American Tall Tales

American Tall Tales

Audio Other(Other - With Headphones)

$39.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

American Tall Tales 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I was hesitatnt about spending the money on these audio CDs, I am so thankful that I did! I am a student teacher, and I was teaching the class about imaginative literature, particularly legends/tall tales. I bought the American Tall Tales book by Mary Pope Osborne as well as these CDs. The CDs were the perfect accompaniement to the lesson. The students were completely engrossed in the stories, and it was a great alternative to simply me reading it aloud. It really brought the story alive, with expression and all of its descriptive words. I think this is a perfect gift for an elementary teacher (I am in a 4th grade class) and a great way to bring American legends/tall tales to life for kids. I was VERY pleased with this purchase!
ElenaEstrada on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
American Tall Tales by Mary Pope Osborn is a collection of American tall tales which include, among others, Davy Crockett, Johnny Appleseed, Pecos Bill, and Paul Bunyan. It incorporates part of American history as it documents larger than life characters whose primary purpose was to establish a new country by settling the rouged frontier lands. Since there is really no tall tales of American women, the author takes the liberty and combines several female characters into a single heroine and she calls her Sally Ann Thunder Ann Whirlwind. I think this fabrication is a bit of a misrepresentation of the American Tall tales since she invented the tall tale as she wrote the book. Although it is a fabrication, I can understand why the author felt compelled to combine some documentation of different female frontier women and make at least one heroine up. According to the author, stories of strong frontierswomen do exist, but they never received the notoriety that the male characters received. In fact, the author points out that Davy Crockett spoke of these strong women and described them as ¿outrageous¿ and ¿comical¿. It maybe that women who ventured too far from the social mares of that time where not accepted as part of that society. Ages: 5-10
farfromkansas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mary Pope Osborne¿s version of ¿John Henry¿ (included in American Tall Tales) includes an introduction that lays the historical foundation of the story. She begins by describing the process of railroad construction and the origin of ¿steel drivers,¿ and then leads into the origins of the John Henry stories, dating their creation to the 1870¿s. In the actual story of ¿John Henry¿ she has written, Osborne embraces the ¿fantasy¿ of tall tales, including the claims that John Henry was born with a hammer in his hand and that he did the work of five men at the same time. Clearly, Osborne enjoys the ¿larger-than-life¿ tone of tall tales and keeps this tone alive in her version of the story.Michael McCurdy¿s wood engraving illustrations are remarkable unique: like the tall tales described in the book, wood engravings come from an Americana tradition that evolved quickly into other graphic forms. Because of this, McCurdy¿s illustrations seem almost quaint at times; however, he does ¿modernize¿ these pictures by adding stylized elements (particularly poses and settings) that lend a ¿cartoonish¿ quality that will make the artwork more accessible to young children.Citation:Osborne, Mary Pope, and Michael McCurdy. "John Henry." American Tall Tales. New York: Knopf, 1991. 87-95. Print.
cnolasco on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Osborne, M.P. (1991). American Tall Tales (McCurdy, M. Illus.). New York: Knopf.American Tall Tales is a collection of tales retold by Mary Pope Osborne. Some of the tales included are: Paul Bunyan, Davy Crockett, Johnny Appleseed, and Pecos Bill. Before each of the tales is a page of notes on the story, which helps give a little historical perspective on where and how these tales came to be. The tales range from eight to ten pages in length and all have colored wood engravings portraying parts of the story. I enjoyed the wood engravings because I feel that they fit the stories well. The tales are old and have been passed down and the wood engravings have that same feeling to them. Included in the back is a bibliography listing the sources Osborne used to retell the stories. Overall, nothing new here, but a nice collection to the basic American tall tales
SigmundFraud on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
using for my small class of eight year olds.
alliek710 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Use during a tall tales unit. To teach about folk tales and the classic characters and their stories.
paTX More than 1 year ago
Goes into more detail for our Cub Scout Bears. Very enjoyable, but the level may be hard for some to read without help.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago