ISBN-10:
0872207323
ISBN-13:
9780872207325
Pub. Date:
03/01/2005
Publisher:
Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Aeneid / Edition 1

Aeneid / Edition 1

Current price is , Original price is $39.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Aeneid (Fagles Translation) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just so we're all clear: the following customer reviews address different translations, not the Hackett publication on this page. I haven't read Lombardo's translation of the Aeneid, but I have read some of his translations of other texts and they were great...His voice is very modern and readable.
StefanY on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Aeneid is basically a sequel to the Iliad by Homer but told with a slant to Roman ideology and history. What Virgil has done with the Aeneid is to take Homer's Iliad and Odyssey and combine them into one work that takes the best out of the two originals and makes them valid and relevant to Roman sensibilities. (Just as Homer himself took the old legends and mythology of the Greeks and used them to create his two epic poems.)Virgil does a wonderful job of keeping the reader engaged through the first half of his story. (Which is modeled after the Odyssey.) There is a real sense of adventure and finding love throughout this section of the book and the pacing moves it along rather quickly. Towards the end of this portion however, the book takes a turn in my opinion when Aeneas has to travel into the Underworld to visit the spirits of the dead. Things in this portion got a bit drawn out and dull to me and the climax of this scene was nothing more than a direct homage to the Roman rulers and their fine lineage. Basically, it was just a bunch of brown-nosing for the benefit of the ruling Caesar.The second half of the book is the war section (the Iliad part of the book.) The pace once again picks up and we are rewarded for our persistence with an epic battle between the two grand heroes.All in all, I found the Aeneid to be an entertaining read. Virgil does a nice job filling in missing events from the Iliad and Odyssey while also creating a continuation of the tale itself which leads to the founding of the Roman Empire.If you're into the classics of literature, this is a must read.
secretshelflife on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked The Aeneid. It wasn¿t exactly a pleasure read, but I liked it in the way you like arduous things (and by arduous I mean reading all 300+ pages of epic prose in 3 days) once they¿re over. If you¿ve ever read Grapes of Wrath maybe you know what I¿m talking about. There were a lot of slow parts, many of which involved an excess of names, but there were also plenty of gripping parts that had me actually forgetting to watch the page numbers tick by as slowly as the minutes. For example, the last four books are almost entirely devoted to one long, drawn out, dramatic, and incredibly visceral battle scene. I may have cringed at least once a page, but I certainly wasn¿t bored! Two Sentence Summary: After the sack of Troy, Aeneas escapes with a group of Trojan warriors and sets out for the shores of Italy, where he will found New Troy (aka Rome). He must first overcome the obstacles of a vindictive meddling goddess, and then conquer the land destined to become a great empire.I¿m guessing most of you have heard of The Aeneid. And maybe you¿ve heard whisperings of comparisons to The Odyssey. Maybe some have you have even read it. If you a) haven¿t and b) have read The Odyssey and didn¿t loathe it, I recommend The Aeneid as a good companion read. It¿s an excellent microcosmic example that for all the energy the Romans put into dissing the Greeks, they put at least as much or more into imitating (and in their minds, improving on) them. Naturally it¿s chock full of meaty themes as well, like the conflict between duty and desire, the martyrdom of present happiness for future greatness, learning what to let go of and when, the ephemerality of human life and connection, the entanglement of place and identity... the list goes on. And Virgil wasn¿t kidding around. He knew his way around a vivid description (see: incredibly visceral battle scene). I¿ve never read such inventive ¿ and numerous ¿ descriptions of dawn. They put Homer¿s lovely, if repetitive, ¿rosy-fingered dawn¿ to shame. And that¿s pretty much Virgil¿s goal in a nutshell: outdo Homer. Whether he succeeds or not is up to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits down and waigs. And thinks. And cries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: wait a sec. Who cares?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: *blank stare* <p> Age: 6 moons (random fact about the number six; it comes after the number five, and you can add up may different numbers to make it! Examples: 2 + 4, 3 + 3) <p> Gender &male and I am NOT gonna prove it. Perv. <p> Looks: shaggy white pelt, with coal black stripes on each of his legs, and three, count 'em, three horizontal gray stripes the run along his back, starting at his shoulders and ending at the base of his tail. His eyes are a bright, kingly violet, with darker violet speckles. <p> Personality: natural born leader, bold, sometimes sarcastic (okay, a lot of the time), and full of courage. Always up for any adventure and will dive into danger head-on without looking back. <p> Family: Seven (mother), Virus (father), Vitani (sister), Savvy (sister), Serval (brother), Toxin (grandfather). <p> Friends: well I just got here, but... I'd definitely say that Seven and Swift (Swufteh I'm sorreh! I promised I'd only ever call you by your nickname, but I lied :3) are my two best friends here. I hope to add to this list and include each and every one of you :D <p> <br> Baiii for now! *huggles and throws around white fundip* #Glosseh4ever #feedme
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name seriously age old enough looks black with blue patterns that look like fire hobbies fishing hunting questions ask
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ill do it later
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
<p> [Holy jebus, man! All you peeps are so high-tech! My bio's gonna suck. -__-] </p> <p> Reaper </p> <p> 13 moons old </p> <p> Feirce, can be kind, tempermental[Yo,I has gots issues. Stay back.], encouraging, loyal. </p> <p> No kin </p> <p> No mate, kits, but a crush on N - nevermind. </p> <p> No important history </p> <p> He has a small, thick banded, gold hoop earing in his right ear, and a worn leather collar that has a curling, black and silver metal feather dangling from it. </p> <p> He is a muscular, deep dark brown, long furred tabby tom. He has brilliant green eyes with gold fleck and streaks in the irises, long front fangs, and long, thick claws. </p>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alright! For easy reference, l'm going to not do the funny shtuff this time. Sowwy! <br> <p> Name- Platinum <br> <p> Nicknames- Plat, Platii, Plattii, Nummy, Platinun (typo mispell) <br> <p> Age- Not old, but not too young <br> <p> Gender- &female <br> <p> Looks- Dark grey with lighter grey chest and paws. One toe on a paw is almost white. Very dark blue eyes, almost navy. She has a scar on her stomach and ear, pressumably battle wounds. <br> <p> Personality- Stubborn, Often Irritated/ing, Bossy, Co<_>cky, Willfull. Also Kind, Funny, Strange, and Just Plain Cool (JPC) <br> <p> Kin- Parents are unknown. <br> Brother is Silverfang, or Silv. <br> Sisters-in-law are Mint, Shatter, Nightsky, Pikapower, Dream or Night or something, to name a few. <br> Nieces/Nephews- Silv's kits. <br> <p> History- When Platinum was still nursing, her mother kept er in a rabbit burrow. By the time Platinum was weened, her mother abandoned her. She lived as a loner then, never seeking friendship or companionship. Finally, her brother Silverfang found her and convinced her to join Bloodclan. <br> <p> Crush- Quasi <br> <p> Mate- Quasi <br> <p> Kits- Verdigris (&male), and Vermillion (&male) <br> <p> Birthday- March 28 (day BEFORE my real birthday) <br> <p> Fave Candy- Hershey's Cookies 'N' Cream, Reeses, Twix, KitKat, Snickers, Milky Way, or anything chocolate. Oh, and White Fundip (dying... ;[) ) <br> <p> Friends- Swift, Quasi, Randeh (more RPer-RPer), and Prism's RPer <br> <p> Siggy- &#31803 <br> <p> Other- Ask- that's an order. <br> <p> Baisees!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eh. I'll post it later. Somewhere else actually o.o
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NAME-Katty. AGE-19 in cat years. BREED-Norwiegin Forest cat AKA Wiegie. They are big!!!((I own one...i love him alot......ya....)) COLERATION-A small red and white cat with deep copper eyes. Long claws and sharp teeth. LIKES-Stuff. DISLIKES-Stuff. CRUSH/MATE-No and no. :(. THEME SONG-Flaws by Bastiel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blueblack fur with light gray flecks one green eye, the other has three red claw marks running down it and the pupil is a pearly white. IS ON NO ACCOUNT BLIND! Can treerun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please move camp i want back in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Randi, Conny, maybe Thistlefang, Platinum, and anyone else who HELPED m in this dillema.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name ashpelt Description gray fur with black stripes and red eyes Story born in the wild a feirce battle against shadow clan got his ear cut his right ear still has a scar later he joins bloodclan and this is his story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~Tsunami~ <br> Name~ TsunamiHeart <br> Gender~ &female <br> Looks~ A sleek blue-gray she-cat with green eyes. <br> Crush~ Yep. <br> Mate~ Nope. <br> Kits~ No. <br> ~Summer~ <br> Name~ SummerDream <br> Gender~ &female <br> Looks~ Sleek, orange she-cat with orange stripes, and green eyes. <br> Crush~ Yep. <br> Mate~ No. <br> Kits~ Flicker, Fawn and Tornado.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NAME: Melodypond. <br> GENDER: She-cat <br> APPEARANCE: Her fur is silvery white, with golden brown splotches here and there. Her right eye is gray, while the other is an icy blue. <br> PERSONALITY: She is a bit submissive at first, but she becomes more outgoing and talkative once one talks to her more. She isn't the biggest fan of crowds, either. <br> HISTORY: She doesn't enjoy talking about it, although she will if one asks. <br> OTHER: She is a traveller, and enjoys exploring and will do so whenever she can. She also only does things when given motivation, whether it is from herself or another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Cinder <p> Gender: &female <p> Appearance: <br> Ashy Dark Gray pelt <br> Dark Gray eyes <p> Kin: <br> Avalanche ((Adoptive Brother)) <br> In AshClan <p> Crush/Mate/Kits: N/A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Seven Former name: Silvermoon Age: Old Gender: She Breed: Mix of: Russian Blue, Korat, and Oriental cats. Rank: Warrior ~~ Looks: Sleek and lithe frame, her pelt is a silver tint with black paws/legs. She has a black left ear and tail tip as well. White underbelly, chest and stripes on her back. Ember eyes alined with a ring of gold around the irises. Persona: That depends on who's speaking. She can be lovable, playful and kind or she can be down right hateful. ~~ Friends: Randi, Prism, Thistle, Silv, Sunny and she is gaining a few more. Mate: None Crush: Nope, not yet. Kits: Toxic, Serval, Vitani, and Savvy. ~~ Past: Frost took her in when she was barely a warrior, raised her in BC practically and learned all his ways. She met Venom, Toxic, Arachne, Thistle and many others during her time in BC. Seven fell inlove with a cat named Espio, she parted from BC to be with him. One day Espio was killed by a rogue and was reincarnated as Snatch, a new member of BC. Seven was darn to Snatch from his uncanny resemblence to Espio. Snatch disappeared along with Venom and Frost; leaving Seven all by herself. Seven ran off and lived as a rogue for a long while before returning to BC where she met Thistle. Seven raised a kit named Hawkkit, kit of HawkFrost. Seven then grew close HawkFrost through her vivid dreams. Scourge, leader at the time of BC killed Seven, sending her to the Dark Forest where she met HawkFrost amd lost two of her lives. HawkFrost saw she did not belong in the Dark Forest and made a deal with Star Clan. He promised to remain in thw Forest and be the guardian and cast judgement on who goes to the Dark Forest and who does not as long as Seven was able to go home. StarClan agreed and sent Seven home, reviving her. Now, Seven lives in BC and has met many wonderful cats.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: look up. <p> Looks: light grey fur with darker grey stripes amber eyes and white tip tail.<p> personality: good to her friends, not afraid to kill, protective.<p> Age: 10 moons. <p>Mate/crush: none.<p> Kits: wanting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: i wounder Age: leave me alone Gender: she cat Fur color: jet black Eye color: redish Mate: .... Kits: .... History: I never had a clan... i was a loner and I attacked anything that breathed. Crush: i want to CRUSH everyone... Passion: killing, eating, fighting Personality, can be loving and nice, but is mostly dark, mean, angry, quiet, evil, and twisted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name- Gee, I have no idea! Gender- She-cat Mate/Crush/Kits- No. (((Fine, I have a crush...))) Rank- Warrior Age- 10 Moons