owns. Although Erik felt his father a wise man and respected him, unforeseen circumstances forced a deathbed promise, to Erik is was more a curse. Fulfilling that promise brought another curse upon Erik, this time from the village witch Charmion, …”for every tear my daughter wept”…..the haunting memories of his last remembrance of his late wife Dominique continue to plague him. Kristine Arrington, filthy and cold, housed in the prison dungeon facing the gallows for what is being called a brutal crime committed against Lord Valentine a peer of the realm, (regardless of his reputation as a notorious rake) must come to terms her life will end at such a young age. Faced with keeping his promise, honor-bound Erik Trevayne, now known by all as the Demon Lord of Hawksbridge Castle, is desperate to once and for all rid himself of the curse set upon him. Erik hopes to find the answer in one doomed soul destined to die. With time continuing its fast march forward can Erik control himself long enough to accomplish what is required and keep his stone-cold heart caged safely within? This captivating story will hold the reader spell-bound (literally)!
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
Wonderful take on an old tale! I was immediately hooked from page one and loved this darker version of Beauty and the Beast. Kristine has been condemned to the gallows for killing a peer when she is surprising rescued by Lord Hawksbridge. After having been cursed all he wants to do is produce an heir and then end his misery and suffering. Kristine is out to make the best of this odd situation and discover Lord Hawksbride’s secrets. Lots of mystery and intrigue and the characters have lots of depth and chemistry together. An all-around excellent read.
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
A dark and emotional retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Beauty's Beast was a wonderful romance. I really liked this book. It had romance, magic, deep emotions, and enough suspense to keep you turning the pages. I thought it was a lovely read. Kristine was a likable heroine. She was smart about her situation, determined to judge Erik by what she saw of him, rather than the rumors she heard about him. And, when the time came for finding answers, she didn't leave any stone unturned. I thought the was great and I liked her. Erik was also wonderful. His emotions were very well portrayed. His despair and hopelessness about stopping the curse and his reluctant caring for Kristine. He was a good man who was put in a bad situation and was trying to make the best of it without hurting anyone. I thought he was just adorable. The romance was lovely. Kristine and Erik were a sweet couple who slowly grew to truly love each other. And, they definitely had chemistry. I thought they were a delightful couple. There were a couple of things that didn't hit the mark for me. 1) It says right in the beginning, when Erik's mother-in-law was cursing him, that the curse would only be broken when her daughter (his late wife) forgave him. So I don't understand why he didn't find a medium or a necromancer or something to call up Dominique (the aforementioned late wife) and ask for her forgiveness (even though he didn't do anything wrong. She died in childbirth, something every woman knew was a possible outcome when they got pregnant during this time). I don't get how that didn't occur to him at some point in the 4+ years that he had been cursed. 2) During the last third of the book, a lot of elements suddenly came up that felt unnecessary. I was already into the story. I didn't need the sudden inclusion of a wizard, a wicked witch's lair, and a wolf pack with an overly friendly female wolf. I would have liked it better if it had just stayed focused on Erik and Christine and them actually trying to figure out how to break the curse (again, not sure why no one though about calling up Dominique). Despite both of these issues, though, I still enjoyed they book. Though it did knock down a peg, it was still a great book. The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through (even in the problematic last chunk). I really liked how the emotions were portrayed, particularly Erik's clear despair at slowly turning into a beast. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely. Beauty's Beast was a wonderful romance that I really enjoyed. Emotional, dark, and romantic, this book was lovely. Romance lovers, this is a book you'll want to check out. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
I have several books of Amanda's and I am glad I chose to review this one. I like her fantasy-paranormal stories. This is a nice version of Beauty and the Beast. Erik Trevayne never wanted to become Lord Hawkesbridge. His first wife died in childbirth as did her baby. Charmian, her mother, is a witch and puts a curse on Erik for killing her daughter. Go ahead 4 years and he (spoiler) has found a girl, Kristine, to marry and get his heir. His curse is affecting him and he doesn't want to become close to Kristine. There are lots of tense moments between them. No spoiler, but there is a twist or two near the end. I fell in love with Kristine and Erik. They were just so vulnerable. Please read this book. It's hard to put down. Enjoy! I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.
kydirtgirl68 More than 1 year ago
Kristine is on her way to be hung. She is a young innocent girl who murdered a man. With time counting down till her execution she never dreamed she would get a way out of it. All that changes when she gets freed only to become the wife of Lord Erik. He is called the Demon Lord and rumors have flown about him for years. Now married to a man she knows nothing about Kristine is finally finding happiness even if Erik hides from her and keeps her at a distance. Erik has to produce a heir and he knows the curse cast upon him is nearing being complete. He is becoming more beast than man. His only hope is he leaves a heir behind. That is all he wanted Kristine for but she slowly draws him out and makes him wish for more. The two fall in love but their time together is to be short as there seems to be no end to the curse. Kristine is a very sweet girl. She is young and had her life tore apart by a cruel man. She is always trying to get Erik to spend more time with her and even after a shock she still wants only to be with him. She will do anything to help him. Erik has gave up hope and stays by his self. He doesn't want the pity or the horror people give him when they see him. He has walls up but as Kristine tears them down you see how sweet and caring he can be. He only wants her to be happy. As re-telling of Beauty and the Beast this is a wonderful one. Kristine is an amazing woman who will do anything and give anything to help the man she has grown to love. Even when she has never seen his face she has grown to love him. He doesn't treat her bad but he doesn't treat her great either in the beginning. They have to learn to trust each other. I love how far they go and the sacrifices they are willing to make to help each other. It Shows how much they love each other and how far they will go to show that love. I love the addition of another creature besides the witch. It added a unique touch to the story. There is tons of danger, a lot of love and magic to be found in this amazing book. I would recommend this to anyone who love a fairy tale retelling, a love story or a story with some paranormal in it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stayed up all night reading it....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was so heartbreaking and yet so touching that you fall in love with the Beast and hurt for him! Great book as usual by this writer. Her characters truly come to life on these pages and soon you'll love the Beast too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wasn’t a bad little story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was predictable but an okay story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth the effort. Gets a bit silly at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kristine offered to give her baby to an evil witch in exchange for her husbands curse to be broken. Not sure what the author was thinking with that plot twist. Made finishing the last chapter difficult knowing that Kristine would sentence her baby to live a life filled with evil and misery. Will not be reading another book by this author and shame on her for portraying child abandonment and abuse as ok as long as you love the child's father!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story became tiresome at times but but became sick when hero had to beg on his knees..then became sicker when he was transformed. Too much evil.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put the book down! Well told as all of her stories are!