America's Sweetheart

America's Sweetheart

by Courtney Love
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

America's Sweetheart 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say that very few cd's come out that really engage me, but Courtney Love has always gotten the job done. I just adore her music and her intensely poetic lyrics. Listening to a Courtney record is like a therapy session. Her mournful and emotional screams can be felt in the listener's chest, and her breathy sighs of love and drugs seem all too real to be denied. This album shines both lyrically and structurally, each track was carefully crafted, but in a way that makes the listener feel like it was unrehearsed. Overall, Love sounds natural and intoxicating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this album the day it came out-- courtney rules! Its so great and makes me wonder--is Julian, Im a little bit older then you about Julian Casablancas? Because hes mighty hot and so is Courtney, a great pair (if i cant date either). Anyway this album has amazing vocals and lyrics that really speak to me. I definetely would reccomend this. Buy it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This long awaited album has beautiful lyrics and is wonderful musically. Its deeply moving. A must have album of 2004
Guest More than 1 year ago
Each song is both individually a masterpiece...as well as a collective genius. Americas sweetheart is a classic. Its a mixture of hard rock, moving ballads and beautifuly crafted pop rock tunes. The highlight of the album...for me anyway...is Sunset strip. The music gives the illusion of a shallow poppy song...but the lyrics are much deeper "i got pills coz im blonde/i got pills coz ur dead/i got pills coz i am the worst and best dressed" Courtney...in true Love style doesnt hold back...she lets it all out...for the world to see...to share...and to cherish!!!!It will deffinately add a sparkle and a shine to any cd collection!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Courtney is back! and she is awesome! this album is as good as it can be. the lyrics is great, and the music too. the song "Uncool" makes you cry, it's so beautiful and powerfull. every song special..but some of them is more than the others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album was definately worth the wait! Courtney's raw lyrics and hot guitar riffs mean this album will be on repeat in your stereo..
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been waiting forever for this album, and I have to say I'm completely addicted to it now. Warning to make sure you know whether you're buying the clean or explcit version- it was rather irritating to realize that I bought the wrong one! People haven't given this album enough credit because of the media driven obsession with judging celebrities, and its sad because music has become tainted by these behind the scenes tv shows and magazines. Regardless of what you think of her, Courtney has done an amazing job with this album. My favorite tracks are Mono and All the Drugs. For those of you who own Hole albums, its not as slick as Celebrity Skin, and is a rather perfect balance between radio friendly and rock. And its good to hear her scream again (although I liked CS, it definately lacked her screaming). Don't buy the clean version, because editting out explatives doesn't make it clean, so stick to the explicit version.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After some critical self-diagnosis, I have determined that I am not suffering from pre-mature senile dementia, I'm just in love with Courtney Love. "America's Sweetheart" is a masterpiece of artistic genius, taking me through the raw edged and gripping "All the Drugs", rocking me out with the brutal "Mono", with its eerie searching for the lost chord ending, and bringing tears to my eyes as I listened to "Sunset Strip" and "Hold On To Me". I traversed through a myriad of emotions as Courtney took me where ever she wanted me to go. At the end of the album, I felt as though I was there with her as an experience rather than just listening to her on my cd player. I'm left with mixed emotions, suffering through the brutal hurts this courageous woman has endured after the horrific death of Kurt Kobain, one of my favorite artists. Her public life not withstanding, Courtney Love presents as a sensitive, deep, and outrageous artistic genius. We all have aged since "Live Through This" and "Celebrity Skin", both fantastic works, but it's time for all of us to transition into a new era. Courtney Love has provided me with the intense inspiration to write more poetry (some for her), deep introspection into the changes I have experienced in my own life, and the blatant courage to continue pushing the artistic envelope. This is a deeply sensitive and excellent work; it is performed by a beautiful outrageous artist who begs to let us understand as she pours her heart out. I continue to be moved and touched by this album.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are wondering weather or not to buy this album, wait no longer, and order it TODAY!! The music is wonderfull, and the lyricks are just divine.... Courtney never stops to amase me with her candidness, her honesty, her rawness, and no hold bargens oppinions. She truely is a poet, who just happens to write awesome music to go with her lyricks...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album proves that courtney has not lost her touch at all, she can rock just as hard as ever! The songs are well written, and performed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Save your money and buy something worthwhile. It seems like a very labored effort and is difficult to listen to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
She's back and let no one forget it. Courtney Love has had so much bad press many times people can't see the forest through the trees or maybe simply this time the good music through the bad publicity. Courtney shows the talent and raw emotion that has always been part of her songs. And I should say always will be. Welcome back Courtney. I for one missed you and it's GREAT to know such a fine talent isn't hiding away anymore!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is beautiful, wonderful, awesome, genius, clever, fun, dinamic, and everyother good thing one could possibly say about a single album. Courtney Love is the most brilliant musician that I have ever heard. She is just so creative, and nothing ever stops this woman from amazing her fans (and gaining more fans). If you are even thinking about buying this CD, do it. You won't find a better new release.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This whole cd is Courtney at her finest....I love it!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first heard Hole was no more, I was quite disappointed - but that feeling is gone. America's Sweetheart is all that you LOVE-d and more. "Mono" is an instant classic, "Uncool" is the total opposite of it's namesake (it's extremely cool), "Julian.." is very infectious. As a matter of fact, I could go on and on, the bottom line is - YOU NEED TO BUY THIS CD TO MAKE YOUR LIFE COMPLETE! It's just awesome
Guest More than 1 year ago
on this her first album since hole disbanded courtney swing for the fences and hits a gram slam.rocks reigning princess hits the mark on all the tracks.a must buy for all of courtneys loyal fans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Listen up all you rocker wanna be's... and take notes! The teacher has spoken, screamed that is. You go Courtney!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yeah, she always makes you wait, but it is always worth it. She is always on the raw edge of emotion, and hasn't missed a beat from the last 2 Hole efforts, despite current train wreck personal life. the album is worth it for the artwork alone, Courtney as Vargas Girl. Mono is classic Love. I only hope its not 5 years until next CD Emerges. And Courtney stays alive and out of jail. Buy this CD NOW!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The long awaited return of Courtney Love returns in full force from the beginning to the end of this newest release! She proves once again, that girls do indeed rock harder than boys!
Guest More than 1 year ago
"Give me one match so I can set myself on fire," screams Love in the adrenaline charged song "I'll Do Anything". This woman doesn't need a match she's already on fire, as is her debut solo album "America's Sweetheart". Rock's reigning queen is back and you definitely don't want to pass her by.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Courty Love..those two words alone get so much drama from people who have no idea of the talent behind them. "America's Sweeheart" is an excellent album from a truly gifted artist. Courtney has returned and boy did we need her! Music itself is in a horrid state with all the throw away "rock" acts on MTV, VH1, Fuse and so forth. Courtney wails and sings from her heart about things she truly has gone through. It's her music and you have to understand that she telling her story. I have been waiting a long time for this record, but was happy when I popped it in my car and jammed around town to get a good listen. "Mono" already a classic, "Did you miss me?" hell yeah we did! Other favorites for me, "Sunset Strip" just a great song for the right moment, "Almost Golden" you can feel her on this one, along with "Life Despite God" raw emotions all the way through!, "Zeplin Song" upbeat and fun! She closes with "Never Gonna Be The Same" I played this song after I realized it was truly over with my boyfreind...(Thanks Courtney) Things won't ever be like they were but she brings it so close you can feel it. I love this album! I hear people saying "For fans only", and I say B.S.! Put aside your issues and listen... you may end up eating your words after. THANK YOU COURTNEY, FOR SHOWING THAT REAL ROCK ISN'T DEAD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Taking a departure from Hole's last glossy, polished, and Prozac induced effort, "Celebrity Skin," Ms. Love opts for a return to her more raw, hard rockin', and New Wave punk influenced roots. But don't be fooled. This is not a sequel to "Pretty on the Inside." However, this time around, she aims to recapture her glory days of "Live Through This," and while it's an honorable attempt, it doesn't quite match it. Rock may be dead, but Courtney Love isn't just yet. Sounding as if she has sustained soley on cigarettes and whiskey, Love remains a sonic force not to be reckoned with. She still knows how to rock, unleashing the neurotic, narcissistic banshee in her, shrieking, screaming, and uttering words like they were her last. Brody Armstrong, eat your heart out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Courtney is the greatest. When she was with Hole I thought she was great, now she's even better. I love her sound and everything about her is so cool. Her new cd rocks. The songs are aweosome, expecially her first single "Mono." This cd is pure Courtney and I think it comes from her heart (not to sound sappy or anything). Everyone go out and buy her new cd NOW!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I never expected this from a solo album, but this is awesome. You gotta check it out for yourself. Trust me, you won't be disappointed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Courtney Love returns to music, without her Hole backing and years after her last cd with Hole, Celebrity Skin, asks on the opening song if we missed her. I for one definatly did. With lyrics that are as great as any she's ever written and riffs that stick with you this is easily the best rock album in years. Even if you are not a fan of her personal life, this album will rock you. It comes out swinging with "Mono", which has some of the best lyrics Love has ever written, and throughout the album keeps a rather fast tempo. A few highlights include the smells like teen spirit opening riff and the song that makes fun of how everyone is always playing stairway to heaven (much like the joke in Wanye's World). I highly recommed this album to anyone looking for some good old fashioned rock, with a real punk attitude.