And Both Were Young

And Both Were Young

by Madeleine L'Engle

Hardcover

$17.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

And Both Were Young 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
bookworm628 More than 1 year ago
I have read 95% of everything Madeleine L'Engle wrote, and this, the original unedited version of And Both Were Young, holds a special place in my heart. This story is not like her Wrinkle in Time or A Ring of Endless Light; Flip seems more real to me than either heroine of the other two books. Everyone should read this amazing novel. I read it in high school, the first time, and I will give it to my children to read when they are old enough.
aspiringlibrarian97 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Once i picked it up i couldn't put it down. I would most definitely recommend this book to others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt to be as Flip. She faced struggles of her father and Ms.Jackman but when she met Paul everything changes. This is a beauty. I loved the first romance between Flip and Paul. I felt a deep connection with this book of love,loss, and hope. Most importantly, happiness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is storytelling at its best. I always enjoy her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a great book i recommend it to everyone
joanny More than 1 year ago
Madeleine L'Engle's, And Both Were Young, is an excellent tale about a young couple searching to find their place in the world. In order to do this, Flip must confront her own insecurities and mature while at the same time try to help the boy she is in love with solve a mystery that will allow him to become whole. This mystery/romance deals with growing up, much like Michael Segedy's Hampton Road, a psychological thriller that deals with love and social conflict- a must read).
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have ever read. It has all of the hightlights: love, romance, school, and so much more! It really shows life if you go to boarding school! What are you waiting for? Buy/ Read it today!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the BEST book I've ever read! I am hooked on Madeline L'Engle for life! I agree completely with the review written by Sarah a high school sophmore in FL.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was by far the best book I have ever read! The way she describes stuff is unbelievable; its as though you were there because you can see the places in your head, and you can completely relate to her main character, Flip.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i really liked this book. this is the first book i have read by madeliene l'engle and she is a great author. i couldn't put iot down and it is going to stick with me for days.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is fantastic. I just finished reading it for the first time. Madeline L'Engle's writing is moving with a splash of romance. All of her books have a faint similarity in their story line, although each is an individual.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Flip is being sent off to boarding school on request by the woman who as she put it is 'lusting after her father' who is an artist. Flip meets a boy named Paul before she goes off to the school in Switzerland and his dog, Ariel. She goes off to school and doesn't fit in, and the only thing that is bringing her happiness is her mysterious art teacher, until she sees Ariel. She sees Paul again, but he has a secret. He doesn't remember his past. She has to try to help him piece together his past. This book is interesting and you have to read it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is an awesome book(pardon the spelling). This is probably one of Madilne L'engle's best books but it is one of the least known. I wish I had a dashing friend like Paul to talk to me the way that Flip and Paul talk. You should definatly read this book!
wktarin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sweet story. Flowed the most naturally of all the L'Engle books I've read, although some of the plot twists did end seeming contrived.
Tay11 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
i couldnt put it down it was sad and happy at the same time
noahsmae on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was so innocent. The dialogue between Flip and Paul felt like they were 12 year olds not 17. Of course, this book was originally written in the 1950's. This would be a good book to recommend to a young teenager. The romance was not all that convincing -- they interacted more like good friends than two people attracted toward each other.
meggyweg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was apparently quite daring when it was originally published in the 1940s, so much that it had to be bowdlerized. But it seems awfully tame to me. I read the original (non-bowdlerized) version and find myself wondering just what they felt they needed to cut out. The whole "mysterious stranger lurking around" subplot seemed pretty truncated to me.Nevertheless, this was a good book. It does a good job portraying the claustrophobic, almost incestuous boarding school atmosphere (I would have HATED it) and it's also interesting to see Philippa mature from a painfully shy, sulky and rather whiny girl to a stronger, more independent and mature person as the months go on. And all the topical stuff of the post-war period was well integrated into the story.
ohjanet on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sure the a Wrinkle in Time series is fantastic. But it's books like this one that make me love L'Engle with every cell in my body. She understands & conveys tenderness, longing, loneliness and joy better than anyone. This story of girls in a French boarding school just after WWII is one of her finer teen love stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She is one of my favorite writers. I read "A wrinkle in time when I was 10. Now I am pushing 50 and i still can't get enough of her. This book did not disappoint! Flip reminds me of Meg Murry. My favorite book of all is "A ring of endless light" told from the point of view of Vicki Austen, a recurring character in many of her books, and probably my favorite of all her characters. If you like Madeleine L'engle read this. You will like it a lot, almost guaranteed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How old should u b 2 read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago