Assassin's Quest (Farseer Series #3)

Assassin's Quest (Farseer Series #3)

by Robin Hobb

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Assassin's Quest (Farseer Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 263 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will agree with some of the other reviewers that the 3rd book in the series came across....lacking compared to the first 2 books. I found Fitz actions over the top sometimes, ridiculous others and downright ignorant most of the time. The new characters were a bit of dissapointment also. As for the ending, I would definitely agree that it dragged on to the point of forcing myself to finish the book. I feel odd giving this review because the past 2 books were sensational but I felt this book was tired and weak compared to the first 2. Still great to some levels but overall not as sharp as the others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say that I am surprised by the reviews for this one. I think Robin Hobb is a sensational writer. The characters were likable and complimented each other in the first two books of this series. And then came this book. Ugh...very, very, very disappointed. Kettle and Starling fit into this story like the Pope at a porn star convention. Fitz' stay with the other Witted was lacking and, I felt, was incomplete. The search for the Elderlings dragged on terribly. The ending, while uncoventional, left me disappointed because of the dragged out search and creation of the Elderlings that preceded it. Great first 2 books + bad last book = good series.
deesy58 More than 1 year ago
This is the third, and last, book of the "Farseer" trilogy. It is written in the style of Stephen R. Donaldson, with the main character possessing the attributes of an anti-hero. FitzChivalry is blissfully unaware of the events swirling around him. He ignores the advice of his mentors, stumbling perpetually into one ambush or unfortunate incident after another. He seems totally unable to plan, to assess his environment, to perceive danger, or to make reasoned decisions. He fails to exercise due caution, even though he is aware that enemies are seeking to kill him. This calamitous book is almost painful to read. The only anticipation available to a reader is the wonder as to what kind of mess our hero will find himself in next. The ending is a bit anticlimactic. The book is, however, well-written with very few editing errors. The story is well-told and entertaining. The main character's denseness and lack of awareness make him unsympathetic in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with all of Robin Hobb's books I've read, the writing is uniformly excellent, with vivid characters and immersive worlds. I absolutely hated the way she ended this series, however. The protagonist didn't really seem to garner any of the respect he earned, most of the supporting characters still treated him like an imbecile, despite his supposed importance. Ms. Hobb treated her "hero" pretty poorly. Frankly, the only ending of a series I've read that I disliked as much as this one was Stephen King's "Tower" series, but at least Roland got to be a real "hero" in it. This protagonist never seems to, always depending on others to save him. A lot of sacrifice for not a lot of reward. Disappointing. I guess I like more uplifting endings to fantasy novels. If that's what you're after, this book isn't for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hobb concludes the story of Fitz and the Six Duchies in an unconventional style. Each main character is developed more fully, and the world is revealed in rich detail, however, the page count becomes tiresome before the fundamental conflict is resolved. Fitz' journey West takes us into new territory, and raises a new question: Who is the hero? Is it Fitz, the Catalyst who strives clumsily to work behind the scenes as Chade taught him, or is it Verity, the Prince on Crusade to save the Kingdom, as King Wisdom did hundreds of years ago? The only charcters who really grow are Burrich, Fool, Chade, and Nighteyes. Ketricken is too Wagnerian, Kettle too opaque, and Starling too shallow to fill out their roles. At least Will is developed more thoroughly as the antagonist's henchman than is usually the case, and Regal is given some credit for subtlety. The digression into Old Blood is a bit of a tease. The foray into the time of the Elderlings is pointless, when one considers that Verity unveils enough of their secrets to understand the solution to his problem. His confrontation with 'Can I pull this off?' is more compelling than Fitz's overworked habit, begun in book 1, of getting himself and his allies into hot water while trying to help his King. The conclusion to the story fits well within the general theme of sacrifices made in the pursuit of noble ends. Hobb still makes a lying, clumsy, underhanded, poisoning b*st*rd [guess using English now excites a 'wordchecker' / censor-- shame on BN.com] sympathetic character, which is an accomplishment in itself. Just could have used some liposuction. Sorry to see the end of this saga, as the characters came alive during the series. Hobb is a talented story teller. I will miss Fitz and Nighteyes more than most characters. Her next offering will be on my bookshelf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very+good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the whole series
reading_fox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A book of two parts. Unfortunetly by far the largest part is not only the worst of the entire trilogy it is the first of the book and a truly epic slog to get through. It is slightlyl redeemed by the 2nd part which comprises of the last 150 pages of the book and thr conclusion to the trilogy, which again shows what Hobb could be capable of achieving. The story takes off just a few days after the conclusion to Royal Assassiin (which needs to be read first). Zombie Fita is recovering from his time as a wolf, and re-learning to be human again. Unlike many of the other injuries sustained to various characters throughout the series Hobb does devote a little space to emphasizing how difficult this is. Eventually however Fitz is 'better' and able to embark on a quest. Oh my. I'd never guessed this was coming. Unfortunetly Quest fantasy is very difficult to write, and Hobb falls into all the pitfalls, without managing to hit any of the highlights. There's no particular reason for the quest, it's slow and pointless, it drags throughout it's duration. The terrain and landscapes aren't well explained, and don't naturally fit together. Fitz meets various people, who don't then re-appear or have any significance, but we have to spend pages in their company. Various incidents occur at random, without either furthering our goal or lending any insight into any of the characters. It's tedious for the entire 600 odd pages it takes to go anywhere. It's also unbelivable. In the course of his travels Fitz takes and arrow in the back. It penetrates deeply enough to grate on bone, but doesn't hamper his ability to run or walk, has managed not to damage the spinal cord, or lungs or any other vital organ, and remains suitably uninfected that he recovers after a week or so's bed rest. Pointless and annoying. The entire thing is also, as was the previous volume, badly foreshadowed - either by the diary excerts at the chapter headings, the prophecies, or else various characters musings. At several times I just put the book down in disgust at the clunky writing or poor storyline. If I wasn't such a completist reader I'd never have got to the end, which would have been a shame.The story ends when Fitz finally manages to reach the end of his road. And this entire section is excellant. There is action, drama, pathos, love in all it's forms and deep meaning. Hence it's such a shame that the preceeding 600 pages wore me down to such an extent that I couldn't care whether or not Fitz or the kingdom survives. The entire story arc is properly tied up with no loose ends left hanging. Various characters meet appropriate ends, much is revealed that was slightly obscure although even here much is revealed that was also blindingly obvious. Hobb obviously does have a lot of writing talent. I don't know if she just needs a better editor, or more critical writing support, but I'm unlikely to tackle more of her work until the dross is pared away from the gold.If you've started the series you should finish it, especially for the last 150 pages or so, but do feel free to skip a lot of the rest of the book.............................................................................
Kassilem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is as depressing as the last one. Again the writing is wonderful, the characterization full of life, the world clear; and a good story. One that concludes the series. It concludes it well, although there is a tinge of being rushed. It leaves you wanting more. The story can't end there, right? Well actually it doesn't, but that is another trilogy written later. But Fitz never gets back all he lost in the previous book. Indeed, some cut even deeper in this book. I do not envy Fitz his life, not at all. Regardless I am drawn to him. I love how his character is written; he is very real. Do not expect a happy ending here either, but perhaps in the second trilogy Fitz will get all he deserves. I cannot remember exactly and so I have already picked up the first book in that series, The Tawny Man series. My fingers are crossed. More than anything, he deserves to be happy. These books are page-turners; they will make you laugh; they will make you cry; they will rend emotions from you. They are not easy reads, but powerful in their own right.
idanush on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's always hard to finish a saga. it usually ends up being a little too long and wordy.In addition, trying to explain everything that was a mystery up to this book (over more than a 1000 pages) will always be a little bit of a let down since the biggest part of the fun is the mystery.However, this book explains everything in a very satisfactory manner, save for the red ships that just become a slight non-issue.
bookwormteri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wonderful trilogy comes to an end. I will admit to being a little disappointed by the ending....the dragons are great, but I just felt that everything was wrapped up a little too neatly. I would have liked to be privy to a little more information on the final battle than the reader was. A great series, but I was just a little disappointed in the ending.
littlegeek on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first two books in this series, but this one dragged. Other than the first few chapters wherein our hero was recovering his human mind, the first half was extremely slow and had little to do with the overall plot or any character development. Total filler. Once Fitz manages to reunite with some of his old Buckkeep friends it picks up, but this book suffers from the bane of fantasy novels everywhere: endless travelling. The end was ok, but having already read the Liveship Traders series, I don't really get how these dragons jive with the ones in that series. Hobb is good at character development, but there's a downside. Her characters seem to talk everything to death. She's not nearly as good at describing action scenes (although, Liveship Traders is an improvement on that score). I'd rather have more effective showing and a lot less telling.
eddy79 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Whilst it was good to get back in Fitz's world and spend time with the wonderfully written characters Hobb created over the course of the previous two books, this volume felt bloated with far too much meandering. The ending wasn't particularly engaging either.
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This entire trilogy is a very good read.
KissyFish on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very well developed characters, great plot, but story is rushed in parts and drags in parts. Hobb's writing style is inconsistent throughout the whole series, and I'm not crazy about it at all. It is easy to fall in love with the characters, though. I was very disappointed in the ending of the trilogy, which wraps up in a very rushed, packaged manner.
bjanecarp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Assassin's Quest is the third book in Robin Hobb's Farseer trilogy, and is difficult to speak of, since at every turn, I seem to be combatting spoilers.The protagonist FitzChivalry's anger recuperates from serious wounds in a sheepherder's cabin, and in a desire for revenge, plans to destroy his uncle, who tortured him and believed him dead.In constant tension are Fitz's two magics. The Skill is like mind magic, allowing practitioners to influence others, and suggest thoughts. his own use of the Skill is week, due to his partial training by a hateful Skillmaster. King-in-Waiting Verity has compelled Fitz, through the Skill, to come to him and aid him in his quest to defeat the Red Ship Wars. His beast magic, also known as The Wit, is generally hated (and much maligned) by the population, but his bond with the wolf Nighteyes is quite strong.In the 150 preceding words I recognize how very complex the Hobb's plot has become. This is definitely a third book of three, and I couldn't imagine beginning the series out-of-order. Her writing, as usual, is extremely strong. The story is told from the perspective of FitzChivalry, and is made powerful by the development of all the characters. With the possible exception of Regal, none of the characters seems completely good, or completely evil. And even so, Regal has been given motivation for his hatred of his nephew. Even minor characters, like the young stable boy Hands, and the old woman Kettle, seem to have considerable plausibility.A propos of nothing: I have noticed her fascination with names that start with the letters "Ke". I've noticed Kettriken, Kettle, Keffria, Kennit; even FitzChivalry's given name, Keppet. She likes strong characters with strong K names.The book was complex, but immensely readable. The character of FitzChivalry is occasionally a bit dour, in the vein of a Hamelt, and his ruminations about suicide and revenge occasionally detract from the story itself. Nonetheless, it was a fitting end to the trilogy, and I was happy to read the series to its conclusion. It was worth every word, and I am once again,pleased to say I'm happy I discovered Robin Hobb's writing, and her Elderling world, several months ago.Five of Five Stars
Hieremias on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an agonizingly slow end to a series that dragged on too long.It's a common problem in the fantasy genre that authors add useless padding to increase the word count or to stretch a simple story into a trilogy or series. I think Robin Hobb's Farseer trilogy could have made a decent single book, but each of its three volumes was instead padded far too much, with this third volume being the worst offender.There are good segments in all three volumes. This third volume starts off fairly promising with an effective first act. Fitz's recovery from his torture at Regal's hands is very effective, with some chilling moments and questions of just how much of his humanity Fitz was able to recover. Unfortunately this theme of wrestling against animal instincts does not effectively carry through the rest of the book, and after the first act the narrative just drags.The middle act involves a lot of mostly pointless wandering, and you being to ask just how many times Fitz can be captured by his enemies before escaping.But the worst is the final third, which grinds to a halt and forces you to read through over a hundred pages of moody introspection. Every character in this section is aggravatingly obtuse. In fact Hobb almost makes fun of that, with Fitz exclaiming that nobody could give a straight answer to anything. Ultimately there just aren't any likeable characters in this story. Fitz especially is moody, passive, and weak-willed, and overall not a protaganist that can give us anything to cheer for.Like the rest of the series, the prose throughout is often clunky and melodramatic. Its deus ex machina climax is lacklustre and feels contrived and utterly unsatisfying. I spent the final third of the book counting the pages remaining and looking forward to starting something new.
ansate on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
great worldbuilding. Interesting epic problems to solve. Unfortunately the main character is dumb as a stump.
Cecrow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Again Fitz starts off a novel feeling desolate (and many more episodes of that will follow), and it takes nearly a hundred pages for the story to get moving. He spends most of the rest of the book wandering about the countryside trying to keep a low profile. The story is at its weakest when Fitz shirks the company of others and travels alone, setting aside new and interesting characters, and that's regrettably often. At least some of the characters we care about return to the story in the final third, which saves it a bit.The troubles with Fitz as a character become abundantly clear on this outing. He's far too passive, even with his new independence. Bad things happen to him, then other people rescue him, over and over. As much as he strives to determine his own fate, he never gets to do it - even in the small things. I suppose this is the stuff antiheroes are made of, but fantasy antiheroes just give me a "what's the point" feeling (particularly when the story is not tragedy). He is also unforgivably, inexcusably dense at times, very blind to certain plot points concerning Molly and ridiculously blind to Regal's machinations to find her. He also spends countless sentences mooning over the same thoughts (Molly this, Molly that), while right around him astonishing things are happening that he barely pauses to reflect on (and sometimes, frustratingly, not at all).This novel doesn't justify its length. I thought the ending at least might save it, but unlike the exciting conclusions of the first two books this one's is first confusing, then chaotic (involving numerous unlikelihoods that border on deus ex machina). After a long slog to get to the end, the resolution is inexcusably rushed and left me unsatisfied, particularly the grocery list format in the final pages. This trilogy ends on a weak note and Royal Assassin remains its high point.
clong on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the first two books of the Farseer trilogy immensely, but found this conclusion to be overly longwinded and ultimately unsatisfying. Some judicious editing could easily have cut 100 pages and made it a better read. I didn't feel prepared for the the nature of the Elderlings; in a way the very nature of the fantasy world Hobb was creating seemed to shift about two thirds the way through this book. To the extent that the nature of forging and the motivation of the red ship raiders was ever explained I found the explanation confusing and unconvincing. As this book progressed I found FitzChivalry and Kettricken and Verity all becoming less sympathetic as characters. Which is all not to say that this third book of the series was completely without merit. In particular, I enjoyed the development of the Fool's character. But ithe book doesn't live up to the very high expectations created by the first two books of the series. Overall, I would recommend the trilogy, but with regrets that it didn't really achieve the great potential of the first two books.
Merneith on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tremendous ending to the Farseer trilogy. I had some doubts about the first two books but this third book is outstanding.
Aensign on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Final installment--each entry independently intelligible--of Hobb's stunning fantasy trilogy (Royal Assassin, 1996; Assassin's Apprentice, 1995) about the beleaguered Six Duchies and their Farseer kings. Months ago, King Verity vanished into the far mountains in search of the semi-mythical Elderlings, whose help he must have in order to defeat the rampaging Red Ship Raiders, leaving his murderous, venal, and insanely ambitious brother, Prince Regal, to dispose of Verity's last few loyalists at his leisure--including narrator, spy, and assassin FitzChivalry. Poor Fitz, unable to contact his beloved Molly (she thinks he's dead) and daughter (by Molly) for fear of exposing them to Regal's attentions, uses his magic Skill to locate Verity and receives an imperious summons: ``COME TO ME!'' So, abandoning his plan to assassinate Regal, Fitz enters the mountains with a small band of helpers. Eventually, having evaded Regal's minions, Fitz comes upon Verity Skill-carving a huge dragon out of black rock; nearby stand other lifelike dragon-sculptures that, to Fitz's animal-magic Wit, seem somehow alive. Are these eerie sculptures what remain of the Elderlings? Yet, for all his Skill, Verity cannot bring the dragons to life; and soon Regal will arrive with his armies and his Skilled coterie. An enthralling conclusion to this superb trilogy, displaying an exceptional combination of originality, magic, adventure, character, and drama.
Amaunette on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The final book in the Farseer trilogy tells the story of Fitz's journey to rescue Verity and help save the kingdom by using the Skill. I was angry by the ending, at first, because it is by no means a happy or clean one. But the important part is that Fitz's story continues in the series that begins with Fool's Errand, about 15 years later.
xicanti on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fitting end to the trilogy. After a few detours, Fitz journeys into the mountains to find Verity and help save the Six Duchies.While I still enjoyed this book very, very much, I did find that it lagged at times. The characters and their struggles were still engaging, but there were a number of sequences that felt a bit too dreamlike for my liking. Things were happening, but I felt divorced from the action. One of the things I liked best about the first two books was how connected I felt to the story; when that connection faded, my attention waned. The book always bounced back, (often in a way that brought tears to my eyes), but those segments made portions of it something of a chore to read. I think perhaps the editors relaxed a little with this installment; there were also a few places where I thought the writing wasn¿t as tight as it could¿ve been.That said, though, this really was a great ending. Everything fit. The series¿ main concerns were resolved very nicely, and the characters all found their niche. (I particularly liked how Regal ended up). I find that I actually miss everyone now that it's over. I was very pleased with it, overall, and can¿t wait to read more from Robin Hobb.
tronella on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The third of nine, so it finished off a sub-trilogy at least. Pretty good, although it dragged a bit in some places (the quarry part, the wolf part at the beginning). But then, this seems to be one of those fantasy books that is largely about places, so. I liked it.