An Acceptable Time (Time Quintet Series #5)

An Acceptable Time (Time Quintet Series #5)

by Madeleine L'Engle

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

An Acceptable Time 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Polly O'Keefe, daughter of Meg Murry and Calvin O'Keefe from L'Engle's beloved A Wrinkle In Time, moves in with her maternal grandparents when the schools on remote Benne Seed Island prove inadequate for her abilities and interests. The two elderly but still active scientists supply the challenges Polly needs with their unique brand of home schooling, and their oldest grandchild savors the peace and undivided attention after a childhood spent as the oldest in a brood of seven. The calm of rural New England in autumn doesn't last, though. The Murry house sits on a spot that 3,000 years ago was considered sacred by those who lived in their valley then, and a retired Episcopal bishop who's their nearest neighbor has inadvertently opened a time gate to that era. Zachary Grey, the self-absorbed young man who appears in several earlier L'Engle books (particularly the Austin series), shares Polly and Bishop Colubra's ability to pass through the gate and to see ancient folk who make the reverse trip. When the gate closes with that unlikely trio on its other side, Polly soon finds herself revered as a goddess - and at risk, made far more deadly by Zachary's cowardly actions, of being sacrificed by tribal leaders desperate to bring their drought-stricken people rain. Of all the later L'Engle time novels, this one came closest to spinning the same magic spell for me that the first book did. It has the same wonder and excitement, but with a slightly harder edge that comes from having a slightly older and more experienced heroine. Or, perhaps, from being written for a different generation of young readers? Anyway, this not-so-young reader (I first read A Wrinkle In Time 40 years ago, at age 11) couldn't put An Acceptable Time down without finishing it. Superb, and - also like the first book - guaranteed to make you think!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is definitely one of L'engle's best! Besides having Polly go back in time, L'engle explains HOW she time travels. For all teens (or adults) interested in time & space, I highly reccomend this mix of fantasy and science
MCNYC62 More than 1 year ago
I've been a Madeleine L'Engle fan for years, and this book fulfills that fandom. A great story of hard choices which come at a cost, facing good and evil. Go Madeleine!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book didn't have meg or calvin or any of the other murry children in it. Eh, it was good anyway.
bethanynummela on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
L'Engle weaves a story through space and time again proving how much the future can affect the past to change the future. It's a beautiful book developing characters we know and love from L'Engle's previous novels.
SirRoger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An Acceptable Time does have a good message. It teaches truth in that integrated, mostly-subtle way that good books should, and in this is similar to the other books in the "Time" "Series." (If, indeed, a series it really can be called...) The difference is that this book is boring. Yes, it continues the story of the Murry clan, and yes, it involves druids and blood sacrifice and time travel, (in a way quite parallel to [book:A Swiftly Tilting Planet|77276]) and yes, it does eventually get around to a nice satisfying moral. But. Plot holes abound. The dialogue is confusing and repetitive, when it's not inane. If it had been condensed to about half the length, with serious dialogue editing, it might have worked. Read it because you love [author:Madeleine L'Engle|106] and the Murry clan, but not because you expect it to be as good as [book:A Wrinkle In Time|18131]. It's not.
puabi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Strangely uninteresting. Try "A Wind in the Door" instead.
thelorelei on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"An Acceptable Time" is the final installment in Madeleine L'Engle's beloved Time Quintet, and it is rather different in tone from the previous books. The plot centers around Polly, Meg and Calvin's daughter, as she visits her Murry grandparents in New England. Somehow time circles nearby have been opened, allowing Polly to cross over into prehistoric times. Whereas the threats of the previous books came from without the Murry circle of friends and family, in this story Polly is put in considerable danger by a friend, and then the challenge becomes whether to do the right thing and help the person who selfishly harmed you, or leave them to suffer the consequences of their own bad decisions. I liked this book, despite the fact that it is very different from the adventures of the previous generation. The tone is just a little more downcast, as it revolves around human sacrifice and betrayal, and Alex and Kate Murry have grown less open-minded in their older age, refusing at first to believe that Polly has truly time-traveled. That was slightly hard to swallow considering all they had seen (Alex Murry having himself tessered in the first book). But the writing was still captivating, and I very much wanted to find out what happened in the course of the novel (even though I've read it before) so I would still recommend the book.
juniperSun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was surprised to see that I had missed this sequal to A Wrinkle in Time, but found it to be a fairly flat novel so am not surprised it slipped past my radar. Or maybe I'm just so much older than when I read Wrinkle that I expect more from a novel than I did then.Too much preaching--so much, that L'Engle had her character apologize frequently for preaching. While Polly is a thoughtful, caring character, Zachary is such a self-centered user he irritated me & I couldn't figure out why Polly would give him any attention.
elissajanine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had a tough time finishing this book. I didn't connect with the characters, and the message seemed so heavy-handed. But A Wrinkle in Time has always been a favorite of mine growing up, and it was nice to reconnect with some of the characters and settings from that world.
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the 5th and final book in the Time Quintet by Madeleine L'Engle. I think I'm too old and have read too many books for this one to be enjoyable. I was never in doubt or surprised at any development.Overall it wasn't a bad book, and for someone who's enjoyed the other Time Quintet books this one is very similar. However, I really found Zachary to be very annoying to the nth degree and I've never liked L'Engle's Time thought experiments such as 'If I die here in the past before I was born will I have ever existed?' WHAT? Anyway decent story with a strong moral ending.
navelos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was a big fan of Madeline L'Engle when I was kid but hadn't read this one before. The story is that Polly, while staying with her grandparents in New England, stumbles through a time gate into the distant past. The action really begins when her friend Zachary enters the picture and comes into the past with her. Zachary has recently been diagnosed with a heart problem and been told that he has only a short time left to live and hopes to find a cure in the past.A big portion of the center of the book was rather slow and repetitive. The grandparents keep warning Polly to be careful and avoid going to the past while trying to understand or believe what is going on. The book is a little preachy at times and I felt like there where just a few too many strokes of good luck or coincidence.
kaelirenee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love this book when I was a preteen-good for those who like the early Wrinkle in Time books.
littlepiece on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An Acceptable Time is my favorite of the second-generation Austin/Murray spin-offs. It is written for an older YA audience, allowing it to handle ambiguously romantic plot elements far more gracefully than books like A Ring of Endless Light (which features the same sullen, dark stranger, Zachary Gray). The characters of Polly O'Keefe and the Bishop are true to the original spirit of the books with Meg. Polly will never replace Meg in my heart, but had I the power I would have An Acceptable Time replace Many Waters in the officially-marketed "Time Quartet."
heidialice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Polly O'Keefe, daughter of Meg and Calvin from the original Wrinkle in Time series, visits her grandparents' farm and finds herself traveling back 3000 years. When she and two of her friends find themselves trapped there, they have to rely on their wits to avoid being sacrificed.Not as compelling as the original series, but a good read for those (like me) who can't get enough of L'Engle. I was pleased this didn't devolve into pointless romance, and enjoyed the redemption story.
justine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not as good as the original time series, but still a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You need to read the whole wrinkle in time series before you read this book. Many waters is by far my fav book in this series yet, I have not read this so yet so I may like it more. Madeline L'Engle's work is very good I have been very impressed with her work so far. READ THE SERIES THOUGH ITS TOO GOOD TO MISS!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recomend this but not as good as other bookd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny_Rose More than 1 year ago
The Murry children are all grown and left home. In fact, Meg and Calvin married and this book stars their oldest daughter Polly. Polly is staying with her grandparents when she stumbles through a time gate that takes her back 3000 years. She encounters the People of the Wind—the same Indian Tribe her uncle Charles Wallace encountered in A Swiftly Tilting Planet (I am disappointed that L’Engle did not address this connection. Perhaps because the previous encounter was done by kything). Though this story was much better than Many Waters and more in the style of the other Time books, it still left me feeling let down and wondering if 300+ pages was really worth that ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the front of the book it says there are other books in the series (example, Th Arm of the Starfish) but theyre not listed in the store or my local library. Do these books even exist??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago