Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier

Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American Frontier

by Peter Stark

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 29
MARKETPLACE
100 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Drouillard More than 1 year ago
Being an avid reader of this era's history of the American West, I really enjoyed reading a new take on the trials and tribulations of the Astorians. Much detail, but not too much, revealing what really went into the unraveling of John Jacob Astor's "Grand Plan."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book! Very well written and laid out. Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is too real to not be real - but you keep reading and it just gets more unbelievable! What we did to go to the moon, as explorers, was obviously epic, yet what Stark points out here is sometimes our greatest explorations have happened right here on Earth. You don't have to be a part of the Pacific Northwest to enjoy this fantastic read. You like historic action reads you'll like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating history of the establishment of Astoria. Well written story of early adventurers and the struggles they encountered as they crossed the unknown western regions of the US to establish world commerce. Excellent profiles of the people who made this trek and how the personalities interacted. I was particularly impressed with the courage and determination of the men...and one woman...who suffered great hardships to realize the vision of John Jacob Astor. Held my interest throughout.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the story of the incredible hardships that the men of this journey endured whether by sea or overland. It also shows the arrogance and stupidity of some of the leaders of this expedition. Throw in a little treason and disloyalty thrown in for good measure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not wait to read the next page. Without any question in the top 5 books that I have read on any subject . A must .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was born and raised in the Pacific NW yet never knew this remarkable story. I highly recommend this book ..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readers of adventure/survival history will love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having+spent+a+night+in+the+YMCA+in+Astoria%2C+due+to+lack+of+availabilty+in+its%27+many+motels%2C+this+book+particularly+intrigued+me.+Beside+the+fascinating+history+the+author%27s+writing+style+made+it+more+a+page+turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reading..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's decent, but you're just reading along and then all of a sudden- epilogue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tedious read. I lost interest in the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read for history lovers. Non fiction that reads like a novel. I knew nothing of this chapter of American discovery and am happy to have expanded my knowledge. I honestly couldn't put the book down. I cannot fathom the fortitude and bravery of these men (and one woman) who trekked across this country two hundred years ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting
Flo04 More than 1 year ago
Very interesting and insightful. Didn't really know much about Astor before reading this book. I grew up on the U.S. West Coast; I don't remember learning in school about much of what is written in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An absolutely absorbing book that was well written about an event I knew nothing about until I read the book. I'm glad I heard about it when we were visiting Astoria, Oregon. I thoroughly enjoyed it..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
F
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dancin with ma milkshake baby