A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal

A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal

Paperback

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Spy Among Friends is a very well written look into the life of the man credited as the greatest spy in history: Kim Philby. Author Ben Macintyre has really done his research. The result is a true page turner that you just can’t put down. A truly fascinating book.
Barnabas1 More than 1 year ago
Bought this after reading John le Carre's fictional "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy", which aroused my interest in knowing the truth about spycraft during the cold war.  Milne's non-fiction book about the two-sided Kim Philby was almost as much about his one-sided friend Nicholas Elliot, but that just adds credence to the account.  It gives very interesting insight into the British class structure still prominent during WWII, how the "good old boy" network functioned and how it protected Philby from discovery for so many years.  It's astonishing to read how duplicitous Philby was.  It's also enlightening to see how loosely the spy world really functioned--much different from what I would have imagined--makes you wonder if it is still much this way.  If you can, read this in one sitting to keep with the flow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the amazing story of a man who went to the right schools and had extremely good connections. Because of those factors his path to the higher and trusted levels of British Intelligence was made easier. Kim Philby was responsible for countless deaths during his career. It is amazing to think of the people who absolute trust in this traitor.
Pentagoet More than 1 year ago
This is a well-researched book on a fascinating subject.  It sets forth the character - Philby - clearly, and in the context of his peers and friends.  As a history of both Philly and his contemporary MI-6 and the CIA, it is extremely good and quite readable.  McIntyre's literary style is lucid and very effective.  The one shortcoming is in certain details -  notably dates.  Many of the dates in the book need revision for the second edition.  The erroneous one conflict with other sources, as well as the flow of the book itself.  One example is the marriage of Nicholas Elliott.  The text dates his marriage as 10 April 1945, whereas the subtext of a photograph gives a weding date of 10 April 1943 (the correct date).  There are several of these errors, which are more editorial than substantive, but mars the overall narrative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very readable, fascinating true story that kept my interest right to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sometimes+we+are+blended+by+what+we+want+to+be+true.+This+book+is+filled+with+people+who+couldn%27t+see+what+was+right+in+front+of+them%2C+because+they+simply+couldn%27t+believe+a+true+Englishman+could+betray+his+country.+Not+only+an+interesting+true+story%2C+but+a+great+study+in+human+nature.
insanepoet65 More than 1 year ago
TITLE: A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal AUTHOR: Ben Macintyre GENRE: History PAGES: 384 I love a good spy story. It is one of the things my grandfather taught me, along with good mysteries, and good steak. His spy stories were am9ng the fictional spies. Be that as it may, I really think he would have loved Ben Macintyre’s A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal. Ben Macintyre has established a career among spies, but not the fictional kind. His books deal with real spies and real consequences. In A Spy Among Friends, he not only gives us the story of Kim Philby, an agent who betrays his country, but also gives the read a look at the start of the Cold War, and just how far the Soviet Union was willing to go win it. The one fact that stuck out in my mind was that the Soviet Union has spies in place BEFORE the end of World War II. Harold Adrian Russel “Kim” Philby had the look and feel of a spy. He was handsome, charming, witty, and knew his way around a bottle. His rise in the British Intelligence community was as natural for him as breathing. Beneath his upper crust exterior was a man who did not agree with the politics of his country and made a choice to spy for the Soviet Union. His betrayal was like a chess game in which he managed to have himself placed in areas that would benefit the Russians and keep up appearances. Even though this book is 384 pages, it is a much longer read. It is packed with information and you hand off of every word. It is not a fast paced, action packed spy account. This is more of a cerebral exercise, and it is well worth the effort! 5 out of 5 Bookmarks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best Book on the life of spy Kim Philby.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tomobrien More than 1 year ago
The best book on this man and his fellow spies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Probably the complete take on Philby an his crowd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elderead More than 1 year ago
A smooth tour of the spying groups in the 1930's to post WWII. Nice character development. Not a hairaiser but surprising history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
well written--apparently well documented. an excellent read for those who want to look at the cold war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would not recommend,this is one book I wish I could get my money back on,very tuff to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know. I'm there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never have I read s spy book that was so mundane in it's entirty. lI suippose the telling of this tale in the first person only add's to the lack of adventure. Would not recomend this to anyone who is looking for a fast moving, interging tale of esponage.