Another City, Not My Own

Another City, Not My Own

by Dominick Dunne

Paperback

$16.56 $17.00 Save 3% Current price is $16.56, Original price is $17. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Another City, Not My Own 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
if dunne based bailey on himself i think i would have hated him. and everyone famous in the book seemed to be his friend.took the word friend to a whole new level.the book is interesting though.dunne is just so shameless, thats what i hate about the book- the way he feels so self important.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I personally found this book hard to put down - the content was mind riveting & his other books of which I have read them all were equally as outstanding. The plot kept you wanting to finish the whole book at once.
TerriBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
You know how a pointellist painting makes a whole picture out of separate colored specks ? This book was like that. individual paragraphs, slices of conversation, reactions and responses almost in passing -- but by the time I was half way through the book these all began to meld together into a whole story. it grabs you.
LARA335 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Guilty pleasure. Gossip/name dropping heaven. Simple writing but amazingly addictive.
kelawrence on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Dunne fan . . . and even after all these years, the OJ trial was still interesting to read about. It's just amazing the name-dropping and the lives of the priviledged and the odd coincidences this man gets into. Fascinating - great "beach read" book.
Ann89 More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book. have read most of his books. This one is exceptional. Very well written and detailed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first Dunne novel I've read and to be honest, the OJ trial as a subject didn't thrill me. Neither did Dunne's constant name-dropping... but somehow the storytelling hooked me and by the end I was riveted... then the ending took me completely by surprise. Well done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'll admit I was fascinated by the OJ murder case at the time and completely agreed with Mr Dunnes' assessment of his guilt, but this is the worst piece of self promoting, name dropping drivel through which I have ever had the misfortune to slog. No wonder his brother Gregory can't stand him.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After I read this book, I wanted to know more about Dominck Dunne. I was however, very dissapointed in the ending. I felt that if it was a memior it should have stayed true. He is the true King of name droppers. I felt like a fly on the wall, eavesdropping on his conversations with the rich, famous, and powerful people of the world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gus Bailey a man with a moral compass that is remnant of old, whined and dined by the LA elite he does not succomb to being socially correct in the mist of the OJ saga. As a writer for Vanity Fair Magazine Gus had front row seats during the event of the century. With humor and candidness he lets the reader see how unhumane our country has become. How racially torn our country still is, how justice isn't about right or wrong but about glamour and bias. Hurrah,Hurrah for Dominick Dunne the voice on conscience that we so desprately need. Oh, by the way this is fiction....well kinda
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the way the author relates the factual aspects of the trial, all the while doing what Dominick Dunne does best, mingling with the rich and famous. The multi-layered culture in Los Angeles, where the lives of film personalities, society figures and the average person often overlap, is portrayed with accuracy. In the guise of Augustus Bailey, it is less painful for Dominick Dunne to reveal his deepest feelings about the murder of his daughter and his frailties as a human being. This book is as much about the author's dealing with his past as it is about O. J. Simpson.