All the Wrong Places

All the Wrong Places

by Joy Fielding

Hardcover

$24.30 $27.00 Save 10% Current price is $24.3, Original price is $27. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 27
MARKETPLACE
105 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

All the Wrong Places: A Novel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
liccyh 4 months ago
A really tense read with lots of family drama and some serial killer action for good measure! Four Bostonian women end up get involved with a dating app and we watch helplessly as the situation rapidly spirals out of control. Who will the next victim be? Paige has lost her job and her cousin had an affair with her partner so she has now moved home to be with her mother and close to her best friend Chloe. Each of the characters has her own agenda and we get to know them as the book goes on. When Paige meets a really interesting and attractive guy, is it really too good to be true? We all know the risks of dating apps, but it is an easily relatable story - who doesn't want true love? And you will be in suspense right until the end.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Not+one+of+her+better+books.++Not+even+eorth+one+star.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story that drew me in from the very beginning until the very last page!
HowUsefulItIs More than 1 year ago
I started reading All the Wrong Places on 5/17/2019 and finished it on 5/22/2019. This book is an excellent read. I love the first chapter, definitely a strong start to hook in readers’ attention. The chapters following after that was slow building, but still an interesting enough to read that I didn’t want to put it down. I was hoping the killer to be among the men the four main women characters were involved with but I was disappointed to find out that he’s his own mystery person. I do like that the author include his point of view in the story. I like the concept of online dating and the killer can be an everyday good looking person that could easily fool anyone into thinking he could be the good guy instead of the bad ones. This book is told in the third person point of view following Mr. Right Now as he is having dinner and torturing a lady he met on a dating app. He informs readers that he’s very handsome, more handsome than the fake profile picture he uses and that women trusts him enough to leave the crowded bar they initially met and go to his apartment for a home cooked meal. The story then goes back to 3 weeks earlier, following Paige Hamilton, 33 as she experienced yet another failed date with a man she met on a dating app. Paige is currently living with her 70 year-old mother after her father passed away 2 years ago. She’s unemployed and her lived-in boyfriend Noah of 3 years left her for her cousin. Another view is Chloe, Paige’s best friend. Chloe married a handsome womanizer Matt. She joined the dating app to verify that her husband is on there per an anonymous phone call informing her of her husband’s online presence. The fourth view is Joan, Paige’s mom. Joan decided to join the dating apps as suggested by Paige to find a companion since her husband’s death. The fifth view is of Heather, Paige’s cousin. Heather is unhappy even though she’s having all of Paige’s things: apartment, boyfriend, and career. She joined the dating app to look for excitement. All the Wrong Places is well written. I enjoyed the different stories of the four women including the killer’s. I like Paige’s mom, being 70 and out dating again. I like the luck Paige was having even though she personally probably hate all the inconveniences thrown her way. Heather’s drama is a bit funny. She thinks she’s doing a revenge on Chloe but she didn’t realize she’s being used and easily discarded. I like Chloe only when she caught the new contact in Matt’s phone toward the end. The idea of online dating apps always interest me and I’m glad to have read this book. Although there weren’t much twists in who the killer is, I do enjoy the reminder that the killer could be someone other than loners and uglies. I do recommend everyone to read this book. Pro: fast paced, page turner, dating apps, love & betrayal, family & friends, online dating apps Con: not much twists I rate it 4.5 stars! ***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Ballantine Books for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest. xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
lsmoore_43 More than 1 year ago
I have read every book that Joy Fielding has written so when I got this one I was so very excited. She is a great thriller writer, but this one was a tiny bit of a disappointment. It had all the makings of a great thriller. It had the killer, victims, reasons, friends, family, everything you would expect from one of Ms Fielding’s books. The problem I had was that it didn’t focus that much on the killer. I mean it had him of course and it told some vague things about what he did. He was very evil but it gave no reason for why he did what he did. The ending felt unfinished. The last girl, who was a key player in this book, was never mentioned. She was never found??? The killer disappeared without a trace? What was up with that unless maybe there is going to be a sequel which I highly doubt because I have never read one of her books that didn’t end and the bad guy always got caught. While I did enjoy this book it just didn’t seem like the other books that this author has written. I felt kind of cheated. I liked the characters. They were well developed and you will feel like you know them. You will love to hate about three of them and love the rest. I loved the things that came out of the mouths of Chloe’s children. They were so funny. I was glad she decided to have a life and be happy and that her and Paige were so close. I can’t say much without giving things away though. Paige’s mom was a very nice lady and I was happy she found love at 70. Gives us hope that some things don’t die when we get older. Ha ha But seriously..... I have to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing-Ballantine for the ARC of this book. I only gave this a 4 star rating because of some things noted above. I did enjoy it and I do recommend it to my friends who love to read. It was an enjoyable book. Just a bit off for other books I have read by this author. I will continue to read her books though and wait for another one.
LuvSnoop42 More than 1 year ago
I have read Joy Fielding for over 30 years. Her books are like old friends. I have read them all and she has had hits and misses, but they are all comforting, fast, easy reads. Like Lifetime movies. This one falls in between a hit and a miss in that it is definitely fast-paced with something happening in each chapter. I enjoyed all of the characters, even annoying Heather, and their points of views, I pretty much had the ending figured out but it was still a fun ride, I just wasn't crazy about the FINAL ending. I don't want to give any spoilers, but I would have liked one part to be a different resolution. All in all though, I can definitely recommend this one! Thank you, NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC!!
mzglorybe More than 1 year ago
Not up to par for Fielding ... 2.5 stars from this reader. I’ve been a Fielding fan for many years, that’s why I rounded it up to 3 stars. This was not one of my favorites. Usually she can keep you on the edge of your seat as far as thrillers go but this didn’t do that for me. I’m not sure I would even classify it as a thriller, or as a psychological thriller either. I didn’t find anything electrifying about it. It is more about the relationships between four women and why they turn to online dating sites. For pretty much the same reason most people do... boredom, needing something new, unfaithful mates, etc., There is a lateral story going on about a predator picking his prey from women on these sites but it is pretty sketchy. Not enough development about the guy except that he’s handsome, manipulative and likes to torture women after feeding them steak and then killing them. At one point towards the end something happens to one of the ladies, a mother of two young children and there weren’t any details about how or why it occurred, only that she was fortunate to escape with her life, and not at the hands of the predator either. As a reader, I wanted details. What bothered me even more was how this novel ended. It just stops, and we are left to imagine what happens next. It wasn’t the type of novel you can’t wait to get back to and I was glad to move on to something else. ARC provided by Ballantine via Net Galley for my unbiased review
diane92345 More than 1 year ago
Four women look for love in All the Wrong Places and one ends up trapped by a serial killer. Paige is having a bad few months. First, she loses her high-profile advertising job. Then she catches her cousin Heather, who has always copied her life choices, in bed with her boyfriend. To save money, Paige moves in with her seventy-year-old widowed mother, Joan. Paige’s best friend, Chloe, gets an anonymous tip and discovers her husband has recently set up profiles on several online dating sites. All four woman decide to join Match Sticks to find new men. One is shown trapped by a serial killer in his apartment as the book opens. But which one? All the Wrong Places balances a serial killer thriller plot with an excellent chick lit tale. It even has a bit of comic relief with hapless Heather. The mixture somehow works well making this a 4 star read! Thanks to Ballantine Books and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.
lee2staes More than 1 year ago
All the Wrong Places is a fascinating mix of thriller, family drama and the story of a serial killer. It is an interesting look at online dating and some of the possible dangers. It was a bit confusing at times with all the different characters but as the story unwinds everything got sorted out. There are many surprises, twists and turns that kept me in suspense until the shocking, abrupt conclusion, making this an enjoyable read. I received this book from NetGalley in return for an honest review.
Renwarsreads More than 1 year ago
This book delved into multiple characters and their stories but they were all somehow related. I really liked the story and thought the ending was good. It really surprised me.
Peppyob More than 1 year ago
How much do you really know about that new friend or follower you connected with on social media or online dating site? Could a psychopath be searching for that “right” person to victimize as they are looking at the seemingly benign photos and posts that you upload concerning yourself and your family? These are some of the questions you might ask yourself after reading this book. Joy Fielding has written an enthralling psychological thriller about the intertwined relationship between four women. Paige, her mother Joan, best friend Chloe and her cousin Heather (with whom Paige has a strained relationship), all have their own personal agendas for exploring online dating. The suspense as the story unfolds will keep you on your toes. Joy Fielding is a master of thriller and suspense novels.The character narrative of the serial killer in the story is absolutely chilling. I don't think I will easily forget this one.
Nanna51 More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely one of the best thrillers that I have read in a long time! The author knew just when to increase the suspense and then how to keep the reader waiting and wanting more. When the story begins, Paige is suffering from a broken heart, caused by none other than her conniving cousin Heather. Joan, Paige’s mother, is feeling old and at loose ends, after being a widow for a few years. Chloe, Paige’s best friend, is suffering a crisis of her own when she finds out that her husband Matt may have been unfaithful. At first, it seemed like a lot of characters to keep up with, but actually, they all had some strong personalities that the book took on a life of its own, like a really engrossing movie. The final character worth mentioning in a review is Mr. Right Now, Paige’s contact on a dating site who may or may not be what she is hoping for. The story is so fast-paced that it’s like a whirlwind of drama or a high-speed locomotive. I enjoyed the relationships between the characters and I particularly liked that the protagonist, Paige, was easy to like. I found myself almost holding my breath when Paige’s life was in imminent danger, again and again. Of course, the reader is not meant to like Heather because she is extremely obnoxious, so I didn’t like her at all, although I did kind of pity her for her shallow life. This book has it all: love gained and lost, love for a lifetime, a parent’s neglect, unemployment, and a serial killer. Put it all together and it all adds up to one fantastic book! Disclaimer Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”