ISBN-10:
076454280X
ISBN-13:
9780764542800
Pub. Date:
10/06/2003
Publisher:
Wiley
The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security / Edition 1

The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security / Edition 1

Current price is , Original price is $16.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Art of Deception 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
fakelvis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had high hopes for this book: I've followed Mitnick's story for over a decade and have thoroughly enjoyed many of the books written about him and his exploits. I expected The Art of Deception to be no exception. Except it was.The Art of Deception is more of a IT professional's handbook for preventing social engineering attacks on a corporation. There are two problems with this:1) It's absolutely not, in any way, a book for casual readers looking to understand and discover some insights on the psychology of deception in a technical environment. If that's what you want, look elsewhere.2) If an IT security professional working for any company needs a book this big to understand how to protect about social engineering... well they are in serious need of a career counselor and should consider a new profession.*There's one more problem with the book: it's far too long, the stories are endlessly repetitive, and, well, everything else. Avoid.*OK, that may be hyperbolic. But hear this, IT security professionals: buy this book, read the first chapter, then close it. Everything you need to know is in the first chapter.
AK_Doug on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great collection of stories that illustrates the biggest security hole in every organization: the people.
nderdog on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great information that is never really outdated. I've passed this one around to all of my IS co-workers. A good way to try and think like a bad guy to educate users about how to handle situations and to know who they're dealing with.
mcandre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hand a copy to all IT staff, then another copy to all general staff. This book shows that fooling people is far easier than fooling computer systems.
Miche11e on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book to my son, who was enjoying it immensely, then stopped when I decided it was totally inappropriate matter for an inquisitive 9 year old. Kevin was released from prison last year after being found guilty of hacking into computer systems. Kevin's premise is simple. People are the security's weakest link.I enjoyed reading this, although I admit, the book gets rather boring after a while. But the first few chapters should be essential reading for everyone to raise awareness of how easy it is to steal personal information. Especially from people in Bruce county who are soooooo friendly and helpful. If you get tired of Kevin's bragging, just skip to his recommendations in chapter 16.
rivkat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Full of illustrations of Mitnick's points; very interesting, especially if you're a writer looking for social engineering scenarios for characters to get information they shouldn't have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you need to hack into any database, delete record, improve credit score, spy on whatsapp, text, phone, emails, as long as it's hack contact Blackhatthacker @ v ia Email blackhatthacker@tuta.io he is great, you won't be disappointed, cheap and fast, he saved my relationship Tell him Anderson
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Powerful book. I strongly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book would be a lesson on HOW to social engineer, but unfortunately it is just a interesting corporate handbook. Provides a couple of interesting stories and techniques but I'd like to see a guidebook to ethical social engineering. Good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an extraordinary book! Locke
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
David9 More than 1 year ago
This is a highly enjoyable collection of short stories demonstrating social engineering fundamentals. It's Scams 101 written by a highly credible author. Each method chapter draws from street experience and is analyzed for comprehension and defense, This is a real eye-opener for those of us sheltered in corporate office jobs or academia. The first two thirds of the book are the method chapters, while the remaining third is a rather dry sequence of corporate policy recommendations. The recommendations seem stale, but they establish ample justification for your boss to buy it for you. (Perhaps another scam pulled off by Mitnick?). If I have any criticism it is that, despite the title, the book concentrates on the defensive side of the 'art'. There are no lists of suggested exercises to practice each method; instead short case analyses are concluded with steps to avoid being a victim. Also, the acknowledgements section is plainly a nauseous gush. The writing style of the bulk of the book is great though: easy and engrossing. If you tore off the last third of the book, it would stand on its own as a must-read for anyone interested in modern deception and fraud.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago