Abhorsen (Abhorsen Series #3)

Abhorsen (Abhorsen Series #3)

by Garth Nix

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Abhorsen 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 361 reviews.
my3cairns More than 1 year ago
I am 51 years old and I loved this series. These books are well written and interesting for anyone. The content could be frightening to a young child, but they are great books for the "young adult" or older.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WitchyWriter 11 months ago
There are some people who don’t enjoy the progression that happens in some trilogies, where the first novel is sort of the introductory conflict, the second novel deals with even bigger events like the fate of the world, and the third novel deals with the fate of the whole friggin universe. If you’re that type of person, you might not like these books. You should still read them, of course, because they’re fantastic. But, you’ve been warned. This third installment to the original “trilogy” (now expanded with the new sequel Goldenhand) definitely escalates to the “save the universe” level. It does it so organically, though, that you really can’t (or shouldn’t, anyway) complain. We get more Sabriel and Lirael and Sameth, all good things. There’s more Mogget and Dog. There are new, interesting characters that you want to love. There are secondary characters that we’ve already met who grow more prominent. There’s suspense and more time spent in Death and the best villains yet. This isn’t a light, magical story. This trilogy (or series, now) is dark, and heavy. It’s supposed to be. And it earns it. It earns the weight, and seriousness, and still gives you all the feels. Again, Mogget is my absolute favorite. I’ve said that three times now in these reviews. You really get to the meat of it in this book. Fans of Sabriel and Lirael have to read this book—it’d be silly not to. It’s a beautiful closure to the conflicts started in the previous books, and heralds in a brief respite for our characters before we get to jump in to Goldenhand.
koalamom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved it. A marvelous conclusion to the trilogy by Garth Nix. It takes you in and you don't want to leave while you read how Lireal, who suddenly finds herself Abhorsen-In-Waiting to a sister she never knew she had. now must save the world for the Destroyer.She'll need and use the help from her family, both those she grew up with and those she has by blood but just met. Scar fices will be made but willing sacrifices they will be.
mazeway on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very satisfying conclusion to the trilogy. Nix introduces some really interesting notions in this series. About 1/4 of the way in, I thought, well they must be very near what I thought would be the Final Confrontation, THEN what will they do? But it is a credit to the writing that the confrontation takes place at the end like it's supposed to and the story never drags.
nm.spring08.t.keeton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book starts with a violent twist that will send any involved reader stumbling back in surprise and devastation.
Pool_Boy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Satisfying conclusion to the series, but a tad disjointed at times. Character development was a bit weak though I still enjoyed the story. I thought the final part of the ending a bit abrupt, too. Still a good read. You almost have to read all three books after you get more than knee deep in the first book.
bell7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When we left Lirael and Sam, they had retreated to the Abhorsen's house, pursued by the Dead. We find them much as they were, preparing to leave, knowing that they have to go up against what is known as the Destroyer, a being that was bound but now is trying to put itself back together, with the help of a necromancer, Hedge, and the unwitting help of Sam's friend Nick. Lirael still has to try to meet Nick, to make what the Clayr Saw become true before it's too late.The third book in the trilogy is essentially a race against the clock, as Sam and Lirael try to stop Hedge before the hemispheres that are the Destroyer can come together. It also nicely rounds out the world-building that Nix has been doing all along, giving us a fuller picture of the Charter, Free Magic, and the beginning of the Old Kingdom. If I wasn't quite as engaged with this one as I was with Sabriel and Lirael, I know it was primarily because I had read the books right on top of the other and I had more calls on my time in the last several days that distracted me from reading. I would certainly consider this a trilogy worth rereading.
sweird on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book picks up directly from the end scene of the previous one (excepting the prologue, keeping tabs on Sabriel and Touchstone in Ancelstierre). Though there is a bit of a heroes journeying forth in the first part, I didn't feel like it was derivative. Lirael, Sameth, Mogget, and DD go off to rescue Nick and almost manage it. Alas, they fail in their first attempt, and are forced to follow toward Ancelstierre, hot on the heels of the Big Bad. The final showdown is very cool, and much is explained. The DD departs for parts unknown, and I'm still unclear as to what happens to Mogget, which is my chief complaint.
phoebesmum on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The last book in a trilogy and sadly predictable: you line up your Forces of Light, you line up your Forces of Evil. Who do you think¿s going to win? But the Disreputable Dog lifts it above the average.
chibimajo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Last book in the trilogy. Continues where Lireal left off.
tloeffler on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fitting ending to the Abhorsen trilogy. The Prologue threw me for a loop, but the whole book was so compelling that I read as fast as I could just to see what would happen! Sam and Lirael, along with Moggett and The Disreputable Dog, continue the search for Sam's friend Nick, who is being used by "the bad guys" for their nefarious purposes. A roller coaster ride of a book, with most of the ends tied up. A very good fantasy series.
tiamatq on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an awesome ending to the trilogy! Lirael and Sam both play important roles, though maybe not what they expected as the story began. We get some long-awaited answers about the Old Kingdom's magic, the Dog, and Mogget. Yay! And, even better, we learn a little history about the Abhorsen family that paves the way for more stories! I think this was a very powerful ending (yeah, I cried) and I loved the way that Nix tied his characters' stories together. I can't wait for the prequel!!!
Crowyhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a very satisfying conclusion to Lirael.
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Really good series. The first volume is the best though.
francescadefreitas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
And I fall back in love with the series characters again. And while I was glad to see the story tie together, I wish there were more books set in this world.
CeridwynR on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This brings everything to a conclusion beautifully. I enjoy experiencing Lirael's maturation, even though at times it feels slightly unrealistic. I love the ending with the Disreputable Dog. I really enjoy what Nix does with Nicholas and the fine line he walks with a character so controlled by evil. The action is well-written and visceral and there's such a lot of it! This really is an adventure story and a bloody good one.
woodge on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Continues the story from Lirael. Part 3 of a trilogy.
conformer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For some reason, it took forever to finish this book and the Abhorsen trilogy. Maybe because I didn't want to leave the world of the Old Kingdom, or maybe because I did but didn't want to bother with straggling thru the drama of another fantasy quest tale. To its credit, Abhorsen manages to polish some of the blemishes that marred the same characters from Lirael and make them more likable. At the same time, both a whole lot of nothing happens during the interminable march from one end of the map to the other, and the same old crap that happened before pops up again; hordes of raised dead, double-crossing spiritual powers, and tourist forays into the realm of Death.A happy ending, at least(sort of), and a suggestion of more stories, but an awful lot of effort for such a small reward.
vintage_books on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A more mature and confident Lirael is presented in this third and final Abhorsen Trilogy ending. It's great to see Lirael as a more confident and skilled Abhorsen, working her good against evil and the dead.At first, I thought way too much attention and space was given to the writing of Nick and Ancelstierre. But in re-reading the sections where nick is pictured, I actually think Nick is just framed in important scenes to make the reader aware that this non-action character is very important to the plot. In the future, I hope Mr. Nix either makes this type of character with more action or more substance.
Dog_Ogler on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I agree with the previous review *except* (and it's a strong exception) for the "whiny, angsty teenagers" part. How funny to whine about the (alleged) whining of others! (Especially when those others are fictional characters!) This has come up a few times in reviews of this book and its prequel, and I find that saddening.Lirael & Sam wouldn't be nearly as convincing if they were personally flawless & never struggled with a difficult emotion. I'm sorry, but sadness, grief and loss are inescapable realities of life, and a person (especially a young person) going through them may not come across as perfectly composed and well-behaved (think about it: Lirael had no-one to talk to AT ALL! That means no social/emotional support of any kind). For anyone forced to go through these things, the last thing you need is some judgemental, emotionally constipated and underdeveloped onlooker who clearly has no idea about how to deal with these things themselves, hypocritically labelling you as "whiny & angsty". It's an understandable act of projection, because no-one wants to have to deal with such painful difficulties, but it also says a *lot* about our society & culture when even fictional characters can't be allowed some judgement-free space in which to work these things out. And if you have that much trouble dealing with this reality in fiction, good luck with real life! No wonder kids are binge-drinking. I can't blame them, when there's so little tolerance in our culture for the usual difficulties of being a young person.Nix has bravely gone for emotional realism in fantasy fiction - an often unsuccessful writerly endeavour - and done it brilliantly. Bravo.
cherrymischievous on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A rousing and very satisfying conclusion to a most wonderful tale!As per usual, this book is fast-paced page-turner. The storytelling quality is very compelling. A 5 out of 5. Nix gives us characters which will stay with a reader long after one has finished reading the book. Another 5 out of 5. World building is beautifully woven that a reader can suspend disbelief very effortlessly. Masterpiece.
kawgirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A friend got me hooked into this series, which starts with "Sabriel." The whole series is a good read and I was sad when I had finished the last book.
allify on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Abhorsen is completely connected to the story in Lirael and therefore cannot be read alone. I enjoyed Lirael more, only because I was curious to who Lirael and Sameth really were, but as that mystery was solved, this book wasn't as compelling. However, it was still an extremely good read all the way to the end. That's the thing with endings - they don't often live up to the rest of the book, but I felt a complete sense of closure with Abhorsen and even a little hope for the future of the characters. Great read!
bikerevolution on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't really need to write a review for this. If you read Sabriel and Lirael, then you'll probs wanna finish the trilogy. I don't want to spoil anything, but the world is basically over if our heroines don't bring their A-game.