A Better Man (Chief Inspector Gamache Series #15)

A Better Man (Chief Inspector Gamache Series #15)

by Louise Penny

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Better Man (Chief Inspector Gamache Series #15) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I read this book in less than 12 hours. I couldn't put it down. I love the people of Three Pines. I wish they were real, I wish there was a place like this that everyone had access to. Maybe we do. Ms Penny's books let us access the village and imagine we lived there. All of her books are stand alone, but better read from the start. I hope the journey continues for years to come.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I had forgotten what a pleasure it is to read a really well written book. I have read several good books recently but I really love the character development as well as the puzzles in Penny's books. Looking forward to the next one.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Very good. Kept me guessing until the end.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I have tried to find other mystery novels while waiting for the next Penny story to publish but never found any that came close...to teaching good morals, to withstanding criticism, to providing believable suspense, to celebrating real friendship and love and to celebrating nature! Thanks, LP!
Anonymous 6 months ago
As always, the multiple complex story lines blend seamlessly in and out of the storyline , keeping you on the edge of your seat until all is revealed. I don't like it that Annie and family are going to Paris. I guess it's Daniel 's turn for awhile. At least till the newest grandchild arrives something else will transpire closer to home. Can't wait to see what!
Anonymous 6 months ago
I always think this is the best book Louise Penny has written. Then I read the next one and am astounded by the twists in the story and the ending. This story made me more aware of what my sister (ten years my senior) lived through with her abusive husband. I can only imagine what my parents went through to get her and my 3 nieces and nephew and my sister's unborn child out of his clutches.My sister (now deceased) were not especially close but when she needed me or I needed her we knew we could depend on each other. Thank you for another great read.Karen Daley
Anonymous 5 months ago
I had high hopes when I started reading this book that the Gamache series is back on track, alas this book is terrible, overblown, dragging. And again we have to go back to the episode of previous events. Frankly I stopped buying these books. I gave 3 stars instead of 2 as I used to be fond of the series
Anonymous 5 months ago
Thank you to Louise Penny for another brilliant mystery. Every unique character a treasure. Every layer of plot and sub-plot beautifully crafted. A blend of modern tech and age-old crimes. Always mindful of the human issues: virtue mixed with dark impulses; emotions of love, loyalty, cruelty, fear and so many more. Overarching all, the belief that kindness can prevail, and that community and family give meaning to life.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Don't get me wrong, I am a rabid Penny fan. Its a wonderful book, as always. I think its my personal frustration with the corrupt and selfish people in power that are portrayed in the book, reflecting so many of our own politicians and leaders. i love the plot twists, characters, and of course, everything about our beloved Three Pines... just maybe a little tired of the weight of Armand's dark cloud. Books are my escape from reality... maybe this is a little too close to the daily news? I will be waiting for the new book, nevertheless!
Anonymous 6 months ago
True to today.
Anonymous 7 months ago
After reading all of Louise Penny's books, I feel after reading this novel, that I have gone home to Three Pines.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Boring dragged reperative the threes, the good, the bad, thr ugly. Glad , happy, joyous. Too many of those
Anonymous 5 months ago
.
Anonymous 5 months ago
The only bad part of these books is that they end
Anonymous 5 months ago
Thank you for writing this book A Better Man, and the entire series. I have read and loved every single book and have fallen in love with all the characters and village of Three Pines. I only hope the series isn't complete....I'm not ready to let go of it! We own a small building in our town which has been renovated by our new tenants. They removed much of the sheet rock and ine wall has a natural 'design' that looks just like Three Pines to me! It always makes me smile!Many blessings to you and I hope and look forward to getting lost in more of your wonderful stories!Cindy Trautman
Anonymous 5 months ago
Best of the series to date. Ms. Penny is a superb novelist and getting better with time. Very highly recommended to anyone who enjoys mystery fiction at its finest.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Another+excellent+story+from+Louise+Penny.+I+still+want+to+live+in+Three+Pines+and+spend+time+with+all+the+characters+who+live+there.+
Anonymous 6 months ago
I hope that there will be more books in this series!!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Louise Penny never fails to hit the heights!
Anonymous 6 months ago
a corker!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Gamache+proves+he+is+a+better+man+after+going+through+hellish+times.+lots+of+plot+twists+keep+reader+engaged.%0A
Anonymous 6 months ago
I never grow tired of this author.
Anonymous 6 months ago
As usual, I found myself wrapped in the cozy village of Three Pines with all the people I feel I know as if they're real. The introduction to a few new characters is intriguing and I look forward to exploring Ms. Oddly, art critic. Wonderful book! Thank you for the lovely few days of suspended reality, Ms. Penny.
KBrady 6 months ago
Enjoyed this easy read. Always an interesting combination of procedural and human interest/family in her story. All characters seem to be where they need to be at the end of this book. Already looking forward to next book.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Love this book such a pleasure to read a well written book love the characters and how we get to know them a little better in each book