Alice Cooper, Golf Monster: A Rock 'n' Roller's 12 Steps to Becoming a Golf Addict

Alice Cooper, Golf Monster: A Rock 'n' Roller's 12 Steps to Becoming a Golf Addict

Hardcover

$23.51 $24.95 Save 6% Current price is $23.51, Original price is $24.95. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
22 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Alice Cooper, Golf Monster 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
elektherelic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book ended up being more interesting than I thought it would be. I enjoyed the juxtaposition of life and golf and how he pulled them together. Cooper has done a lot in his day and has a lot of advice to give, though not all of it hits home with me. I feel there are times that he comes off as very cocky and I got a little tired of the CONSTANT name dropping...yeah, I get it, you're famous and you know famous people. The golf "tips" section was pretty poorly developed, just kinda thrown together. Really appreciated his frankness dealing with Christianity and Alcohol. In the end, I put the book down and paced back and forth until my tee time. Glad I read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omigushers Alice Cooper is the one of the judges (most of the time) from ....... X-FACTOR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe just a smidgen on the long side but I enjoyed this book a lot. I found the mixture of golf and rock entertaining and fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable book. I dont like golf in the least but darn if after reading this book I do understand why people do. Plus alot of interesting stories of other celebs Alice ran in to or knew. I was never a big fan of the music but sdid find him an interesting person. Very glad to have made this purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't know why the one reviewer didn't like the book, this wasn't supposed to be a biography, it was a very well written and entertaining golf book. I am pretty sure even a " golf widow" would enjoy this book. Good job Alice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your an Alice Cooper fan its a must you will enjoy the book from cover to cover
JennGrrl More than 1 year ago
First of all, I went into this book very skeptical. That being said, I really enjoyed it! I liked Alice Cooper, but I do not like golf. However, I found myself interested in the golf in this book. I also found myself interested in Alice's story. I usually get annoyed by name dropping, but I didn't feel that it was being done to be pretentious in this case. It was just plain interesting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alice seems to be a genuinely great guy. He was a huuuuge star in the 70's and the stories he tells are not BS. I can barely hold a putter, but this guy is like the best celebrity golfer out there. This book is a great capsule of Alice's life and career with some hard core golf stuff mixed in. He built a great career and now he's enjoying himself; not the typical road to ruin story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JCarter More than 1 year ago
Having been an Alice Cooper fan since their first album I was aware of many of the stories told in this book. The stories yes, but not the stories behind them. I knew the band originated in Phoenix but not that Vincent Furnier aka Alice came close to death more than once in his early years. I had no idea of the rock idols they rubbed shoulders with in those early days. Combined with his obsession with golf and how it can be used in everyday life is a new way of presenting one's story. For those of us of that era and remember the days of Alice, Janis Joplin, the Doors, and Hendrix this is a marvelous look back at those days.
LanceT More than 1 year ago
Alice Cooper takes the reader on a breezy trip through his life, intercut with insightful tips on his obsession for golf. The stories of rock and roll in the 70's are both funny and memorable, and the golf bits are interesting even to a non-golfer. Cooper's comments on the psychological aspects of the game are applicable to any competitive pursuit, from poker to life in general. Overall, highly entertaining, evidently honest, and very readable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RDM More than 1 year ago
I grew up in the 70s listening to Alice Cooper's music, and am an avid golfer so this book was a must read for me. It's a blend of Alice's rock and roll experiences and how he used golf to help him get past his addiction to alcohol. Excellent read.
Cisley More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very entertaining. I saw Alice Cooper years ago, when he was first performing. While at Barnes and Noble I came across this book and thought, hey, Alice Cooper, wonder what he's been up to since all those many years ago...so I bought the book to find out. Well, Alice Cooper not only has the jones in his bones for theatrical rock n roll but for golf as well. Alice talks about his career in music as well as his passion for golf in alternating chapters in the book. If you are a boomer who remembers Alice Cooper and now your OCD is golf, you will enjoy this book. He has a LOT of great golf tips as well. If, on the other hand you are strictly looking for a tell all book about his life in rock, then, not perhaps this isn't your book. I found it to be a great book, easy and fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alice Cooper's Golf Monster is a fun, informative and easy read. Very difficult to put down once you've begun. It's full of candid, cool and quirky insights from someone who's truly done it all. Not only has he lived to tell about it, but he's become a better and stronger person for it. Who would have thought the Alice Cooper lifestyle to be a formula for growth and improvement? Now just try convincing your parents of that. If for a moment some of it seems a bit self-congratulating, keep in mind he's merely recounting influential and memorable moments in his life. And what an amazing life it's been. Both scary and inspiring. He's actually lived these events. That being the case, there's clearly no bragging intended. Merely fright and fun. And he wouldn't have it any other way. Enjoy...
oslane More than 1 year ago
Before reading I assumed that this was just an Alice Cooper golf tip book. I kind of wish it was. With the help of Keith and Kent Zimmerman (who helped John Lydon write his Rotten: No Irish, No Blacks, No Dogs), Alice splits his book between a quickly paced memoir and golf tip book, with many of the golf tips relating to rock 'n' roll. Well, as much as Alice may think there's a parallel between the two, I found most of this tedius. Regardless I feel Alice speeds through his own life and work a bit to carelessly. As an Alice fan(atic) I feel that his body of work is too dense to simply be glanced over in the manner which he does. He barely goes into any depth into any of his albums - with the original band or not - and pays more attention to listing names of entertainers he's drank with. Just a few of the things I wish Alice would have gone into include lead guitarist Glenn Buxton, who Alice doesn't even mention having died in 1996, the formation of the Billion Dollar Babies, Alice's various movie roles including the straight to video schlock fest Monster Dog, his appearance in The Decline of Western Civilization Part II: The Metal years or John Carpenter's Prince of Darkness as well as contributing the theme to Friday the 13th Part 6. Alice has also collaborated with Guns 'n' Roses, Rob Zombie, Twisted Sister and even rapper Xzibit yet makes no mention of this. He doesn't even bring up the multitudes of bands he's toured with, which in and of itself could make interesting reading. He also skimps out on any discussion of his being a Republican, which, as indicated earlier in the book, goes against his family's Democratic nature. Why exclude this? It's interesting. In my estimation this book could have been so much more. Instead you get a brief skim through information you probably could find on the internet - save for a few facts about Alice's childhood which are interesting - juxtaposed with 12 chapters on improving your golf score. Buy at your own risk.