A Perfect Lie

A Perfect Lie

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD)

$23.41 $24.99 Save 6% Current price is $23.41, Original price is $24.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Perfect Lie 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
GrannyLovestoRead 24 days ago
Intense and entertaining read. Hard to put this one down. Keeps you hooked until the end! Interesting characters and story. Would recommend! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Anonymous 11 months ago
I loved this book, written differently than any other story I've read. Once again, pure Lisa Rene Jones, keeps you on edge and not wanting to put your book down. I just wish the story didn't end there. I loved the characters and enjoy how her stories lead to new ones, like with Rebecca's Journal and all that have followed. I'm looking forward to everything new Lisa writes. This story had a lot of twists and turns which kept me riveted. Hailey is a stronger person than she starts out believing she is. I liked that the story is narrated by Hailey. You see her growth as she tells her story. She offers clues within the story that allows you to try to solve the mystery. I was surprised at the ending and wished the story had more at the end,but again, I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very unexpected lots of ups ad downs . Very suspenseful .
Thebookdevourer More than 1 year ago
Incredibly engrossing, grabbed me immediately and kept me glued to the pages. I love this story, and the characters are awesome. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Marlene976 More than 1 year ago
A very interesting, engrossing and page turning story. I could not predict where this tale would lead me and it was a great ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An+Absolutely+Fantastic+Story+.%0AI+volunteered+to+read+and+review+a+readers+copy+of+A+Perfect+Lie+.+I+really+enjoyed+reading+this+story+.+It+was+one+heck+of+a+rollercoaster+ride+from+start+to+finish+.+This+story+is+intense+%2C+full+of+betrayal+%2C+murder+%2C+lust+%2C+love+%2C+hate+.+Such+a+well+written+story+.%0AHailey+is+truely+brilliant+and+one+strong++true+hero+in+this+story+.+It+is+a+very+emotional+dark+story+.+It%27s+truely+an+amazing+outstanding+work+of+art+.+I+highly+recommend+taking+the+time+to+read+this+.%0AFive+star+read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...but+a+great+read.+I+found+myself+unable+to+put+it+down+and+read+it+within+a+day%27s+time.+The+plot+was+filled+with+twists+and+turns+and+had+me+wondering+who+were+the+bad+guys+besides+her+father.+The+self-awareness+that+Hailey+went+through+was+necessary+for+her+to+figure+herself+out%2C+to+grow+as+a+person.+
Siyka-NM69 More than 1 year ago
It was a great story told in a touching way. The twists and turns, the suspense and the style kept me reading and reading! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Michelle_V More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by this author and I am so glad I read it. Hailey's story intrigued me and pulled me in wondering what happened and how it would end. The mystery, suspense, and intrigue pulled me deeper into Hailey's story making this an entertaining emotional read. I look forward to reading more books by this author in the future.
Felicia71 More than 1 year ago
I have to say as a long tim LRJ fan I wasn't sure what to expect from A Perfect Lie. It's got a lot of twists and turns and will keep you on the edge of your seat, something I have come to expect from Ms Jones but this is different in so many different ways. Told completely from Hailey's POV we get to see her life in what was thinking a fishbowl from the beginning. Her father running for president, her best friend is not who she seems and her mom, wow. The suspension is there so much that if I put the book down I couldn't wait to see what happens next. The narrative goes back and forth in time but I promise you won't feel lost at all. If you are looking for an out of the box story the A Perfect Lie is perfect for you.
Sandialys More than 1 year ago
This book is full with twist and turns and kept me in my toes. I love this authors books, you never know what’s going to happen. This book sucked me in from the beginning and held me there until the end. All I can say is WOW, I loved it. This is a must read. You never truly know what is real or a facade with people who are in the spotlight.
Sara_Sue More than 1 year ago
******* AUDIOBOOK REVIEW ******* This is just what I needed after reading heartbreaker after heartbreaker. I have read a couple other Lisa Renee Jones romance books and they're always fantastic. The Perfect Lie has to be my favorite book written by this author though. From the very start of this book it was impossible to put down. I was wrapped up into Hailey's life. Hailey was groomed her entire life to be the President's daughter, to be the people's first daughter. She was expected to be more... to be the best and to never make a mistake. The problem is, Hailey is only human. Miss Jones weaves a masterful story. It's a story that's surround by an intriguing and deception. I loved the way this book reads like a journal with a now and before. I feel like we get a bit more out of Hailey's mind with this method of writing. The writing is done perfectly. There's a smidge of romance... which is the perfect amount because murder always brings out sex, money, and politics. I felt like the author really captures how badly children want to make their parents happy, to make them proud. Poor Hailey must have felt like she was up against an impossible task with her father. Hailey is a likable character. I really rooted for her. I disliked most of the other characters and like Hailey, I didn't trust anyone! Love the twists and turns... I still have a few questions. I do hope we get a bit more from Hailey! The narrator, Eva Kaminsky, was seriously a 5 star narrator. She gives us Hailey's side of the story with this quick and no-nonsense voice that I couldn't help but love it! Her pacing and tone throughout the entire nearly 10 hours made me unable to pause. This is definitely a narrator to watch for!
Cali-Jewel More than 1 year ago
Heart pounding, action packed, mind bending journey filled with danger, mystery and emotional twists and turns.... this is a edge of your seat read from beginning to end and had me reading (and ignoring all household chores) for several hours. Excellent reading!!!
StephPhillips More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of this book from the author. It's safe to say Lisa Renee Jones can write a thriller. A Perfect Lie is focused on a daughter of a politician wanting the White House. Now we all know there's lots of dirty in politics. If you didn't, well...there is. Ms. Jones has taken a little bit of reality and mixed it with fiction so well it's definitely not out of the realm of possibilities. This story. It focuses on the young woman's life and how she couldn't step out of the box her father created for her. When she did bad things happened. She's thoroughly convinced she's the guilty party in all the bad areas. As the reader you know that's likely not the case. I love how the character grows to her understanding of how her father works and will stop at nothing to be President. She just has to use his teachings to help her see the big picture. You're in for a great ride. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lies, suspense, and Intrigue This is an engaging story of Hailey Monroe. Sheltered most of her life growing up, she was controlled with lies. With the death of her mother, and her best friend missing, Hailey sets out to discover the truth. This is whirlwind of twist, and turns, mystery, and lies. A must read! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
astroyic More than 1 year ago
Wow! This is a riveting, suspenseful, mystery that is about greed, destiny, betrayal, secrets, lies, power, money and ambition. It’s about what some powerful people may do to get ahead. But is also the story of a young woman Hailey Anne Monroe whose father has political aspirations to become the President. A father who appears to be disdainful of rules, of laws and of ethics. Raised from infancy to be the perfect daughter, Hailey tells us her story, as she searches for answers, and finds out what she is truly made of. Written in past and present tense it takes you on her journey of what she says is the truth. But is it? Or could it be the perfect lie? This story took me on a wild ride, making me question every single character and situation the whole way through. There were little hints along the way that built this story, so many little things that started to tick off this list of what was real and who was behind all of this. I spent most of the chapters mentally keeping track of all the big and small clues. My mind constantly racing trying to figure out where this was all leading next. Because we have learned that in politics and life that lies can and are avoided by the many versions of the truth. Lisa Renee Jones did a phenomenal job crafting this story, and I was held captive until the end. I loved its fast pace and unexpected turns. So clear your schedule. Bring a snack. This will keep you reading late into the night. I couldn’t put it down. I highly recommend this story. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Michele-G More than 1 year ago
4 1/2 "Twisty" Stars Hailey has been groomed since birth to be not only the perfect daughter, but the future First Daughter. Her father has always had political aspirations and began planning her legal and political path from day one. Her destiny was predetermined. But her father couldn't forsee everything and had no idea the tragedy that would befall them both. When it did, instead of pulling his daughter close, he distanced her, unless it was a photo-op of course. Hailey tells this story from the present day and reflects back on the past and the chapters are each somewhat like entries in a journal. Through this method, she brings the reader up to the present and resolves the mystery in the story. Early in the story, "something" happens and you aren't sure who did it or how. It's an absolute mystery. To complicate things, Hailey suffers a blackout which means she can only remember snippets from the night in question. To complicate things, the media pops up with footage making it look as if Hailey was extremely intoxicated. Enter her father and "his staff" who send Hailey into hiding until things quiet down so that she doesn't harm his campaign. Again, when things are difficult for her, instead of being a compassionate parent, he sends her away. Her relationship with her father is pretty much non-existent. On top of this, Hailey finds out that people she has trusted in her life may not have been who she thought. She learns that almost everyone she's been involved with has wanted something and/or has lied to her at some point. They usually want a connection to her that gets them closer to her father and potentially the White House. So, she now has a difficult time trusting anyone and suspects that every person who enters her life may potentially be on his payroll. The sad thing is she needs to be able to trust now more than ever and almost chases away those that she can rely on because she's been so damaged by others she was once close to. A Perfect Lie kept me guessing pretty much the entire way through which is a trick because my goal is always to try to figure a mystery out as quickly as I can. I, personally, felt like things were a bit rushed towards the end. There had been so much buildup during the story and it seemed like it was resolved in a matter of pages. That said, this was still a really enjoyable read full of fun twists. I highly recommend it. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Nicolepitching15 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. It had me from the beginning and wanting more. This had your mind thinking on who did what and what happened. Definitely a twist. I couldn't get enough of it, I had to know what happened next. I highly recommend reading this book. Hailey is very smart and just knows this doesn't feel right. Her father on the other hand, he is mean, conniving, and makes her out to be a bad daughter. It was hard to decipher on who was on her side and who was on her father side. I loved trying to figure it out because I didn't know who was until the end. Absolutely loved this book.
BozenaF More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of Renees books and loved every single one of them, this one of course as well. I love the mystery in her books. A Perfect Lie keeps you in the dark almost to the end. I would classify this book as a political mystery thriller or better yet mysteries and cruelty of political manipulations. It's a rollercoaster of lies, secrets, betrayal and greed for power and money. In this book, we dive into the abyss of political life. Life, where the lust for power is more important than anything else. This is a story about life as the daughter of the future president, or a man who does everything to become one and the loneliness of people who don't know whom to trust. Like Hailey the H said: "Everyone in my world has an agenda, and I'm but a mere token, being played in games I too often, unwittingly enter." What would you do when you can't trust anyone, not even yourself? What would you do if you had to question the motives of everyone and everything? Nobody is safe. Nobody is your friend. Everyone wants to gain power through you. You would be supervised and watched, not really knowing from whom. What would you do? I love this book ❣I've read it in one run and the excitement, fear and mystery has given me chills. Definitely a must read! So read this book and enjoy. I definitely enjoyed it very much.
Karina More than 1 year ago
By far out of all the suspense/romance novels of Ms Jones this one was the most on the edge of your seat read to date. The sheer complexity and psychological story is by far the best one I have read. This story takes you on an emotional roller coaster as seen through the eyes of Hailey Anne Monroe the main character in this book. Hailey is a woman who if her father wins the presidential election will be the first daughter. She takes us on a journey of what has happened in her life to this point and how her father has groomed her to be the perfect daughter. Making sure that a tragic event has been kept secret. The lies and secrets that unfold will have you questioning what at times is real and what part the people in Halley's life play in it. Destiny, as Hailey sees it, may not always play a part in it. The way she seems to see it everything occurs based on the choices presented to us and what happens with them. This book had me from the very beginning. It is told in alternating points in time in Halley's life; past and present. Ms Jones is a master of weaving a story together. This book will have you questioning what is really going on inside the minds of not only these character but people in general. Is what Hailey says happened in her story something that we all can in some way relate to? Is destiny predetermined or is it an effect of the choices we are given? This story is definitely thought provoking as well as a wonderfully written and entertaining book.
Karina More than 1 year ago
By far out of all the suspense/romance novels of Ms Jones this one was the most on the edge of your seat read to date. The sheer complexity and psychological story is by far the best one I have read. This story takes you on an emotional roller coaster as seen through the eyes of Hailey Anne Monroe the main character in this book. Hailey is a woman who if her father wins the presidential election will be the first daughter. She takes us on a journey of what has happened in her life to this point and how her father has groomed her to be the perfect daughter. Making sure that a tragic event has been kept secret. The lies and secrets that unfold will have you questioning what at times is real and what part the people in Halley's life play in it. Destiny, as Hailey sees it, may not always play a part in it. The way she seems to see it everything occurs based on the choices presented to us and what happens with them. This book had me from the very beginning. It is told in alternating points in time in Halley's life; past and present. Ms Jones is a master of weaving a story together. This book will have you questioning what is really going on inside the minds of not only these character but people in general. Is what Hailey says happened in her story something that we all can in some way relate to? Is destiny predetermined or is it an effect of the choices we are given? This story is definitely thought provoking as well as a wonderfully written and entertaining book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story! Very interesting. I can’t believe that I never read this writer before, considering how much she has written. This story was great. I was almost turned off when I saw it was a presidential candidate’s daughter, but I am so glad I didn’t! I am not a reader of political stories, but that was merely a backdrop to the story. Great twists and turns in this thriller that will keep you guessing until the. You get sucked into the story quickly and it never lets up. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars was because there were quite a few errors in editing. Sound story. I will be picking up some of Ms. Jones’ other thrillers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story! Very interesting. I can’t believe that I never read this writer before, considering how much she has written. This story was great. I was almost turned off when I saw it was a presidential candidate’s daughter, but I am so glad I didn’t! I am not a reader of political stories, but that was merely a backdrop to the story. Great twists and turns in this thriller that will keep you guessing until the. You get sucked into the story quickly and it never lets up. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars was because there were quite a few errors in editing. Sound story. I will be picking up some of Ms. Jones’ other thrillers.
ZR1000 More than 1 year ago
An interesting thought-provoking diversion… The subject of this story is Hailey Anne Monroe, she’s twenty-eight years old, the daughter of a ruthless politician with presidential aspirations and from the time of her birth she’s been groomed or better said “programmed” to be the perfect “First Daughter”. She has a story to relate that can only now be made public as those most intricately involved with the exception of herself are dead. To whom you were born to sets the stage for your life and you think your life is your own based on the choices you are given to make but is it really that simple? Told in a narrator’s voice, Hailey ponders the metaphysical questions of life from her experiences, the lessons learned along the way to maturity, she acts as her own psychologist, analyzing and working through the problems that were thrown at her as one would mathematical equations, the way her father taught her to approach difficulties that have become ingrained into her psyche. The concept of destiny versus free will intrigues her, torments her, she’s an individual for which there has been no escaping the boundaries she was born to, all choices seem to lead to the same ending, one she doesn’t want and there’s defiance in her inner spirit. The thing about a narrated story is the unique perspective of the teller, the reader must remember that the truth in this point of view is subjective and perhaps unreliable for its bias but it also gives us a keen look into the mind of the subject, it’s a psychological study of a person’s inner workings. Unlike this author’s other works this story is one of suspense and mystery, not a romance, it’s slow-paced, told with flashbacks as the narrator jumps from the present to the past for we are all defined by our histories be they good or bad. As you read you’ll ask yourself questions: Should we trust in Hailey, a woman who suffers from blackouts? Who in her life can Hailey really trust? Is her paranoia justifiable? Hailey’s thoughts do provoke similar metaphysics musings by the readers as they have to consider the questions she asks of not just herself but the readers she is conversing with, she really is asking us to muse along with her. This story was an interesting thought-provoking diversion. An advanced reading copy was obtained from the author.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars--A PERFECT LIE is a contemporary, adult, stand alone, psychological suspense thriller focusing on twenty-eight year old Hailey Anne Monroe, the daughter of Thomas Frank Monroe, the candidate for the US presidency. Told from first and second person perspectives (Hailey) using present day and memories from the past A PERFECT LIE is a story of greed, power, and secrets of the political elite. Years earlier Hailey lost her mother to a motor vehicle accident and in the ensuing time Hailey has been relegated to persona non grata in the world of her father Thomas Frank Monroe. With her father’s run for president of the United States in full swing, scandal follows our story line heroine, scandal that leads directly back to the presidential candidate. Forced into exile during her father’s campaign, Hailey Anne Monroe discovers that nothing in her world is under her control. Unable to trust anyone in her life, Hailey must follow her heart as she battles not only her father but demons from the past. A PERFECT LIE is a suspense filled and timely story of controversy, politics, secrets and lies; of power and class; of conflict and deceit; disquietude and doubt; of family, friendship, and betrayal. Lisa Renee Jones pens an incredible and relevant story of the political machine.