ISBN-10:
0393912671
ISBN-13:
2900393912677
Pub. Date:
11/09/2012
Publisher:
Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
America: A Narrative History / Edition 9

America: A Narrative History / Edition 9

by George Brown Tindall
Current price is , Original price is $63.75. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Out of Stock Online.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

America 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the textbook for my current AP class, and it is straight forward, but as a history buff, I find it quite boring. It is lacking much of what I feel students need to learn.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very detailed book ruined by an extreme level of partisan commentary. The author's seek to tell you what to think of certain matters and not only paint certain subjects in tones more preferably to their political or philosophical bias, but also see fit to offer opinion decisions and present them as objective truths. Foner's "Give Me Liberty" whilst not as detailed is more fun, concentrates on the facts and tries not to colour events with a lens of extreme prejudice. Go for that instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought the book now won't down load on iPad. If I had known I would have wasted the money.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After teaching for more than 36 years, I find this text to be the best I have ever used. It is a balanced synthesis of historiographical develoments in the last thirty or so years as well as an interesting story which blends a difficult mix of social, political, and economic trends. Nothing really important is wanting in this text, even humor (sometimes subtle). The study materials are also quite helpful according to the testimonials of my former students. Especially noteworthy are the human interest stories which clarify the historical narrative.
clitchfi22 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yes indeed its a text book. Though I may have not picked up on my own, even after the finishing my American history 101 class I found my self reading section of the book. Obviously very informative but also very interesting and a good book to have around for those that like explore and know about American history.
Angelic55blonde on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's a textbook so it's definitely not something you pick up for fun. However, I liked the format and it wasn't completely dull. It gives a good overview of American history so if you are looking for something like that, then this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lov it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book for a college class I am currently taking and it wont go on to the nook i have purchased and i cant sell/return it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a simple read and is easy to understand. It's a great introduction to American History from the start to 1877.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was used as our AP US History textbook and is one of the most interesting history textbooks that I have read. I definitely recommend this book if you're interested in learning American history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a horrible way of showing the history of our great nation, and I feel is a disgrace to all historians, and lovers of America. I feel that this book is complete garbage, and should be discontinued immediately.