Arkansas Traveler (Benni Harper Series #8)

Arkansas Traveler (Benni Harper Series #8)

by Earlene Fowler

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Arkansas Traveler (Benni Harper Series #8) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Benni Harper has accompanied her grandmother, Dove, and the rest of the family back to Sugartree, Arkansas for a church Homecoming. The trip has the added benefit of allowing Benni's best friend, Elvia Aragon, to meet her cousin Emory Littleton's father before Elvia and Emory's relationship goes any further. Sugartree's two Baptist congregations are faced with the necessity of merging into one church, but that's going to be a lot easier said than done, because the undercurrent of racism runs deep in Sugartree, and those two congregations are completely segregated. But when the mayor's racist skinhead son is found bludgeoned to death just hours after crashing a racially mixed party, it makes it even more difficult to somehow blend these two churches together into one cohesive whole.I really do like this series, and this episode, set in the area a bit north of Little Rock, felt very familiar to me. I was born in the Missouri bootheel and these could very easily be members of my own family and the church I grew up in. Fowler write's with a down-home quality that isn't just an affectation or a show. These books feel like going home to me. It would be hard for me to pick a favorite in this series, but this particular one is going to be pretty hard to beat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
janthelibrarianJS More than 1 year ago
Earlene Fowler does not disappoint with this next adventure of Benni Harper. I have enjoyed watching the characters develop through the series. You feel you know each and every member of Benni's extended family. It is always nice to have an inside track with the police chief as your husband!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read 13 of the 14 Benni Harper series in the last three weeks. I just love Earlene's writings. I only have one more and will have to wait until next year for next and continuing saga of Benni & Gabe.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This installment in the Bennie Harper series is absolutely wonderful. The continuing saga of Bennie and Gabe, Emory and Elvia, and Dove and Issac is fantastic. I LOVE these characters! I hope the series continues for a long time to come. Bring it on Earlene!
harstan More than 1 year ago
As a child, Benni Harper of San Celina, California spent summers with relatives living in Sugartime, Arkansas. Benni has always looked back fondly to those days and hopes to recapture much of that feeling with her first visit in over a decade.

The hot issue in Sugartime is the close mayoral race between a Black woman and a good ole boy. Benni is stunned to observe the bigotry that is blatant and hostile. The current mayor¿s son Toby Hunter leads a force intimidating anyone opposing the reelection of his father. This eventually forces his opponent Amen to withdraw from the race. Not long afterward, someone murders Toby and though he had a lot of enemies, the police lean towards Amen¿s nephew as the prime suspect. In spite of the objection of the local authorities, Benni begins her own inquiries into the homicide.

Reading ARKANSAS TRAVELER is an accurate account of a divided community still unable to come to grips on racial harmony even as individuals have moved forward for the betterment of everyone. A Benni Harper mystery is always fun as readers revisit characters from the previous novels who are friends that keep growing as happens in this story. With her marriage still strong to Ortiz, the audience sees a glimpse of the heroine¿s past inside an enjoyable who-done-it.

Harriet Klausner