Autumn Lover (Maxwells Series #1)

Autumn Lover (Maxwells Series #1)

by Elizabeth Lowell

Hardcover(Large Print)

$27.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Autumn Lover 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
audio_book_adict More than 1 year ago
Posted 07/22/10: This book just toes the line of being okay. The main male character, Hunter Maxwell, is a conflicted bully who distrusts all women because his first wife betrayed him, thus painting the entire sex with the "untrustworthy flirt" brush, ad nauseum. Frankly, it gets tiresome listening to how Belinda, his late wife, is the epitome of the worst type of female there could ever be and how Hunter believes all women are of the same ilk. Also tedious is how much he belittles the main female character, Alissa, owner of the Ladder-S Ranch, while being attracted to her at the same time. The contradictions are myriad, the insults many. Alissa is described as being a strong willed, independent free-thinker for the late 1800's. She continually takes his verbal abuse and feels insulted as she is unable to fire him due to the precarious situation she is in, so they play a lot of insult tennis. Hunter is *actually tracking the 2 dimensionally evil Culpepper Gang and takes a job on the ranch as cover for his search. Conveniently, the Culpeppers are trying to take over the Ladder-S ranch in attempts that escalate from embarrassingly badly worded threats ("What Culpeppers want Culpeppers git!", "I ain't gonna throw ye and mount ye right off. I jest wanna get a feel 'o them teats." Seriously?!? lol)to a drawn out shoot-out attack on the ranch that takes days to resolve. Amidst the drama, somehow Hunter and Alissa become lovers. The sex seems a bit contrived, considering how much Hunter seems to dislike Alissa, while Alissa is mysteriously drawn to the insulting bad boy. Also, since this is a first book in a series, Ms. Lowell leaves several strings dangling. I listened to this book a year ago and didn't think much of it then, but then recently thought I should give it another chance and maybe buy the 2nd in the series. While the dangling strings are normally fine for series books, I don't think I want to take a chance on Hunter's brother being just as offensive in the next book. This is not the first Elizabeth Lowell book I've listened to and I was hoping that distrustful mean-spirited men were not the norm for her, but this is the third book in which the men have few redeeming qualities (The men in "To the Ends of the Earth" and "A Woman Without Lies" are cookie cutouts of Hunter with different names). For me personally, I'm not impressed with mean men, so I'm done with this author. In conclusion, if you like the insolent-turned-romantic (loosely defined) type of man, you may enjoy Lowell's books. Overall, Laural Merlington does a decent job portraying different character voices. The recommendations below all have excellent performers for the audio books,four of the five are in a series, and are good books in general.
Conkie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story itself merits 2 stars. Thru Amazon, I found out the word "flirt" was only found in the book 28 times. I would have thought it occurred at least 100.The narration by Laurel Merlington merits only 1 star. I've always thought she was rather melodramatic in her performances, but she was down-right irritating to listen to on this book. She does an excellent job in giving each character a different voice, but the nuances made me feel like I was at a "B" movie - BAD!Oh well. It at least made laundry chores a bit less boring.
lollypop917 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. Elizabeth Lowell can make a fluffy romance a very entertaining experience. This has everything you would expect in a romance, but this author always seems to throws in some twists to make her books better than average fluff. I will definately be looking for more of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was a good read, planning to check out the brothers story next.
oldntired More than 1 year ago
I have been an Anne Maxwell/Elizabeth Lowell fan for sometime. I liked this book but I love the author and have read all her books but this series. This author has great attention to detail and each book she writes has a different twist, which is hard to accomplish for most authors when they write romance series books. Happy Reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of E. Lowell's books! The heroes and heroines are flawed just enough to be believable. Her stories are packed with adventure and action. The dialog is gritty without being riddled with foul language. The love scenes are vivid, without being overly graphic. Some may say the endings are predictable, but I like knowing the guy will get the girl and everything will work out "happily ever after". There's a certain amount of comfort and security in knowing that. I read novels for enjoyment and entertainment, not to have the story mimic real life. That's what the news is for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book actually mentions chars from the only mine series, a drifter in the last book looking for the culpeppers him and hes brother, was really happy to remember him!! Great book just like all her other books. Im def a Lowell fan :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is thunderclans camp! This is main base, seconed result is warrior den, third is med den, fourth is nursery, fifth is apprentice den
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
la58 More than 1 year ago
Love Elizabeth Lowell. Great story about old west and a great hero.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago