Anything But Typical

Anything But Typical

by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Anything But Typical 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something a bit different from the ordinary. It will make you think, it will make you dream, it will make you believe in all that can be possible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. I have a cousin with autisum and it made me respect and understand him better than ever before!
Samantha Sierakowski More than 1 year ago
I love this author. She takes the time to research whatever she is writing and turns it into an enjoyable read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As having an older brother with autism, tuberuscerlosis, and many other health problems, I thought this book was amazing! If you are intrested in this subject I also reccomend the book, RULES.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The person who said he has adhd is wrong he has autism and this book was really god and touched my heart!¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not only good but it has a meaning that no one could say this any better! Now i understand how the people feel! Like their no buddy...wow! I love this book! Seny from my nook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want a great book then you are lookig at it. This is a sad but happy. Its heart wrenching. I am sure you will enjoy this book. This book will make you view not only the world and people differently, it will make you view yourself differently. All i can say is i love this book. What about you? LIVE LEARN LOVEc
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book over 3 times and learn something unique and different each time i read it!(:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the book it reminded me of a book callednout of my mind whitch is about an autistic girl.Both stories help non autistics or nuerotypicals in jason's veiw see inside an autistic mind.See that they think about the same things that we do that they are not as dome as they seem and sometimes smarter
soccerchic7 More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing Book! I think every one will enjoy it
Carolyn Witkowski More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Read it or you wouldnt have lived life! I highly recommend this to anyone age 9+
aorzga815 More than 1 year ago
This book gives readers insight to the struggles and challenges that students with autism deal with on a daily basis. Written from the point of view of Jason, a twelve year old autistic boy, the book does a remarkable job portraying his life. He strives to have normal relationships and friendships, but finds it difficult due to his disorder. The book can be a little bit confusing at times because it is hard to tell the difference between his thoughts and what is actually happening in the book. Jason's only escape from the world is his writing - it's the only thing that calms him down and gives him great joy. The book makes you appreciate the patience and kindness that his mom, dad, and brother have. As a general education teacher, I would recommend this book to other educators. I don't have a lot of experience working with autistic children, but I feel like the book makes you understand this disorder from a new perspective. Overall, a great read with a heartfelt message.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book gives a wonderful, realistic insight into how a kid in the autism spectrum works from the inside, without being trite or condescending. He wants many of the same things all kids want, but he just operates a bit differently. As an elementary school librarian, I work with a variety of children with many personalities and needs, and this book showed me how sometimes what adults think is the obvious way of helping a child can be exactly what he doesn't need. A must read for educators on all levels. A great pairing with Cynthia Lord's "Rules" for upper elementary or middle school discussion. My fifth grade son loves it and has read it several times. It not only validates any child's feelings that he and his problems are unique, but also gives a window into how everyone has their own inner motivations and compensations to get through their days, which often cause misunderstandings with the parents in their lives. Then ending is somewhat obvious to adults, but the right way to end. The cover art on the hardcover is lovely--the paperback might appeal or put off some kids.
WriterOfAngels More than 1 year ago
This book intrigued me by page one. The daily struggled of the main charicter makes me want to cry! I read through this in only three days, I recoment this to anyone who wants a read of all you can want!
meggyweg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this is a pretty good portrayal of how a high-functioning autistic boy would think and act. I have Asperger's Syndrome, so they say, and although I do better than Jason I can recognize a lot of my problems in him. The conflict with the story convention is well done and I thought the ending was perfect -- hopeful, and realistic. Very good story overall, and it just might make NT readers a little more sympathetic and understanding towards people with autism.
jkessluk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fantastic book about a twelve year old with autism, written in his views about the difficulties of his life. It is great to hear the challenges that Jason Blake goes through, from trying to control his occasionally uncontrollable arms to the challenges of making friends, let alone a girl friend. The book goes back and forth as he tells about his life, which does get confusing but I believe it enhances the story. I would recommend this in any young classroom so that they could see what troubles these children with disabilities go through in life.
jadaykennedy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before I wrote this review I did something I do not normally do. I read someone else¿s review. Prior to reading this review I was prepared to sing the book¿s praises. After, I was less enthusiastic. The other review was written by an autistic person. Surprised by their opinion and review I listened to the book one more time. So my review is based on this person¿s observations and critique and my opinion of the book. The other review ranked the book as a three out of five.In the book ¿Anything But Typical,¿ Baskin sheds light on the behaviors ¿neuro-typicals¿ view as odd. Insight into why an autistic person may not respond when addressed by people, flap their hands, pull their own hair, rock, etc¿ make sense. There is an extraordinary amount of introspection on the part of the autistic child, Jason. Per an autistic reviewer, autistic people do not self analyze their own actions and reactions incessantly. Jason is an autistic child attempting to integrate into mainstream society. Online he has anonymity and has caught the eye of a girl. She applauds his writing skill and engages him in an email friendship. I had a similar experience when I took classes online. In the ¿real world¿ he can¿t be just an average kid. Other people perceive him as odd and don¿t understand his ticks and reactions.Autism appears in many degrees. The autistic person may be severely socially inept or they could have minor problems and areas of difficulty. The book is about a more severe case of autism. The boy struggles with his autism in order to fit into the neuro-typical world. His loving family strives to love, support and understand him. The actions and reactions of others that interact with Jason show the confusion and misunderstanding of this condition.I¿m very tolerant of others with disabilities and illnesses. I suppose that is partially due to my own condition. I have a better understanding of what causes the ¿odd¿ actions of autistic people. This book will do more than make people tolerant. It will foster understanding of an enigmatic condition. I would recommend the book.¿¿¿¿
Mardel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book is written in first person, from the point of view of a boy with autism. He talks about the present, as well as the past. He has a word - a different word every day - that comes to him while he's getting ready for school every morning. Usually, this certain word will pertain to things that happen to him that day.The boy, Jason, has quite a sense of humor though he cannot handle situations with too much stimuli, people, noises, large or too small of spaces. Some of his ways of coping are to cinch his belt as tight as he can, flap his hands around in the air, etc. He also has sudden fits of rage, usually when he's been pushed too far by other kids.One of Jason's hobbies is writing - in fact words in general have a lot of meaning to him. It's very important for him to get on his computer at a certain time each day, and he has a ritual for turning on his computer. He gets on a storyboard site and writes stories and has begun an online friendship with another writer.I loved Jason's point of view, his perspective of his family, of the teachers at school - some of whom seem just as troubled as they accuse him of being, and of the other students at school. The descriptions of his stressed out moments really bring home to me what it must feel like to be oversensitive to the environment, and at the same time have difficulty seeing other faces. He avoids looking at faces, just listens to voices and watches the body movements of others.Though I've seen, over the years, many books with Nora Baskin's name on them, I've never actually read one of her novels. But I just couldn't pass this one up, and I'm glad that I decided to read this to the fifth grade class. I'm also surprised, pleasantly surprised at this class. I thought that they would be impatient or not quite understanding or empathetic of this narrative voice, but they seem to be hanging on the words as I read them out loud. Sometimes I ask them a question, like why do they think he feels a certain way at a certain moment and I'm impressed with their answers, with their interpretation of his actions and feelings. This is a great book to share with a class or with your own children, if you're the parent who reads with their kids. I think classes should have more books like this on their required reading lists, than some of the outdated books that they use year after year. At the least they should add this one as required reading- it's entertaining at the same time it teaches about bigotry (against conditions rather than race), impatience and bravery. Because this kid is brave, to go back everyday to school.
catmb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Excellent, easy to read book for all ages that gives a fabulous insight into the mind of a boy with Aspergers Syndrome - especially how he relates to his peers in school and his family and how he learns to adapt to living everyday in a 'NT' world.
ALelliott on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. Jason is a twelve year old boy with autism, growing up and trying to figure out the neurotypical world around him. Isolated from his peers, Jason loses himself in his writing. He posts his work on a fanfic website, where it draws the attention of a girl his own age. Over the internet, the two form a tenuous friendship, and Jason revels in having a new friend. But when they have the opportunity to meet at a writer's convention, Jason fears that the girl, Rebecca, will only see his autism and not the boy inside.What is unique about this book is that Raleigh Baskin tells it from Jason's point of view, but she does so in such a way that Jason's voice is at once unique, authentic, and completely recognizable to anyone who has ever struggled to fit in. This is a good recommendation both for kids with and without autism, as it will make readers think about what it means to be different, but even the most neurotypical kid will find something to identify with in Jason. A wonderful book for upper grade kids.For ages 10 and up.
darlingdumpling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very interesting, unique perspective- a child with Autism written in first person. Unsure if story authentic to actual experience of being in autism spectrum but is a really different view and will help kids to identify with traits that are present in all types of people- comfort/discomfort, worry, etc.
CircusTrain on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
5Q 4P - sadly the award and the topic may cut back on the popularity - hopefully not.
ewyatt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jason, a talented writer, talks about his life and his challenges at school and at home because he isn't a NT (neurotypical). He's autistic. While he can knows what people expect of him in terms of behavior and speech, he finds that he often can not or does not want to behave that way. He loves to write and posts his work frequently to Storyboard, and meets an online friend, Rebecca. A quick read. Jason is an interesting narrator and provides a different voice. Jason has some commonalities with Marcelo (Marcelo in the Real World) and this book will be much more accessible to younger readers - a quicker read.I'd like to know what type of research the author did to position herself to write from this point of view. How did she gain her insight into autism?
SJKessel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Baskin, N.R. (2009). Anything But Typical. New York: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers.195 pages.Appetizer: 12-year-old Jason Blake is good with words. He's a writer. And posting his stories on an online story website is the way that he engages with people. He has trouble speaking to people in person and expressing his emotions because he is autistic. He thinks that because he has trouble expressing what he feels, many neurotypicals, like his classmates, assume he doesn't feel. Most people try to keep their distance from him and Jason silently believes that he'll never have a girlfriend.But then, when Jason goes to check for comments on his latest story online, he discovers a nice comment. A nice comment from a girl! A girl named PhoenixBird who seems to want to be his friend.As Jason and PhoenixBird continue to talk online, his parents inform him that they'll let him go to the storyboard website's annual conference. While normally this would be a dream come true for Jason, it causes him to worry. What if he sees PhoenixBird there? Will she still want to be his friend when she sees that he's different from most of the kids their age? That he has trouble holding still? Nora Raleigh Baskin does an AMAZING job of entering Jason's perspective. He's a wonderfully believable character. Jason is regularly bullied and taken advantage of by some of his classmates and Baskin does a great job of describing Jason's experiences in a fair manner. I can see why this book was one of the Schneider award winners this year.Throughout the book, there are wonderful moments when Jason describes the craft of writing. Because of these moments, I'd probably pair reading this book aloud with having students write their own stories, paying attention to the tensions, the perspective and tools students use to tell the story.I very intentionally say I'd use this book as a read aloud because there are a lot of moments throughout the book that I think a teacher needs to encourage students to discuss the content or provide some background: What autism is, the way the book jumps back and forth through time, the vocabulary, the way gender is presented, the way some of the characters feel about Jason and his feelings toward him, etc.This is one of those books, which, while it's technically middle grade, it can also be used with young adults.I assigned this to my undergrads to read and their reactions. The vast majority liked it and were impressed by Jason's perspective. They threw comments around about how this book can help educate readers on autism, how to interact with autistic people, etc. There was a lot of really great and deep discussion. Plus, the book is less angsty than Mockingbird (which I was considering using next quarter, especially since it was recently named a National Book Award finalist). Monica and I discussed it a few months ago.But I'm sorry, Mockingbird. I think I'm sticking with Anything But Typical for the time being.Dinner Conversation: "Most people like to talk in their own language.They strongly prefer it. They so strongly prefer it that when they go to a foreign country they just talk louder, maybe slower, because they think they will be better understood. But more than talking in their own language, people like to hear things in a way they are most comfortable. The way they are used to. The way they can most easily relate to, as if that makes it more real. So I will try to tell this story in that way.And I will tell this story in first person.I not he. Me not him. Mine not his.In a neurotypical way.I will try--To tell my story in their language, in your language." (p. 1)."Why do people want everyone to act just like they do? Talk like they do. Look like they do. Act like they do.And if you don't--If you don't, people make the assumption that you do not feel what they feel.And then they make the assumption--That you must not feel anything at all" (p.14)."I read the comment one more time.B
countrylife on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love the cover on my copy of Anything But Typical, so suggestive of the contents of the book ¿ swirling thoughts of a child. This novel is written in the voice of twelve-year old Jason, an autist, who is learning to ¿fit in¿ in a regular middle school. His story is told by voicing his thoughts to the reader. I listened to this book on audio and thought that was a particularly effective device for hearing the thoughts of a young person with the condition. Jason lets us know what happens each day, the thoughts that accompany the events, what he has been instructed to do to face these situations, how he feels during them, how he interacts with his classmates and his parents. It provided a lot of insight into the difficult life of an autistic person trying to make it in a neuro-typical world.I don¿t have anything with which to compare, but thought that the characterization was superb. Nicely written and very informative.