A Hat Full of Sky: The Second Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #32)

A Hat Full of Sky: The Second Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #32)

by Terry Pratchett

Paperback(Revised)

$10.50 $10.99 Save 4% Current price is $10.5, Original price is $10.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Hat Full of Sky: The Second Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #32) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 133 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have bought some of his books and got them from the library so i have read the whole tiffany aching series and the whole discworld series so trust me you want this book
sunshineLF More than 1 year ago
A very fun read. This second in the Tiffany Aching series is even better that the first.
Calipso More than 1 year ago
When my family goes on roadtrips, we always grab a book and I will read out loud for the duration of the trip. It's a great way to keep everyone entertained and my father awake to drive. We just finished the Tiffany Aching series. It was an instant favorite. There were several times when I worried for my life because my dad was laughing so hard! The characters are incredibly likeable, the plot is so easy to follow, and it's filled with little gems of wisdom (like, just because you have no teeth doesn't mean you're wise, it just means you've been stupid for a very long time). These are books that will have you coming back again and again, chuckling every time.
britcat2 More than 1 year ago
I enjoy most of Terry Pratchett's novels, but especially like his Tiffany Aching series; she's a believable and practical 13 year old who just happens to be training as a witch. I presume this series is aimed at younger readers, but it's very entertaining for adults. I love his small blue men, the Nac McFeegles. Terry Pratchett's witches may use magic, but they're more about using psychology than waving wands.
Larner More than 1 year ago
When young Tiffany Aching goes off to be apprenticed as a witch-in-training, at first no one but Miss Tick seems to expect much of her. Certainly becoming the Witch of the Chalk shouldn't prove to be so--so mundane! But no one is at yet aware of Tiffany's ability to step outside herself, a rare and powerful magic skill. And that ability draws after her an arcane being who seeks to fill itself up at the cost of all it has fastened upon. Now it is up to Tiffany and Granny Weatherwax, with the help of the Nac Mac Feegles, to contain this Hiver, as it is called, and to find a way to protect the Diskworld and its inhabitants from it for the future. Hilarious and thought-provoking, this is all we have come to expect from Terry Pratchett, a marvelous writer! An excellent introduction to the Diskworld for anyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eleven-year-old Tiffany Aching leaves the Chalk and her friends, the six-inch Nac Mac Feegle, to apprentice as a witch in training to a professional. Saying goodbye to Granny Aching was hard and departing from her Wee Free Men pals (at least her buddies when the Nac Mac Feegle are not drunk) is not easy, but service at her advanced age is expected. So though her parents are fooled as to whom she will work for, Tiffany leaves with Miss Tick to begin her training. Unlike when she was young and immature, Tiffany as she enters adolescence has become aware of her looks. This attentiveness to her outer beauty makes her prone to attack from terrible beings. The hiver, a being that seeks out the potentially powerful by stealing control of the host¿s mind until the victim dies, sees Tiffany as a perfect lodging locale. The parasite begins the pre-occupation and occupation with only Nac Mac Feegle to try to rescue his young pal.

As he did with the way out THE WEE FREE MEN, Terry Pratchett does again with the sequel that is as sharp a satire as a reader will find. The story line makes it clear that to find one¿s full self, one must accept flaws, blemishes, and foibles; not an easy task in a youthful beauty is best society. Tiffany and Nac Mac are terrific characters though they be inane at times and the hiver is as vile a villain as there is. A HAT FULL OF SKY is amusing, but though nutty, the plot never loses sight of the key underlying message while entertaining the author¿s vast universe of fans.

Harriet Klausner

tundranocaps on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Much better than the other Tiffany Aching books.
JoS.Wun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Terry Pratchett's talent for developing his characters continues to shine with Tiffany Aching (great name!) now at eleven years old. Another un-put-downable discworld story.
ClicksClan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Found it harder to get through this one than I'd expected - mainly because I couldn't read it out of the house as I was scared of ruining it (plus we acquired a dog).Like seeing Granny Weatherwax with Tiffany - reminds me of Equal Rites.Didn't quite like this one as much as The Wee Free Men, but it did have some funny bits and the story was good.Would have liked to see more of the Nac Mac Feegle, looking forward to the next of these books.
atimco on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Terry Pratchett's A Hat Full of Sky is the second Tiffany Aching book and follows her adventures as she begins her formal training as a witch. It isn't enough to tackle the Queen of Fairyland armed only with a frying pan; one must learn the other aspects of witching. Apparently there's more to it. And so the "hag of the hills," as the Nac Mac Feegle call Tiffany, must leave the Chalk.And who are the Nac Mac Feegle? They're a stroke of pure comic genius, that's what. I thought they were hilarious when I read Wintersmith, but hearing their dialogue on audiobook ¿ performed brilliantly by the reader, Stephen Briggs ¿ brings a whole new dimension of absurdity to the characters. Pratchett had me laughing aloud in several places (especially the part where the Feegles dress up in human-sized clothing and unwittingly terrorize a crowded tavern). And Rob Anybody's reading is hilarious. And ¿ well, maybe you ought to make the acquaintance of the Feegles yourself.One thing I decidedly dislike about the book is how Pratchett uses it as a mouthpiece for his atheistic and evolutionary beliefs. Of course authors have the right to include their personal beliefs in their work, but as atheism and evolution are belief systems in direct contradiction to my own, I will naturally resent their intrusion into a tale I was otherwise loving. I thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the story, though.Reading something like this gives me insight into the reactions of people who hate the Chronicles of Narnia because of the Christian themes. When you firmly believe something, you will naturally dislike it when the opposite belief is promoted. This dislike is intensified when the opposite belief is promoted skillfully within an excellent fictional work. I think when people swear hatred for Narnia on the basis of its Christian themes, they're really paying tribute to the series's overall quality. We don't care if someone's arguing against our beliefs inarticulately. It's when they do it well that we get annoyed!Besides the parts in which Pratchett elaborates on his beliefs, I thoroughly enjoyed A Hat Full of Sky and look forward to the next in the series. Good storytelling, great humor, and all-around good fun!
jfoster_sf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sequel to The Wee Free Men-loved it! Reading the third book now and am enjoying that one also.
ACQwoods on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Hat Full of Sky is the next adventure for Tiffany Aching and the Wee Free Men. Tiffany still longs to be a witch and gets the opportunity to train and learn how to use her great natural power. Unfortunately that power is a draw for bad as well as good and Tiffany has to learn who she really is in order to save her own life. The Wee Free Men are once again at their best, and Mistress Weatherwax, the most powerful witch in the world, is unexpectedly as humorous a witch as I have ever read about. I actually preferred this to The Wee Free Men, but I'd still recommend reading both for the sheer fun of them.
VicksieDo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one had me laughing my butt off, those Wee Free Men are SO funny!!!
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tiffany is off to the mountains to begin her apprenticeship. Only there is "something" following her. This does not wish her well. The Nac Mac Feegles are doing their best to protect her, but she has gone so far away. This story made me cry. Not from sadness though. I was laughing hysterically at the description of the wee men in the scarecrow. Tiffany's encounter with Granny Weatherwax was wholly satisfying.
fyrefly98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: Although she banished the Faerie Queen from her homelands, the Chalk, when she was just nine, eleven-year-old Tiffany Aching doesn't feel particularly magical during her daily life of tending her family's sheep and making cheese. Going to study with the witch Miss Level doesn't really help, as Miss Level's brand of magic is mostly doing other people's chores and some basic medicine. However, Tiffany's going to have to find her magic reserves deep within herself, because she's being stalked by an ancient, unkillable evil force - The Hiver - who takes over people's minds and drives them mad. At least she won't have to fight it alone, though... for the Nac Mac Feegle (six-inch-tall blue "faeries" who like nothing more than getting drunk and fighting a lot) have befriended her, and they'll stop at nothing to protect their "big wee hag."Review: I listened to The Wee Free Men almost a year ago, and while I quite enjoyed it, I didn't really feel the need to rush out and get the sequel, even once I found out it existed. And yet, as soon as I started this book, I realized how terribly much I'd missed the Feegles... and didn't let ten hours, let alone ten months, elapse before starting the next book in the series.I think the reason I liked this book so much was that it had a good balance of all of the elements that go into YA fantasy. Before I found the Tiffany Aching books, I'd only read two of Pratchett's Discworld books, and was somewhat underimpressed - it felt like they were trying too hard to be funny all the time, and that the jokes had all been made before. A Hat Full of Sky, on the other hand, is frequently laugh-out-loud funny, but it balances it with some good adventure, a not-overly-preachy coming of age story, some interesting character development, and a cracking good story. It also doesn't talk down to its readers - Tiffany's eleven in this book, so the target audience is probably not much older - with things not always working out easily or perfectly, and the world sometimes being dark and unfair. The humor also helps its cross-over appeal to adult readers - there are plenty of things that young teens would find funny, but also plenty of sharper and more subtle humor for the grown-ups. This is also an excellent book to listen to in audiobook form. I very rarely vocalize accents in my head when I'm reading, unless the accent is written out phonetically, which gets really tiring really fast. Anyways, the Nac Mac Feegles just wouldn't be the same without their thick accents, and Stephen Briggs narrates their dialogue, along with the rest of the story, just perfectly. Ach, crivens! 4.5 out of 5 stars.Recommendation: This series is definitely recommended to fantasy fans who want something simultaneously hilarious and also taking a sensible stand on the issues that come with growing up.
391 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In A Hat Full of Sky, Tiffany leaves the Chalk to train in witchcraft. The 'baddie' in this one is really, really intriguing, and the magic of the storytelling is spellbinding. I could barely put the book down!
ejl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The continuing story of Tiffany Aching. I always love when a character I have come to love is continued in another book. This book does not disappoint. I am looking forward to Wintercrest.
lilibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As a young and upcoming witch, Tiffany Aching must defeat a monster with the help of a tribe of six-inch tall blue men.
JNSelko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Wee Free Men lead the reader (and Tiffany Aching) on a wild ride!
mohi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A rather disappointing book to come after the excellent Wee Free Men. The heroine spends too much time wallowing in self pity, which is a shame after showing herself to be such a strong character in the previous book.
gercmbyrne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Terry Pratchett is a god who walks among men. The entire Discworld series is a joy and only a strange mad creature cursed by gods and man would refuse to read and love these books!Tiffany Aching Series, featuring the Witches of Lancre
aemurray on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent story about Tiffany Aching and her continued adventures into the craft.
ablueidol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Witch coming of age story for the tweens(8-12) set in the discworld universe at the Granny Weatherwax end. Clever dialogue and the Nac Mac Feegle faeries are wonderful and lots of fun for adults especially if read aloud as bedtime story
reading_fox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Second of the Tiffany Aching nominally younger discworld series. Although these two are at least, if not darker, than anything else in the discworld and genuinely challenge the way we think about what happens in the world around us. A thoroughly entertaining read as is always expected from Pratchett, Tiffany leaves the Chalk to 'learn' some more 'proper' witching, by the usual method. That is to say doing it first and learning about it afterwards. Apart from the potential for chaos in the school this should be essential reading for all young teens. The parallesl about what is important in the world cannot be missed
SimonW11 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In which young Tiffany Aching is apprenticed as a witch but things don't of course go smoothly. Tiffany vacates her body briefly and it is possessed. Can her friends do something before its too late?